We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great value.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bali Bay Luxury Apartments

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bali Bay Luxury Apartments
4.0 of 5 Cottage   |   113 Victoria Road | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Great location, great value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2007

We stayed in the studio at Bali Bay for 6 nights. I must say the owner / proprietor Beverley was extremely nice to deal with when making the booking and gave us a very good discounted rate which worked out at €75 per night for the studio.

The thing to note is that there is no reception at the property so you will have to ring ahead to make sure they are there to meet you. The man who met us there (presumably one of the owners) was not the politest of people and his first greeting was "We were wondering where you were!!!". In fact we had arrived half an hour prior to when we said we would arrived. His welcome was certainly not warm. He also came in during the week to fix a problem we had with some trip switches going on the fuse board. He made no attempt to be discreet about going through drawers and cupboards in which we had some of our private stuff. All in all quite an ignorant man.

The studio itself was perfect for two people and was clean. The bed was comfortable, the bathroom was more than adequate. It could do with some refurbishment as the decor is a little tired and there was some peeling paint. The only problem we had was that the alarm was malfunctioning a bit and went off a few times and we had to deal with a rather inept alarm company. However when I contacted Beverly(the owner) she assured me that she would deal with it when it happened again.

The location of the property is fantastic and is about 3 or 4 mins walk to the main strip and beach in Camps Bay.

Another big advantage of the property was the lock up garages available. You get a remote control on your keys to open the garage when you arrive and leave.

Finally a small gripe I would have with the property is that it is on the main road (perched just above it) and at rush hour (i.e. 7am - 9am in the morning) there is alot of noise from the road. The windows and doors are a little old and could probably do with being replaced with more modern sound resistant double glazing.

All in all a lovely little studio in a great location. I would return but would not pay huge prices. It was excellent value for the price we got it at considering its location.

  • Liked — The location and the value
  • Disliked — The noise from the road and the ignorant owner
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2007

We chose this place for its location in Camps Bay and views of the sea, table mountain and the twelve apostles. However the website did not prepare us for what we actually got on our arrival. We were met by the owner’s husband who informed us that the Studio we had booked was not available so they had upgraded us to the apartment for free. The reason “well its empty you may as well enjoy it”. A fantastic start and a great attitude from the owners! The studio we booked was a lovely self contained room but the apartment was a huge 3 bed roomed luxury apartment. Well decorated and appointed with a huge balcony affording excellent views out to sea. The owners were very welcoming and had stocked our fridge with a few basics (milk, juice etc) and even an ice cold bottle of Chardonnay! Across the road is a private bay for you to use.The main Camps Bay shops and restaurants are literally a 5 minute walk down the road. A great location for experiencing Cape Town and the Cape Peninsula. Highly recommend Bali Bay Apartments.

  • Liked — Location & Views
  • Disliked — Road traffic
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2007

Stayed in the penthouse at Bali Bay for about 5 nights. Was very nice accomodation, view is to die for, location is great and very safe. Rate was good, but then it was winter time. GM of property and the housekeeper were of great help to us (we were new tourists to Africa from the US). Would recommend it to anyone with two caveats. First, it is the penthouse, so you do have to get your luggage up some stairs. Second, we stayed in winter, and the house uses in floor heating. When the temperature drops to close to 0 C, it will be chilly in some of the outer rooms, but nothing a sweater can't handle.

  • Liked — View and location
  • Disliked — Had to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2007

I have recently returned from our holiday in Cape Town, and im very pleased to say that i thought our accomodation at Bali Bay Luxury apartments was fantastic. We booked the studio apartment, which is self-catering and has all the necessary amenities to make for a comfortable stay. The studio itself is beautifully decorated, with a double bed, small kitchen with all the utensils necessary for cooking up a storm, a stylish bathroom with shower and more than enough storage space. It also boasted DSTV as well as a stereo system for you own private party.

The studio itself was very clean, and i think since the last reviewer stayed there, there may have been some refurbishment, as i definitely wont class it as "tired". There was a lovely lady called Judith who serviced the room nearly everyday. The owner Beverley, is also a very nice lady who was most helpful. Before we arrived, she even emailed me suggestions of where to spend New Years Eve. When we arrived, we had a cold bottle of white wine waiting in the fridge.

Bali Bay is situated right on Victoria Road which is directly across the beach. The views from the balcony are absolutely stunning, and we were 5 minutes walk away from the restaurants and bars in Camps Bay. Outside the studio is a splash pool which is shared with the apartment upstairs, but we basically had it to ourselves for the time we were there. It really was a welcomed relief after a long day of sight seeing to cool off in the pool.

The only negative experience I had was on the day we were due to check out, Beverley was kind enough to allow us to leave our bags in a safe room as our flights were at 23.45 and we had to check out at 11.00. On the way back to collect our bags, i tried to contact Beverely on her mobile but couldnt get hold of her. So i rung her office number, which she told me before is based at her home. So a man answered the phone who i assume is her partner / work colleague / family member. He was very abrupt and quite rude when i tried to explain that i need to get hold of Beverley as we had a taxi booked to take us to the airport. He was still not very helpful and i really didnt appreciate his tone of voice. This kind of put a dampener on what was otherwise a lovely experience, as i thought customer care was a bit lacking there. Also Beverley reassured me beforehand that we could use our debit cards to pay for our accomodation as she had the necessary facilities to do so. However, when we checked in,Beverley then said she would prefer cash as the debit card machine was back at the office. This was an inconvenience to me as we had to go to a ATM machine to get the money, and i really didnt want to carry around that sort of money, even if it was only a short distance from the apartment. Its not a problem in itself, its just that Ive been told beforehand that it was possible to pay with my debit card.

I would definitley recommend this studio to anyone as it is good value for money, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. I have posted a few pictures so you can have an idea of what to expect.

  • Liked — The views
  • Disliked — Unhelpful manner of the owner's work colleague / partner
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask the manager for a discount, we got one!
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2006

Just returned from Cape town and spent 3 nights at Bali Bay apartments, Camps Bay. There are three apartments to choose from within the complex; the 'Studio', the 'Apartment' and the 'Penthouse'. We booked the 'studio' and to be honest were very disappointed.

The 'apartment' (three bedrooms) was the one directly above us and this did look ok (we didnt get too close a look as there was someone staying there). The beautiful pool and sun loungers that you see on the internet site are actually self contained within the 'Penthouse'.

If you have booked that then you will be fine, it looks great. The studio however, was more than a little 'tired' and certainly wasnt the 'luxury' that I was expecting. The whole place would benefit from a lick of paint and a new decor. It really is a shame because it could be fantstic with very little effort and expense.

The front door is transparent glass so anyone going up or down can see right in to the studio (and the bed!). There is a blind behind the door, but if you bring the blind down, you are then unable to open the door. You can therefore only really close it for privacy when you are sleeping. At all other times, you are on 'full view' of other passing guests (as are all your belongings!!).

There is also a funny smell that we couldnt identify, and the place could have been cleaner. In addition, the bathroom is in urgent need of a revamp.

As for the positives, It is very well located, just a 3 minute walk along the main high street to the 'main' hub of Camps Bay life (Bali Bay apartments are situated on Victoria Road) . It has a fabulous view of the ocean and the price was very reasonable for this room. There is a secure garage to park your car and Bev, the lady who runs the apartments is a very nice lady.

In this instance we basically put our experience down to a case of 'getting what you pay for'. We stayed in some fantstic places during our visit to Cape Town and it is a shame we ended it here. I wouldnt personally go back to the studio unless it has a complete revamp, but would consider the penthouse as the view and location are great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bali Bay Luxury Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bali Bay Luxury Apartments

Address: 113 Victoria Road | Camps Bay, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 99 Specialty lodging in Cape Town Central
Hotel Class:4 star — Bali Bay Luxury Apartments 4*
Also Known As:
Bali Bay Luxury Apartments Hotel Cape Town Central
Bali Bay Luxury Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bali Bay Luxury Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Bali Bay Luxury Apartments to your Saves list