We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond Destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Derwent House Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sutton Coldfield
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Diamond Destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2008

Travelling to Cape Town we kept humming the Paul Simon song 'diamonds on the soles of her shoes' - even though the climate is closer to Europe there are constant reminders that this is indeed Africa - sitting in the bath in our room in Derwent House gazing out of the corner window looking towards Table Mountain catching the setting South African sun was one of them.

This is an easy city to quickly gain your bearings - and Derwent House is ideally located between sea and mountains. Out the door and down the road takes you straight to local restaurants and bars. Up the road and you reach the Table Mountain cable car. The joint owner Carol is a calm and quietly helpful presence: whether pre-booking a return flight on the hotel laptop, or helping us buy a South African diamond Carol takes a special and unfazed care in advising her guests.

Derwent House itself is immaculate and thoughtfully styled. Our well provisioned room opened onto a broad timber balcony overlooking the exquisite pool. Every detail in this small comfortable hotel has been carefully considered. On our all too short tour of the Western Cape Derwent House was the perfect note to complete a memorable visit.

  • Liked — Design and location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,025 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    956
    58
    7
    2
    2
See reviews for
138
663
50
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (109)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moss, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2008

The Derwent House is perfectly situated for a holiday in Cape Town. From the first time you make contact with the owners, Carol and Jo - you feel that you are in the best hands. All the staff working at the house is so friendly, joyful and helpful. The house it self, is modern and stylish - both outside and inside. We also loved the concept with " take what you want from the kitchen, just write it to your room" - makes you feel a little bit like home..

We have been in many countries around the world, and this is absolutely the best hotel, in all ways, we have ever stayed in. Aschjem`s-Norway

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — That we had to leave
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2008

Found this website when looking for accommodation for a few days between the end of a business meeting and the start of our holiday in Johanessburg.
What a paradise it turned out to be! The house itself has been completely redesigned and refurbished and is gorgeous, but entirely practical. The location is breathtaking, nestled beneath Table Mountain, only a few minutes drive from the cable car. It is also within easy walk of Kloof street with its many restaurants, bars and clubs. The area seemed to us to be entirely safe when walking, and far better value than the V&A waterfront. The atmosphere in this "Garden Area" of Cape Town is more intimate and friendly...and the food and wine are wonderful!
The hotel boasts en-suite facilities in all the rooms; we stayed in Room number 4, facing Table Mountain. There is a pool for those not wishing (or able) to venture out, and TV and WiFi in all the rooms completes the experience. Do try the wonderful cooked breakfast...the best we had in all our travels. There is also a well-equipped honesty bar.
On top of this, the owner Carol couldn't have been more helpful in recommending activities and restaurants to try (book for a street table at Gainsbourg, 64 Kloof Street), and to offer a safe place for our rental car each night.
Five star service and luxury at a price you'll be happy to pay!

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colgill1980
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2008

We stayed at the Derwent House for a 5 day short break and from being greeted at the door to leaving for home it was a fantastic experience. The hotel is bright, clean and airy, with the atmosphere of being a home from home. We were met at reception by a lovely, polite young lady and shown straight to our room, which on first impression, with the cleanliness and decor (not to mention the view), made you feel relaxed straight away.Our room was onlooking an average size pool with plenty of space to relax and chill, with a fantastic view of Table Mountain. To the right was a lovely area for eating breakfast al fresco, leading on to a cosy breakfast room. There was anything you would like to eat from cereals to full breakfasts (which were cooked fresh to order, none of this stewing on hotplates for half an hour). Virginia is an excellent cook with a smile from ear to ear. Nonulthando and the rest of the staff are very friendly and nothing is to much trouble.
Just to the rear of the room there is an area with free coffee, tea and cakes. There is also an honesty bar with a great selection of wines and beers, which would not shame any local pub. Complimentary port and cherry were also at hand anytime you felt like it.
When we met Carol and Jo for the first time their friendliness and ability to make you feel at home was very refreshing. One word of warning for football fans, Carol is from Manchester and Jo is from Sunderland and they both like their football, (not a great mix for a diehard Newcastle fan). They are both lovely girls and worked tirelessly to help us fit in the must see interests of the area. Weeks before we arrived they also booked our tickets to pick up for Robben Island on our arrival, which is a necessity due to waiting lists for this very popular attraction.
We can't recommend this hotel highly enough and will not hesitate to go back there.
Thank you Carol and Jo, you helped make our trip an experience of a lifetime,
Gillian and Colin

  • Liked — Friendliness of owners and staff
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2008

I haven't seen a bad review of Derwent House - neither on Trip Advisor nor elsewhere. Now I know why. We stayed here for a four night break at the end of February and loved the place. Everything that has been written is true, not least all the compliments payed to the co owners, Carol and Jo, who manage the whole operation with a light touch and a big smile for guests and employees alike. It is very much a first names only place and the evident happiness of the hotel team rubs off on everybody else to make for a real houseparty atmosphere.

There's little point in reiterating everything that has already been said a hundred times - other than to endorse them to the hilt - so here are just a couple of examples of the sort of place we're dealing with here: Where else does the hotel owner 'down- tools' to drive guests downtown when a taxi fails to turn up? Where have you ever stayed at a hotel that allows you to keep your room (unbooked the following day) throughout your final day so that your four day holiday feels like 5 days? When has a Hotel Manager ever said to you "Oh if there's no-one there don't bother checking out, we'll just charge your card" ? Finally, which hotel ever contacted you immediately upon your return to offer a refund for an inadvertent overcharge? All these things happened to us when we stayed at this lovely place and are typical of the sort of low key but brilliant service we received.

We have recommended Derwent House to all our travelling friends and now, via Trip Advisor, many others. It feels like we discovered a special place. We hope you enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Liked — The friendliness of the hotel team and the fantastic location
  • Disliked — Room a little small (but it was a cheap room)!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, Wales
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2008

A wonderfully comfortable and stylish hotel, fantastic views and facilities, extremely friendly staff and, importantly for us, an ethical staffing policy. Highly recommended.

  • Liked — The friendly staff
  • Disliked — Nothing I can think of!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

We have just returned from a vacation in South Africa, where we spent three nights in Cape Town at Derwent House. The hotel is magnificent and we have never experienced such incredible well balanced service before - never too much -nevr too little - just right. Carol and Jo together with their staff were all very kind, they were all very engaged in making our stay an excellent experience and they suceed. They gave us superb service and many good recomendations for places to go and things to do.They served a delicious breakfast with fresh and well tasting food. The Hotel is small, very elegant and tastefully decorated - everywhere you look there is just this touch of tastefull elegance - including many fresh flower decorations - all in all it gives you the feeling of staying in a home of people with a very good and distinguished taste - elegant but with a relaxing atmosphere.
We can warmly reccomend this very nice place to all who want something unique and we will definitely be back next time we come to Cape Town.
Kind Regards
Peder, Mathias, Rasmus and Rie, Copenhagen, Denmark

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Derwent House Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derwent House Boutique Hotel

Address: 14 Derwent Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#8 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derwent House Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Derwent House is one of Cape Town’s most inviting Boutique Hotels. It combines chic contemporary elegance with a relaxing atmosphere. It is also incredibly well located just off the trendiest street in the City in between the City Centre and Table Mountain. With a total of 10 rooms and one apartment the atmosphere is friendly without being intrusive, and the staff team are dedicated to making your stay with us a success. Derwent House aims to meet your every need - air-con, fabulous pool, private decks, wireless connectivity, flat screens with satellite, DVD library, robes and slippers and extensive bar facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Derwent House Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Derwent Hotel Boutique
Derwent House Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derwent House Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.