We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky / Weird / Voyeristic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town to your Saves list
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel) (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #73 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Funky / Weird / Voyeristic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Stayed here with a friend, who had made the booking, having previously stayed at the sister hotel in Joburg. Overall it was very nice and clean. Funky, weird and interesting style and decor. And of course there are the ground floor toilets, which you really have to see for yourself. The location is good -- easy walk to most places, and reasonably easy to find street parking. One thing to be wary of though: the room itself was quite small and had a separate shower from the WC. The shower was in the middle of the room. So you could totally see whomever was in the shower. It was a bit weird and probably would be very uncomfortable unless you were staying with a significant other or very close friend. Certainly worth a look, if not a stay.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dear TLDubya

I love your title as Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town is a unique, trendy and experiential hotel. Thanks you for sharing your feedback with us.

There are so many aspects and areas to the hotel for our GUESTS to experience and it looks like you covered most of them. The ground floor toilets are definitely a must see, then there is the coughing room and the elevators. We like to keep things interesting.

Based at the foot of Table Mountain we are located within walking distance of Long Street and Kloof Street, which both are home to a number of restaurants, shops and bars. I am pleased that you were able to make the most of our central location.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards
Johan Cronje
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

681 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    237
    266
    93
    54
    31
See reviews for
64
261
61
163
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

From booking, to check-in to check out, and everything inbetween, nothing beats the five star quality of service which you receive from this property. The staff go out of their way to ensure that you have a memerable stay by doing the little things which you would never expect.

Well Done Protea Fire & Ice Cape Town. You are doing an awesome job.

Regards

Mark Thomson

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Mark T

Thank you for sharing your review on TripAdvisor - it really put a smile on my face.

We pride ourselves on delivering the best GUEST service and to get the basics right consistently and judging by your experience with us, we have surpassed your expectations.

It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again.

Kind regards

Johan Cronje
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Used to be my regular business hotel in Cape Town. Funky, fresh, new and trendy.

The bar is a hip place to grab a drink - not frequented by guests only. Restaurant has always been pretty unimpressive.

Rooms are small but perfect if you're only looking for a clean and comfortable place to lay your head. Aircon isn't powerful enough in the summer.

Since Anton left as GM it's gone to the dogs. Service not up to scratch, rooms not as clean. I've not been back.

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear B1ades

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Our hip and trendy bar is definitely the place to be for an after work drink or gourmet milkshake for dessert. Our in-house GUESTS as well as the local residents really enjoy the environment and tasty drinks.

Maintaining and improving on standards is important to us and we value your feedback. I am extremely sorry for your disappointment in the below par experience you had when last visiting the hotel. Since your stay I can assure you that continuous training has taken place in all departments. I am very proud of the improvements we have seen and we will continue to strive for service excellence.

I appreciate that Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town used to be your business hotel in Cape Town. I would welcome the opportunity to discuss your concerns directly and request that you please contact me at gm@fireandicehotel.com.

Thank you once again and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind Regards
Johan Cronje
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

the hotel itself, and the infamous bathrooms, smoking room, elevators and swanky bar make the hotel the perfect meeting place or place to have a drink in a regal/kitch setting.

we stayed in the superio rooms (apartments next door to the hotel) because there was a special on and we decided to splurge for our december holidays. loved the interior- double storey, spacious, clean, shiny and a litte bit fabulous. we were so pleased with our choice.

pros: room service was efficient, really friendly staff, sparkling clean, great hotel swimming pool, loveed the burgers and milkshakes although we tred several of the issues on the menu and they were all impressive. ideal location for a young couple on the lose in the mother city!

cons: the aircon. this was disappointing. the aircon wasnt working for 75% of our stay and we had to phone management every day for around 7 days to fix it, eventually we just gave up. the manager was very helpful and tried his level best but the problem could not be resolved after numerous technicians tried to solve it. After a long hot day on the beach or in the city, it would have been nice to come back to a nice cool room! so this really spoiled what could have been a perfect stay.

overall: it is a fun hotel to stay in for people of all ages- features such as the hotel bathrooms and 40 flavours of milkshake are original and fresh. i hope their aircon is functional nowadays.

Room Tip: Superior rooms are reasonably priced, private and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Mary L

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the feedback that you have given.

Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town has become synonymous with providing a trendy, unique and experiential environment with all the bells and whistle to go with it; the Coughing Room, themed toilets and bar area to name a few.

All of this would not be the same if it weren’t for the friendly and welcoming STAFF who is always doing their best to offer great service. I will certainly congratulate them all on their continuous efforts to strive for excellence.

It is embarrassing that we were not able to have your air-conditioning fixed during your stay and I know what the Cape Town summer heat feels like. I would like to assure you that the issue has been rectified and is ready to cool you down after a day at the beach.

All in all I am pleased that our burgers, milkshakes, swimming pool and comfortable loft apartments were to your liking.

Until next time, we wish you safe travels.

Kind Regards
Johan Cronje
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I just love the Protea Fire and Ice Cape Town. You will never understand why the toilets are such a talking point and make people come out laughing or blushing until you get there. The view from the their restaurants or dinning area is just awesome. I love the seats in the bar and foyer area, they are so snuggly and cushy.
Their food portions are really filling and substantial, and they have some of the best cocktails in the Mother City. The hotel's proximity to the city, Waterfront, Table Mountain and Atlantic Seaboard makes it the perfect place to check in whether for leisure of business

Room Tip: If you are not a prokard member sign up to be able to upgrade or get a best room available. Mountain...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear SwaziQueen

Thank you for the wonderful review, which speaks of all the quirky elements that makes our trendy hotel so unique.

It is truly incredible how much people talk about the ground floor toilets; these are just one of the experiences one can expect when visiting Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town.

When designing the hotel we wanted GUESTS to be able to have multiple experiences under one roof and your review reflects that. Whether having dinner whilst watching the fish swim past or sipping on a cocktail by the bar, there is a unique space in which you can make yourself at home. And, if that’s not enough, our central location near all the hotspots in the town will satisfy your urge to explore the Mother City.

I will be sure to make a special mention to the Food and Beverage TEAM for their delicious and filling creations.

Until your next visit, we wish you safe travels!

Kind Regards
Johan Cronje
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

‘ we love the warmth and friendliness of all the staff we met, the cleanliness and comfort of rooms and delicious breakfasts. A really fun experience with lots different and creative aspects to it. Thank you. We will definitely be back as first choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Margaret H

Thank you for such an enthusiastic and positive review, which will be shared with the TEAM.

There is one aspect that we want all GUESTs of Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town to experience and that is the warm and welcoming environment. The STAFF never seize to amaze me with their passion for providing the best GUEST service. This translates into the ‘feel at home’ vibe one gets when staying with us.

Attention to detail is a must, and we put our trendy and fun twist on everything where suitable. I am pleased that you appreciated our meticulous cleaning and the breakfast TEAM’s efforts in creating a top notch spread.

We are thrilled to be your first choice in Cape Town and hope to welcome you back to our hip and happening home soon.

Kind regards
Johan Cronje
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Small rooms, featuring shower in bedroom - no frills. We upgraded to slightly larger so called deluxe room. The first room that we were shown to smelt like an ashtray - we were moved to another where the air conditioner did not work, finally moved to a 3rd which had a small balcony with view of table mountain. Service very mediocre.

Take it or leave it - minimalist mod

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProteaHotels, General Manager at Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear bramm_travel

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.

Our rooms vary in size, from standard rooms to our executive suites, and I do apologize that your first room was not to your liking. I will look into the smell that you experienced, however I am pleased that the STAFF continued to assist you until you were settled.

I hope to welcome you back again to experience true Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town hospitality.

Kind Regards
Johan Cronje
General Manager
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town

Address: New Church Street | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa (Formerly Extreme Hotel)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#58 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's like shark cage diving, without the cage. Your next stop on the road to fun should be this extreme hotel in the heart of the Mother City. What kind of city would Cape Town be if the coolest travellers couldn't find the party from their hotel room? Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town offers it on a silver platter from the minute you step into the lobby. That's right - the party starts here! But remember, we take everything from service levels to room standards very, very seriously, but never take life too seriously. The hotel is nestled in the heart of Cape Town's entertainment area, a stone's throw away from the best vibrant nightlife hotspots, cafes and restaurants. Don't expect a regular ol' hotel when you book here. It's like going fishing and hooking an electric eel. Think ultra-chic dining, relaxing spa days, a pool deck tan and pumping nights at the bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Marriott and Priceline so you can book your Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Fire And Ice! Cape Town
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town South Africa
Protea Hotel Cape Town
Extreme Hotel Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Protea Hotel Fire & Ice! Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.