We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Derwent House is absolutely adorable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Derwent House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Derwent House is absolutely adorable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

It had just been remodeled in Modern African eclectic style and was lovely. It really felt like a home away from home. And we did make ourselves at home in the comfy living room with a cozy fire going all the time. The location is great. It’s easy to walk down Kloof St. And, it’s not far from Table Mountain. We took cabs every once and while on our way back to the house, because they were cheap and there is a bit of an uphill climb on the way back.

The rooms were quite roomier and comfortable. They even have an apartment available if you need more room. The pool was being renovated when we were there, but it was still lovely to sit outside in the evening with a glass of wine and enjoy a quite little oasis in the city.

The staff was so friendly and helpful. Carol & Dene couldn’t have been nicer and truly took care of us. Oh my, but the breakfasts were magnificent and filling! English Scramble, omelets, pancakes, waffles. Thank goodness we stayed for five days so that we could try all the choices.

You must stay here if you go to Cape Town!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    958
    58
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
138
665
50
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
leeds
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed as a couple in March 2014. Room Number 5 next to the pool. Very clean room, wardrobe space on the small side in respect of 2 week break. Bathroom was perfect with constant hot water.
Staff very helpful and friendly, but know when to leave you to it. They arranged reservations at restaurants and gave recommendations.
Hot tub available all hours. Honesty bar very convenient and excellent facility.
Small resident use kitchen area situated in the dining area, for out of hours use re tea, coffee, cakes etc.
Situated on a short walk away from Kloof Street, which is a minutes walk from great restaurants.
Private secure parking at no extra cost. Staff on duty 24 hours a day.
Only stayed 5 nights and travelled around via the Garden Route. Best Hotel we stayed in.
Would recommend to any traveller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conroe, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed at Derwent House for 4 nights in mid-April. The staff (especially Vuyo) was great and the breakfasts served were also very good. Rooms were clean and spacious (I had the apartment which was outside of the hotel, but an easy walk to the lobby. Location is about 20 minute walk to downtown area and had to take taxis to most places, but the same would go for any hotel because Cape Town is so spread out. Good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

We spent three nights at the Derwent House between safaris and found it to be a very welcoming environment. Our room was a little small but comfortable and we had a stone terrace with an amazing view of Table Mountain.

What made this hotel extra special was how it "felt" there. We did not feel like we were in a hotel but more like guests in someone's home. Everyone was so friendly and helpful. There was a fireplace with a fire each night in the living room where you could read or just relax. There is a kitchen area on the second floor where you can help yourself to complimentary tea, port wine, and cookies. They also have sodas, wine, etc. that you can help yourself to anytime and simply mark a sheet to pay on the honor system. They have DVD players in each room and DVD's you can check out from the front desk. It was a wonderful place to come back to after a long day of touring Cape Town. And the breakfast was spectacular!

Room Tip: We stayed in room #1 which had a stone terrace and view of Table Mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

DERWENT HOUSE

We were recommended here by a friend who was very pleased with his stay. The hotel also regularly enjoys a top position in TA ratings for Cape Town.

The hotel is owned by two British ladies, Carol & Jo, who emigrated to Cape Town some eight years ago. The reservation process and all other pre-arrival communications were handled extremely promptly by Carol. This included our preference for a specific "beautiful" room, but as they were completely full, and most people stay for several days, we were put into the adjacent one. It also encompassed booking an airport transfer and a full day tour of the winelands.

The airport pick-up did not go smoothly. Despite our flight being 50 minutes late in arrival, Tania the driver was nowhere to be seen. After a 20 minute wait, we had to use our mobile phone to call the hotel, and about five minutes later Tania arrived.

The hotel had told us in advance that our room would not be available until 2.00 pm but we were welcome to leave our luggage. It was a nice surprise on arrival at 9.00 am that Dene, the Duty Manager and her team had managed to get our room ready straight away.

We were staying in Cape Town prior to embarking a ship and had three checked bags and two carry-ons. A downside of Derwent House is the number of steps within the hotel complex, starting from the street to the entrance and there are no elevators. A second potential problem was that despite having one of the larger rooms, it would have been impracticable to accommodate all our luggage. Dene agreed to store our two biggest cases in the reception area, but the other bags had to be carried to our room, a process which was reversed on departure.

The hotel itself is beautifully and tastefully decorated throughout. There are also some very nice personal touches, apart from the chocolates with the turn-down service, there was a ribbon covered little scroll which gave the date for the day following, the weather prospects and information on notable occurrences in history.

The room comprised a king sized bed, which we found too hard, TV, and DVD player, a large enclosure with a fixed rain shower, and opposite this was the toilet and hand basin.

We had a private terrace with two padded armchairs and a separate balcony with two reclining chairs, the former had a glimpse of Table Mountain, and from the latter a grandstand view of the pool.

A thoughtful touch was the provision of a mobile phone for our use during our stay in Cape Town.

Although the room was air conditioned, the unit was situated over the bed, and even on a low fan speed, blew air over our faces when we were in bed, which we dislike and was rather chilly. This would have been better had it been sited on the wall over the TV to aerate the whole area, and not just directed onto the bed.

The hotel operates an "honesty" bar, whereby guests help themselves to anything in the fridge, from bottled water to miniatures, as well as glasses/carafes of wine. The guest merely ticks under their room number what they have taken. Water, tea/coffee and fruit juices are free.

Breakfast is amazing and is varied from yogurt/berries/muesli, to muffins, fresh fruit juices, tea/coffee and at least ten different cooked dishes. These ranged from eggs/bacon to smoked haddock and poached eggs. The blueberry pancakes were delicious, and the best we have ever had, being light and fluffy. Indeed all the food, from the ingredients to the service was of the highest standard.

A big plus for this hotel is the staff. We found them all to be very efficient, very helpful and very charming. Carol and Jo should take pleasure in such a well run hotel.

Should we return to Cape Town, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed at Derwent House the first four nights of our family vacation in a South Africa. And our vacation couldn't get a better start. Of course the excellent weather we were lucky to have helped but this hotel had everything we wanted. Small, with a family feeling, nicely decorated, very we'll located, perfect service a fantastic breakfast. We had one double room and a suite with a small kitchenette and -best of all - a small terasse with a view down to the sea (no 9). With the warm weather we also had several opportunities to enjoy the small swimming pool.
There are several excellent restaurants in the area within 5-10min walk, and we felt perfectly safe walking to and from these in the evenings. Even details like European plugs for charging phones etc, good wifi, a DVD library is just perfect.
A special thanks to Vuyo who was there for us all the time and made it a perfect stay. We hope to come back soon, and in the meantime we will recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

This was our third stay at Derwent House, really everything has been said before by previous reviewers. It is a great boutique hotel in a fabulous position, run by a great team !
Always welcoming, always offering solutions when you need anything, and great ideas for exploring the city.
The owners Carol and Jo constantly get it right

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#7 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derwent House is one of Cape Town’s most inviting Boutique Hotels. It combines chic contemporary elegance with a relaxing atmosphere. It is also incredibly well located just off the trendiest street in the City in between the City Centre and Table Mountain. With a total of 10 rooms and one apartment the atmosphere is friendly without being intrusive, and the staff team are dedicated to making your stay with us a success. Derwent House aims to meet your every need - air-con, fabulous pool, private decks, wireless connectivity, flat screens with satellite, DVD library, robes and slippers and extensive bar facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derwent House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.