We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dunkley House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Dunkley House to your Saves list
Dunkley House
3.5 of 5 Guest house   |   3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #61 of 152 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Cape Town, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2011

Because I travelled alone to Cape Town I looked for a comfortable, nice guesthouse. So I came to Dunkley House. Ist's a great place, a very stylish and confortable environment. The staff is very helpfull, they assisted me with a tour booking late at night. The neighbourhood is very ok, it;s also near the Jewish Museum where you can hop on the tourist bus. If I will return to Cape Town, I definitely will stay at Dunkley house.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    38
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
17
49
11
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in June and had a fantastic time:
the room (in the new part) was amazing with a wonderful bathroom and all mod-cons
the staff were so helpful (including sorting our dodgy hire car) and the food was lovely. A well stocked (honesty) bar was appreciated along with wifi and lovely guest lounges, and pool/patio
We couldn't have asked for more

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

I was initially aggrieved to find that I was not staying at the same lodge as the conference venue, especially as it was raining when I arrived. But the ambience and excellent service at Dunkley House soothed my frazzled nerves and lulled me into acquiesence, especially when they allowed me a choice of rooms and helped me arrange transport to a meeting that I had to reschedule.

The crisp linens, rusks and tea, honour bar, superb breakfast and ever-willing friendly service made my stay here a pleasure.

Room Tip: Suite or Bay 4 are best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

I stayed in Dunkley for four nights in April. The first think that struck me was how friendly the staff are. They are so helpful and couldn't do enough to help me with restaurant recommendations and tour bookings.

The accommodation itself is very comfortable and spacious. There is a small swimming pool and courtyard which is nice for relaxing in. The breakfast is really terrific and there is a great choice.

The location is good, near the Company Gardens. Although it is fine to walk around there during the day, a taxi is recommended at night.

All in all, a really comfortable and homely place to stay while enjoying the wonders of Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY, NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

We spent 4 nights at Dunkley House a few weeks ago, and wish we could have stayed longer. The accomodations and decor were fantastic, breakfast was delicious and plentiful, and the staff was super accomodating. Previous reviews had expressed concern about the location - however, I found the location of Dunkley House to be perfect. You're a short walk to Long Street and Greenmarket via the Company Gardens, and a short cab ride to everywhere else. Would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Loved the bathroom in Bay 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2011

wonderful converted old colonial mansion. friendly staff. great rooms. very close to city centre and amneties. some rooms are more like suites but still very decently priced.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IlkleyWYorksEngland
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2011

We had our third wonderful stay at Dunkley this year and it was as good as ever. We had the same room as we have had before - the Aqua Room which is in the old part but we love the feel of being in the centre of things going on. The staff are wonderful and so friendly and helpfull and the breakfasts are to die for. Thank you Dunkley - we shall be back next year.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dunkley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dunkley House

Address: 3B Gordon Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 152 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dunkley House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A jewel in Cape Town's crown, Dunkley House is a shining example of how modern design and styling can enhance a period property's original features. From a family residence built in the early 1900's, we have created an elegant, contemporary boutique guest establishment in a quaint Victorian street in Cape Town's historic old quarter offering luxury accommodation in the City Bowl. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Dunkley House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunkley House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dunkley House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.