We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Spacious rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is a modern hotel across the street from the cathedral--so within walking distance to all the city sights. The rooms are like having your own condo. We had a two bedroom/2 1/2 bath
Suite with a fully stocked kitchen, washer/dryer and living room. Was wonderful for the 3 of us.
Rates are surprisingly inexpensive through the Internet sites. Included marble baths with separate
Tubs and showers. Free water in your room daily along with teas and coffee. Good security at night as you needed your key card to enter the elevators. Has a gourmet coffee shop in lobby and an Italian restaurant if you wanted a quick pizza.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter. They have some rooms with great views of table mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Joan880,

Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa recently. It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when next in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    188
    29
    19
    11
See reviews for
171
178
36
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is where we stayed as a family for my daughters 21st birthday celebration.. The suite was really comfortable, open plan, with contemporary furniture. Full kitchen with washing machine and dishwasher. Crisp white linen in our bedrooms ( important for me). Situated opposite St George's Cathedral and Company Gardens. Short walk away from the Slave Lodge museum and right opposite Haiku Restaurant. Doppio Zero restaurant/ coffee shop is downstairs for good pastries. And the best coffee shop, Deluxe, is next door to it. Could not ask for better. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose a room with the mountain view as opposed to the city view, if available, and if that's yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Cynthia A,

Thanks for letting us know about your recent visit. What made it even more special was the fact that you had such a great experience. As you live so close by :), I trust that my team and I will have the pleasure of your company again in the hopefully not too distant future.

Take care and kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempston, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I have been to Capetown four times now and this hotel is the best I have been in. What stood out were the friendly and extremely reception staff, who for a single traveller like myself, made me feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for them. The spa was excellent too and my room was kept spotlessly clean. Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Alan J,

Many thanks for the lovely review you posted recently here on TripAdvisor about your visit to our Hotel. I especially appreciated your comments about my team and must admit it fills me with pride to know that we get it right.

I trust that this will ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place stays your "home" of choice when here in Cape Town.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

- the location is location
- perfect service
- perfect hospitility
- staff are very helpful
- taxi cap is available at the hotel
- close to all shops and supermaket
- over all the hotel is perfect..
-


Room Tip: very nice and clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mohammed A,

Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when next in Cape Town.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa in the hopefully not too distant future.

“Wamkelekile” (Xhosa – Your welcome)


Desmond O’Connor
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Highly recommended, great room (602 Winery), localization and staff. Breakfast not included, but we bought some food at a store close by and we had everything we needed in The room!
Pool was not available.
Desmond, The manager, is very helpful and polite. Great guy to be in this position.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Livia M,

It was indeed great to have met you too and I must admit your comments made a blush somewhat. I enjoy my job and it is times like this that I read these kind of comments that make me realise why I do what I do. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to the pleasure of your comapny again in the hopefully not too distant future.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maryland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Recent stay in Superior 2 bedroom apartment was excellent. Apartment was clean comfortable of very good size and excellent location. Daily parking convenient and inexpensive. Hotel services were very good including taxi arrangement to airport. The on-site restaurant and cafe very good in both quality and service. Overall an excellent and hard to beat option especially for families.

Room Tip: Windows are not well insulated and you will have street noise--probably impossible to avoid in any r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Iqq,

It was a delight to have read your lovely review about your recent experience here at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa with my team and I.

I trust we were able to create a memorable stay for you and so much so that you will come back and visits at your earliest convenience,

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

The luxurious apartment hotel is central located in Cape Town, with efficient and friendly staff. Good access to the main attractions of that beautiful city. Has indoor parking (extra charge) with direct connection to the hotel's lobby. Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Julyse,

Thank you for the kind words as per your review on TripAdvisor recently. It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when next in Cape Town.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#18 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.