We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not on the Waterfront” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town to your Saves list
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Not on the Waterfront”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

Bulk standard international 4 star, with all the associated facilities and comfortable, although rather dirty, rooms.
The basic problem is that, despite the name, it is NOT on the Waterfront, or within walking distance of it. A free shuttle bus is provided on a half hour basis, but is frequently full, particularly in the evening.
Breakfast ok, although lack of fresh fruit choices is rather disappointing

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Dear Johnbcoates,

Thank you for your valuable feedback following your recent stay with us

We truly appreciate your thoughts as this will afford us the opportunity to continuously monitor our service levels.

Whilst the name " Waterfront " may be a bit misleading, nowhere in any advertising do we refer to the fact that the hotel is in fact at the Waterfront. We do however, apologize for any misunderstanding that this may have caused.

All the other points that you highlighted will be discussed with the relevant departments in order to ensure that we do not have a recurrence of these issues

Once again, thank you for your comments and we look forward towelcoming you back in the not too distant future

Warm regards



JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    386
    425
    115
    39
    25
See reviews for
205
287
29
292
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Helpful, friendly staff that really goes out of their way to assist....especially the restaurant staff. Rooms needs attention. Some paint would help as well (especially the shower). Pool bar service...wait too long for the bill.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better the view......but lifts can get congested with big groups resulting i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback

We are pleased that you enjoyed our service and we would like to advise that we are in the middle of a major room refurbishment programme

Half the rooms have been completed and we will be starting with the balance of the programme next week

Once again many thanks for taking the time to advise us of your experience


Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

This is a good business hotel and all facilities and easy access to the Cape Town congress centre if this is the purpose of the travel. It is also walking distance to the Waterfront itself, which is a very nice place to go on the evenings and has a great selection of restaurants.

The renovated rooms are great: light and design.

Room Tip: Ask a renovated rooms, they are situated in the higher level...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 14, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We truly appreciate your comments as this enables us to maintain our service at the highest possible level

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

A very comfortable hotel close to the V & A Waterfront. It is used by Emirates air crew, which is a good sign. Although the hotel is close to the city centre shops, etc. most people head to the Waterfront especially at night. The hotel shuttle bus runs every half hour until 11.15pm and is a great help in enjoying a safe and stress free night out to the shops, restaurants and bars at the V & A. On our tour, the bus was free to use at any time.
The rooms are spacious with 2 queen sized beds, with upper floors having wonderful views across the city. There a wide variety of good quality food for breakfast and excellent waiting staff. There is a also an a la carte restaurant featuring a range of dishes at reasonable prices. A small bar area nestles between the restaurants and is ideal for meeting up at the end of the day. For those not wishing the expense of actually staying on the Waterfront, this hotel is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank your your feedback

We truly appreciate all your comments and we are pleased that you enjoyed our facilities

It was a great pleasure being of service to you and we look forward to welcoming you back in the nit too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

A disastrous start to our stay at this hotel. We were a large group disembarked from a ship. The hotel was not ready for us and left us in the lobby with our luggage. The room were not ready, we would just have been glad to see our luggage securely stored so that we could leave the hotel and explore Cape Town. Was happy to do this and check in later in the day. It took some time for this to be organised. We returned later in the day, after having spent the day at the waterfront, and was checked into a really comfortable pleasant room. We were on the 8th floor, obviously one of the refurnished rooms. Two double beds, new furnishings, flat screen TV, fridge and hospitality tray. Large clean bathroom with walk in shower and bath. We spent most of our stay out and about inCape Town but we used the bar area and had a bar meal. Excellent service, first class meal, and good price. The breakfast had plenty of choice, lots of very pleasant and helpful staff. The shuttle bus to the waterfront was always busy but as a free service to guests and a pleasant service, w weren't in a rush and it was really in expensive to use a taxi if needed.. Southern Star met all our needs for this short stay in Cape Town and we would stay there again. Loved Cape Town, stunning views from Table Mountain. Best deal of all is the hop on hop off bus....its a must!

Room Tip: Ask for a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback following your recent stay with us

Regrettably we were never advised of the early arrival of the group arriving off the Queen Mary and as we were fully booked on the prvious night, the rooms had to first get vacated and cleaned ahead of them being allocated to you.

However, we are really pleased that despite this , you seemed to enjoy our facilities and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Great comfoprtable hotel with wonderful facilities. However wifi quality was extremely bad, often lagging and taking long for sites to lag. Housekeeping did not replenish supplies like soap , hair shampoo daily (why not?). The shuttle service to the waterfront is a disaster! Why should I have to pay R40 per person when the driver takes and extra long route plus it is so near to the waterfront! This is hardly considered a nominal fee, especially if you can walk to the destination, plus the driver didnt want to give receipts every time. I also didn't get a refund since I did not return with the taxi from the waterfront. My company also doesnt want to pay for the receipt since it doesnt say " southern sun" it says Elios Travel! My frequent guest details was picked up but had not been credited to my account (I had to make a separate request) This is a very good hotel but its these small things that can be annoying!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thanks you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay with us

It is only through comments such as yours , that we are able to ensure that we constantly maintain our goal of providing service excellence to all of our guests

On the positive side , we are pleased that despite these few issues you, nonetheless enjoyed your stay with us

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

now its a one fifteen and I'm seating in my hotel room in a big surprise.
1) first day reception guys unfriendly at all! came at 2:30 only to be told the room was not ready and seriously don't be fooled by my English accent i can hear you when you complain in Xhosa!!!!!

2)Got a chilling welcome from the reception guard.And i quote " I'm giving you only fifteen minutes to either get out of the reception parking and go to the parking or to leave." seriously do you really think i was born with an inbuilt GPS that can sniff out hotel parking spaces?

3) today at 8:45 i hanged the laundry and the clean my room signs, at around 10 some guy came knocking at my door asking if he can see the girl who was cleaning my room. who gave him the right to do so?????? i asked him to send someone for laundry and cleaning and he did not.

4)the room is finally being cleaned at 1:47 pm after screaming and yelling and every body .The bar is not serviced yet. laundry not picked yet.
like seriously???????? THERE IS NO MORE SOAP IN MY ROOM!!!!!!
I'M TERRIBLY DISAPPOINTED

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your detailed report following your stay with us

At the outset , I would like to apologize for what certainly seemed to be a very troublesome stay

In order for us to investigate all of the issues that you highlighted as a matter of urgency , please could you contact me on Jeff.Rosenberg@tsogosun.com as soon as possible - as we would dearly like to talk to you

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#34 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#38 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 546
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes' drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The decor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and isauthentically South African. Yizani translates as "Come in...Welcome" in Xhosa, and is perfectly appropriate in that this restaurant offers a world-class welcome that sets the scene for the experience to follow. Our Pool Bar offers daily cocktail happy hours - 2 for 1 specials from 17:00 to 19:00. Our Pool Bar is associated with official Brandy Urban Cocktail Route. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.