We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great central hotel in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa

Save Saved
You added Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great central hotel in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I was at this hotel for a two days. The rooms are amazing, everything is superb. If you have money to splash, this is the hotel to consider. At the end of my stay I wished I could take some elements of my room home with me. The breakfast was really good, although it started a little bit late. I like the view from the dinning room of the activities just below the hotel. It gives one a glimpse of Cosmopolitan Cape Town, and the layed back vibe. The hotel is just across a Cathedral and the Company Gardens, and a walk from Parliament, the Greenmarket Square, Long Street, Iziko Museum and many other interesting place. The perfect place for somebody who wants to be in the centre of activities.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear SwaziQueen,

Thank you for the lovely review you posted here about your recent visit. My team and I are glad that we could assist in making your visit to our beautiful city such a treat.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

455 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    270
    138
    24
    15
    8
See reviews for
137
140
24
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went during early June 2013, and the hotel is neat and clean, the rooms are serviced, neat and clean. The rooms are very well equipped for a long term stay with full kitchen including washing machine and tumble dryer, microwave oven, stove, oven, dishes etc. I must say that the marketing material on this Hotel gives the impression of a much classier Hotel. We were somewhat disappointed. Breakfast at the local Doppio Zero downstairs was also not great, as the only breakfast included in the deal is the buffet table, you could not order eggs, bacon, toast, all the usual things I certainly want for breakfast. Just some pastries, cheese, dry bread and overcooked boiled eggs (BLUE). The other thing that was not good is that the safe in our room proved to be problematic, with the result we did not use it ... and as fate would have it ... some personal belongings went missing from our room. Management handled the problem well over the phone, but of course, it is gone, missing ... never to be seen again. Mangement also never contacted me again to tell me that my stuff is gone for good. It upsets me to think that the staff would actually go through your personal belongings in your cupboard, and help themselves to whatever they like !! Not good !!!

Room Tip: The Hotel is right in the heart of the city, very noisy at night and early morning. On weekends you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Renee V,

Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa recently. I have read your comments about the poor breakfast and the missing items and I must admit it saddened me.

Please be assured that it is not the standard in which we pride ourselves, and I am sure what you are accustomed to. Your comments have therefore been distributed to the entire team here and will be addressed accordingly and measures are being put into place to ensure that we lift the bar once more.

We are constantly aiming to ensure that our guests experience the very finest service and standards at Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa, and with this in mind please accept my sincere apologies as the General Manager of the property. in order to restore your faith in us, I would like to invite you to enjoy a night at the he Hotel a complimentary accommodation and breakfast basis.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monett, Missouri
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights at Mandela Rhodes Place and wished we could have stayed more! We loved the decor/facilities and the people were super friendly and helpful! They went above and beyond when we had to make last minute plan changes due to weather.
The location couldn't be better...centrally located and across the street was one of the sightseeing bus stops.
We highly recommend Mandela Rhodes Place and the restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mona5500,

It makes me extremely proud when we have lived up to the ethos of “Ubuntu” and with this have created an exceptional experience for our guests. This in turn will hopefully ensure that Mandela Rhodes Place becomes your “home” when next in Cape Town

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Great hotel, ideally placed for Long Street, Greenmarket and other sites, but without being too close to the noise.
Parking on site in a safe multi-story car park.
Staff very welcoming and cannot do enough for you.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Mine was good on the 7th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear SynkroS,

Thank you for visiting Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa recently. My team and I are delighted to note from your survey, that you enjoyed your stay with us here at the Hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa in the hopefully not too distant future.

Regards


Desmond O’Connor
GENERAL MANAGER
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

The Nelson Mandela Hotel was the best best stay my family and i ever had in Cape Town .
Cleaning was neat and tidy, warmth from staff, really going back there this July , becos it was so nice being there for the fight time

Room Tip: The Towers was my excellent experience, not at all out of price range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mrs. Moodley and family,

Many thanks for such a wonderful report on your recent visit. Please let me know here at the Hotel directly when you will be planning to come stay in July and I shall personally take care of your reservation and also ensure you get a Towers Suite.

Looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

My daughter and I stayed for 7 nights. The suites are very large and very comfortable. The service is some of the best I've had, and the staff are friendly and courteous. The location is ideal for getting around Cape Town as the Blue and Red shuttles stop nearby. The restaurant is very good, offering a great selection at breakfast, and pastas and pizzas for lunch and dinner. The restaurant waitstaff are especially courteous and welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Mark E,

Thank you for choosing Mandela Rhodes Place as your "home" whilst in Cape Town recently. My team and I were delighted to have read your comments about this visit and the fact that were able to make it so pleasurable.

We hope that this will encourage you to come back very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shopper in Glasgow
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Excellent base for exploring Cape Town. Arrived early and were checked in no problem. Staff were so friendly and helpful. Rooms were well fitted out and comfortable. Restaurant in hotel was excellent and again the staff were so nice. Food was high quality and very reasonable.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Table Mountain and a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desmond4, General Manager at Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Dear Taintor,

Thank you for choosing Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel and Spa as your choice of residence whilst visiting Cape Town recently. My team and I were delighted to have read your review as posted here on TripAdvisor, and it makes us proud to know that we left another guest with happy memories of their holiday.

Come visit again soon.

Kind regards

Desmond
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa

Address: Wale Street, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#10 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#32 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Fastbooking, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel Cape Town Central
Mandela Rhodes Place Cape Town
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.