We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant accommodation in an ideal location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Save Saved
You added Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #48 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Centurion, South Africa
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Brilliant accommodation in an ideal location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My wife and I visited this hotel for a mid week stay. The staff were very professional and friendly. We enjoyed the cleanliness of the hotel and the central location. Worthy of a special mention is the excellent buffet breakfasts that we have come to know from Southern Sun hotels. The added premium in their rates are definitely worthwhile considering the location, cleanliness and professional staff. I will use this hotel again

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you so much for your comments following your recent stay with us

We are delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and that our service and staff atttitude was worthy of a social mention

Once again many thanks for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Southern Sun Waterfront in the near future

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

674 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    239
    306
    80
    28
    21
See reviews for
137
193
23
188
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stayed for four nights. Good location for exploring Cape Town, helped by the half hourly shuttle to VA Waterfront.

Good check in. Room was newly furnished with two Double beds. Fine for us as only used one but the room might be considered small for a family and certainly too small for four adults. However beds comfy and bedding good quality cotton.

Buffet breakfast was fairly standard offering although plenty of choice. Staff there welcoming and helpful. In fact all staff met demonstrated these attributes, especially at concierge desk.

Overall good value for money and would recommend to anyone on a short stay visit.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your comments following your recent stay at the Southern Sun Waterfront

We truly value all feedback from our guests as this enables us to constantly monitor our service levels

Once again ,many thanks for taking the time to advise us of your experience and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm regards



JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

Spent four nights in the Southern Sun whilst visiting Cape Town.
Comfortable Stay for a change run Hotel Group. Ideal location as a base to explore central Cape Town & the surrounding areas.
Quick & easy checkin with staff friendly & expecting me. All rooms were clean & tidy. Standard Breakfast but plentiful with wide selection.
Yes, plenty more high end Hotels in Cape Town but you get what you pay for. Plus point, great location just a short walk away from the V&A.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to post your experience following your recent stay with us

All feedback from our guests is very important to us as we strive to constantly improve on our service levels to take them to the higher possible level

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

I have stayed in this hotel more than once and each time I have left with a bigger smile than previously. The check in was quickly sorted and soon I was taken up to my room by a very attentive staff member who held a good sense of conversation and was quickly sharing me tips of how to get around Cape Town. The rooms are tastefully furnished and the bathrooms are of a reasonable size. It is a treat to have a sundowner downstairs at the bar and watch all the guests coming and going. If you fancy a swim, there is a small circular pool for you to jump in. Breakfasts are buffet style and there is the Yizani restaurant for one to eat there as well. The hotel is very centrally located and there is a handy shuttle bus ferrying guests to the nearby Victoria and Albert Waterfront. I would gladly return to this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for all your comments following your recent stay with us

We certainly appreciate your positive feedback and we will ensure that all staff are advised accordingly

Once again many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We had a family trip to Cape Town during Dec-13. The hotel is conveniently located from water front as well as other tourist places in capetown. The staff at check in / check out was efficient and service prompt. Rooms were clean although small in size. Buffet breakfast is good although tends to get repetitive after second day. Overall a good experience

Room Tip: Look for room on higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to advisw us of your experience following your recent stay with us

Your thoughts are important to us , as we reply on valuable guest feedback to constantly monitor and improvement our service levels

We hope to welcome you backmto the Southern Sun Saterfront in the not too distnt future


Warm regards

JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

I found that the service level has been improved since my visit last year. It was a nice surprise to find that here was a halaal catering. Your menu should be extended both at the room service as well as the pool deck. Perhaps something similar to the Cullinan where different themes are held at the pool deck for the day so that you bring in a choice of menu. Advertise your halaal offering since very few people were made aware. It was a very enjoyable trip overall and as usual the entire family had a really awesome time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We are delighted that you found that the service levels have improved since your previous visit and we would like to thank you for highlighting this.

A tremendous amount of time and effort is placed on training and it is pleasing to note that this is paying off

Once again, many thanks and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future


Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Stayed here with my two daughters for one night. Pleasantly surprised. Check in/out was painless and easy. They go out of their way to help you. Staff at the breakfast buffet was very very friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Everybody friendly! Will stay here again.

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CapeTownJeff, General Manager at Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback following your recent stay with us

We truly appreciate your comments , as this assists us in our mission to constantly improve our service levels.

Warm regards


JEFF ROSENBERG
GENERL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town

Address: 1 Lower Buitengracht Street | Private Bag X3, Waterfront, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#37 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful sunsets over the Atlantic Ocean assist in making the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town a preferred business and holiday destination. A mere 15 minutes’ drive from Cape Town International Airport, a 5 minute walk from the Cape Town International Convention Centre (CTICC) and within walking distance to the V&A Waterfront, this hotel is superbly located to offer every guest easy access to the sights and sounds of Cape Town. Breathtaking views of Table Mountain can be enjoyed from rooms that offer all the quality and comfort you would expect from a full service hotel. Offering guests a fitness centre, a pool and convenient meeting rooms and a business centre, the Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town caters for all possible business or leisure traveller needs.Modern, chic and spaciously comfortable, these Waterfront hotel rooms offer guests a rejuvenating, fully serviced escape from the bustling energy of Cape Town. The décor is tasteful and classy with an edge. Amenities cater for all possible requirements and include 24 hour in room dining and a host of channels available on satellite. Business travellers can make use of the in room wireless internet access and the workstation with work lamp. Smoking and wheelchair accessible rooms are available on request.Unique cuisine and relaxed dining are just two of the many aspects that make this a simply superb dining experience to all restaurant guests. The Yizani Restaurant is inspired by everything local and isauthentically South African. Yizani translates as “Come in...Welcome” in Xhosa, and is perfectly appropriate in that this restaurant offers a world-class welcome that sets the scene for the experience to follow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town Hotel Cape Town Central
Cape Town Southern Sun Waterfront
Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Southern Sun Waterfront Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.