We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing hotel in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunkley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dunkley House to your Saves list
Dunkley House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
1 review
“The most amazing hotel in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We have had the most wonderful week at Dunkley House, a real gem of a boutique hotel. The combination of the stunning room and super-friendly and attentive staff has made our 'honeymoon' really special. Highly recommended and suberb value. The breakfast is am-a-z-ing! Thank you! Andy & Carla, London

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    45
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
18
57
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Port Elizabeth, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

My mom, sister and I stayed at Dunkley House from 16-22 July 2012. It was my second time there and their first.
From the moment we were checked in by Grace we felt at home. She was very friendly and helpful.
We were close enough to all the places we wanted to drive to. Parking was on the street and, although I was worried about it at first, we didn't have any problems as there was always a security guard on duty at night.
The breakfasts were very delicious and served by the friendliest ladies, Tutu and Elsie. Unfortunately I don't know the other ladies' names, but everyone was always ready with a smile. The apartment where we stayed was comfortable and always very neat and clean.
The highlight for us was the staff and we would definitely stay at DH again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dunkely house for my 50th in March this year. Off-street parking,however security serviced, Beautiful on-suite room and bathroom with huge free standing bath and shower 'room' with private plunge pool, honesty bar and friendly staff. Good breakfast was served and easy acess to Cape town city,Waterfront area. We explored the Gardens Shopping Mall just up the road and walked around the area , drove to Sea Point and walked on the promenade watching the sunset. Returning to our room after dinner we had drinks at 'our pool' and a huge bubble bath in the beautiful bathroom. We are from Cape Town and it was a wonderful stay - felt as if we were far away from home and experiencing Cape Town anew. Highly recommend this lovely boutique establishment to visitors who wish to explore the city by foot or by car.
Only negitive is the shutters need to keep out the sun in the morning - they reduced the size of the room dramatically and did not block out all the sunlight coming through of the floor to ceiling windows to the plunge pool area.

Room Tip: Choose one of the suites with plunge pool if possible - slightly more but well worth the choice if l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Briston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here in September 07. Fantastic location, staff and luxury. A real "home from home"

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

We stayed at Dunkley for the 4th time in February and it was as good as ever.
It takes about 30 minutes to drive to the hotel from the airport which is so perfect after a long flight from the UK. We are given a lovely welcome by the staff - this time it was Gibson and after settling in to our favourite room - Tha Aqua we walk down to Long Street via Government Lane to a restaurant. This takes about 20 minutes.
The staff are so nice and helpfull and friendly and we consider the breakfasts the best in SA. We stayed in 14 guest houses this year on our 6 week trip and Dunkley served the best breakfasts. Thank you Eunice .
We shall be back next Febuary.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Great accommodation, very accommodating people (allowed us to use phone even after we had checked out to find a hire car). Great breakfasts, pleasant accommodation. Would use again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

We've stayed at this hotel twice now; both times for 5 days! The staff are absolutely amazing, although do not expect similar service to a 5* hotel. This is boutique... this is like being at a friends' house! For us the breakfast was perfect though; some slices of bread with toppings, yoghurt, fruit and they'll make eggs to order. What more do you really need to start your day?! And just outside our room was a coffee machine that made great espressos... which we enjoyed in our room, in the bathtub while looking through the skylight or on our little terrace. Really a great place to start and end your day from!!!! We loved it and would recommend it without hesitating once!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in "Bay 5" room both times... suited us perfectly!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunkley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dunkley House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkley House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunkley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.