We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Africa!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rutland Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Rutland Lodge to your Saves list
Rutland Lodge
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   5 Montrose Ave | Oranjezight, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 151 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Africa!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

We've just come back from 2 weeks in Cape Town, which was amazing- especially as we stayed at the Rutland Lodge! It had spectacular views over the city, the Lion's Head, Signal Hill with the back drop of Table Mountain. We were warmly greeted by Schalk- who made our stay very special, preparing us delicious breakfasts with healthy fresh options as well as real homely full English breakfasts. Inside the décor was extremely interesting- with antique African artefacts and beautiful furnishings which was like being transported to another world. We slept well and the place was immaculately clean, which was helpful for me as my partner is a bit OCD! I loved relaxing by pool in the afternoon before going into the buzzing city- there's so much to do there but we particularly enjoyed the Winelands and Robben Island. Would definitely visit Cape Town and stay at Rutland Lodge again without a doubt- best holiday we've had for a while!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    12
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
74
13
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newbury UK
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights in February. We had a great time and we had a lovely large room downstairs (no 6) with a great bed and linens plus a large and totally separate bathroom. What we loved most about RL was the homely atmosphere which put us immediately at ease. Jean the owner was most helpful and gave us brilliant recommendations for restaurants which proved a big hit. The breakfasts were fantastic and held in a lovely shaded courtyard with a bubbling fountain or in the impressive dining room if the weather was not suitable to sit outside. We also used the pool and lounged in the chill out zone under the veranda during the evenings.We just loved the peaceful gardens and views of Table Mountain and the City Bowl.
After my wife went home to the UK a few days later (we had stayed in two other locations), I stayed on for a futher 6 nights on business and decided to go back to RL, testamount to how much we had enjoyed our first visit. This time Jean offered me a huge downstairs bedroom (no 7) with a sitting area, a massive private deck and the most amazing subterranean shower room in the basement with a remote-control trap door opening in the floor - quite funky and creative but not for the faint hearted as the spiral steps were not something you would want to undertake if you were unsteady on your feet.
I would definately stay here again if going back to Cape Town as it just a great home away from home and very good value.

Room Tip: Room 6 downstairs is great for space and a lovely separate and private bathroom - garden view only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We travelled with friends who stayed at this B&B (we recommended it to them from previous trips) unfortunately we had to fly out that night. The owner however made no issue of us storing our luggage and even put in extra towels in our friends room so we could shower before departing to the airport.
This only confirmed to us that this is one of the best places to stay while in Cape Town.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

It’s a pleasure to take time out to post on this website as we had really had a memorable stay in Cape Town at the Rutland Lodge last month! Can only recommend it – and we’ve been to Cape Town on several occasions and not had this kind of accommodation, let alone this kind of service! The vibes of the place are cosy and grand at the same time! – the wooden ceilings, the tasteful interior décor and Africana, the beautiful views over the City, surrounding hillsides and, of course, Table Mountain. And there was nothing Schalk and Jean Jo didn’t know or seem willing to do for us! Delicious, fresh food and plenty of it, comfortable beds with luxurious linen (that made it hard to get up in the mornings!) and magical settings to relax in – the first floor sundowner deck, the pool, and the deck chairs in the spectacular garden! Great after a day of sight-seeing or conference attendance! Thanks to you both for a five-star, five-day stay!
Mandy Parkin and Jonathan Piggott, Nairobi, Kenya

Room Tip: there are good views of the City and the bay from all the rooms I believe! we were in the King Size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

I spent six nights at the Rutland Lodge in Cape Town. Our room #4, was spacious, elegant, filled with light with a view of the city, a swimming pool below our deck and a Jacaranda tree outside the french doors. The old colonial is in immaculate condition with a view of Table Mountain and original African art in every room. The bed linens were fine and after a long day the bed so comforting. Our host Schalk was warm and helpful in every way. We came as a group of 12 and so had the feeling it was our home, but the hosts would make anyone feel that way. A fire was built for me in the living room one night when I skipped out on the group event. I brought my laptop down (free internet) and sat by the fire with their two dogs. The location is super convenient and made touring easy. Oh, and the food was too good and served in their beautiful dining room where the table fit our 12 comfortably.

Room Tip: I liked rooms #4 and #5 and if I was traveling solo #3. Great views and light filled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

I had the lovely pleasure of spending one night at Rutland and was thrilled that I had the opportunity to have such a beautiful experience. The hosts are charming and so very helpful. Breakfast is a wonderful way to start the day in the most beautiful dining room along with an excellent meal. The rooms are large, wonderfully appointed with beautiful linens and the bathroom was a dream. The home was designed by one of South Africa's best architects and I believe he also did the home of the American Ambassador in Washington. I am a tour operator from the US and frequently have guests who prefer staying in a private home setting. We will definitely be using Rutland for our guests in the future. A special treat is an extradionary art collection - a feast for the eyes if you love African art.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

This beautiful colonial home is in the best part of Cape Town. Believe me, I am an ex-Cape Townian and know all the areas. It is picturesque and convenient. I travelled on my own and felt safe and totally at home. A few minutes taxi-ride (cheap) gets you to the Waterfront, and all the fantastic pubs and restaurants Cape Town has to offer. There is even a great deli/restaurant on the corner of Montrose Avenue.
The hosts, Jean-Jo and Schalk are just wonderful . The difference between staying at this guest house and an hotel is the personal (yet unobtusive) touch, as opposed to your being just a "guest:". Everything is catered to your pers0nal taste, even the conversation. And the breakfasts are delicious and excellent quality.

Room Tip: As a solo traveller, I was bookked in Room 3. Just right for me, with a very comfortable bed, lovely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rutland Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rutland Lodge

Address: 5 Montrose Ave | Oranjezight, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rutland Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on a quiet tree-lined street in the stylish Cape Town suburb of Oranjezicht, is the 5 star boutique guest house Rutland Lodge. This magnificent Cape Dutch house designed by Sir Herbert Baker is framed against Table Mountain and offers the most magnificent views of the City Bowl of Cape Town, Table Mountain, Lion's Head, Signal Hill, the Atlantic Seaboard and the far beyond Mountain range. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rutland Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rutland Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.