We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restful stay at Sweet Orange” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Orange Guest House

Save Saved
You added Sweet Orange Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sweet Orange Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Bellevue Rd. No. 1 | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #83 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Douglasdale
1 review
“Restful stay at Sweet Orange”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Sorry, I wrote a review already to Booking.com, should have done it only to you: It was wonderful to stay there, everything was good. But would have liked to have a little chair in the bathroom to put cloth etc on while showering.
The decor was nice, breakfast fantastic, was not hungry for the whole day afterwards, the staff was friendly and accommodating to our wishes. Thank you very much, Gerlinde Seuring

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
We would like to Thank Gerlinde S for her valuable time to place two reviews for Sweet Orange Guesthouse, one on Booking.com as well as on Tripadvisor. Thank you as well for the comment that you missed a chair in the bathroom, we already took action and placed chairs into our bathrooms were the space it allowed.

Bridget for the
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    26
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
39
6
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saugatuck, Michigan, Usa
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Sweet Orange was a perfect place to stay for our family ( with a 9year old daughter). The place is quaint, comfortable, helpful friendly staff who went out of their way to get us a taxi to the airport when ours didn't show up. Great location, walking distance to lots of restaurants and the breakfasts were sublime! I will recommend and if ever in Cape Town again will stay there.
Thanx Sarah Alex and Ava

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Front Office Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Hi SAA1111, many thanks for your review as well as we want to Thank you for spending your valuable time to review our Sweet Orange Guesthouse. It is very valuable for us. We are happy to hear, that you arrived at the airport on time with your family. We looking forward to welcoming you again and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,
Bridget for
Sweetest Guesthouses
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a great stay here, extremely comfortable bed, lovely room, superb breakfast, great location. But it's noisy - you hear the staff arrive at 5am and move around, can't be helped, old floorboards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We Thank the TripAdvisorMember for their review and open critics. Our Sweet Orange Guesthouse was built over 100 years ago and we still feature the original wooden floors, doors & windows. Therefore it is true that some movements sneak through. We apologize for the disturbance of the staff members, which start in the morning at 07h00 and they should enter the house from the site entrance. Obviously the staff is not following constantly the instructions. We will take immediately action and we Thank you again for mentioning this issue.

Kind regards,
Therry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dresden, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We loved to stay in the Sweet Orange Guesthouse. It felt like home from the beginning on.
The rooms are nice, big and clean. The staff was very friendly as it was helping us with some tourbookings etc.
Additionally it's very well situated, as the waterfront and the civic center are only 10 minutes drive away.
Would love to come back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Guest Agent / Intership at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Lizzy25_13,

Your review is valuable for us and we are so happy to hear that you felt comfortable and like being home at Sweet Orange Guesthouse. Should you come back you really should do the Shark Cage Diving!

Kind regards,
Benoit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed at another of the guest houses which was a bit better
Nice touches but it really is a chain of B&Bs
Very loud in the mornings and you can hear your neighbors (which we did very clearly at 4pm in the afternoon)
Location good
Breakfast good
Nice shower

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Owner at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear GregAndrew,

We Thank you again for taking the time and post your review on Tripadvisor. It is unfortunate that some neighbours are reckless and we apologize for their behavior, we will definitely speak to them.

Kind regards,
Maggie & Stefan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Very comfortable and large room with a great shower! We liked it a lot! Staff were very friendly and helpfull. The only problem was that we didn´t have wifi at our room because it was in another building next to the main one.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We Thank you Cristina L for our comment and are happy you enjoyed your stay. We will forward your comment to our staff members!

Kind regards,
Therry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

We stayed at the Sweet Orange Guesthouse on two separate ocassions in February, 2012.  On our first visit we were assigned the SUN room and we fell in love with it immediately. It is a very spacious and comfortable room.  We had wonderful weather during our stay so a fan at night proved adequate.  On warmer nights, air-conditioning would be a necessity.  Although our room was adjacent to the kitchen we were not disturbed by the breakfast preparations in the morning.
Sweet Orange has a great location at Sea Point.  It is a short walk to the ocean where we went for a walk in the evenings. As taxis in Cape Town are not inexpensive we used the share taxis to get around.  They are safe and 5-10 Rands will get you to most places - Waterfront, Camps Bay etc.
Just walk out to Main street and flag down the minibus.
There was a nominal daily charge for the WiFi and it was fast.  Breakfast was the highlight of our stay.  We got to meet other travellers and exchange notes, tips, and stories.  The staff at Sweet Orange were polite and helpful.  During our stay we got to know the manager, Terry.  Whenever we had an issue or a request he was quick to address our concerns.  After a 2-week trip along the Garden route we returned to Sweet Orange and requested the same room. At first, we were told it was not possible but Terry managed to juggle things so we ended up staying in the Sun room for another week.  If we return to Cape Town we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We loved the SUN room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SweetestGuesthouses, Manager at Sweet Orange Guest House, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
We Thank Sadhus Withi Pods for her/his comments, especially in regards to the preparation work of the staff. That shows us again to constantly remind our staff members to work accordingly and with less noise as possible. Should you visit Cape Town again, we will make sure that we will accommodate you as you desire.
We are looking forward welcoming you again at Sweet Orange Guesthouse.

Kind regards,
Therry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sweet Orange Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Orange Guest House

Address: Bellevue Rd. No. 1 | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweet Orange Guest House 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweet Orange is a beautiful classic Victorian home that was built in the early 1900’s. The wooden floors, ceilings, windows and doors have all been lovingly restored, emanating style and elegance at its best. Each of the six large rooms, all with en-suite bathrooms, have been individually designed and furnished with flat screen TV’s, hairdryers, mini-safes and other essentials for a relaxing stay. Our tranquil garden complete with a small pool is the perfect place for a further relaxing African sun-soaked experience.Let us treat you to a superior service in this elegant environment. We guarantee you a friendly, warm, relaxing atmosphere for an absolutely comfortable stay in our guesthouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sweet Orange Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweet Orange Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Orange Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.