We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY HERE” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Harbouredge Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Harbouredge Apartments to your Saves list
Harbouredge Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   10 Hospital Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The apartment I am sat in eating dinner after arriving on a flight from London has everything you would want from a 'Home away from home' stay. The furnishings are modern, the fixtures are well used but ok. HOWEVER - there is a VERY loud party going on in the apartment next to mine and I cannot get hold of a member of staff to help me out. Now I am lucky enough to stay in some amazing places around the world and I understand the need to let your hair down on a Saturday night but I was of the understanding that Harbouredge was only serviced apartments and not owner occupied apartments combined with but to let apartments managed by home from home. If you want to risk a bad neighbour then book this place but there are much better places to stay in Cape Town.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your comments, both positive and negative, Home from Home operates most of the apartments in Harbourgedge and other apartments are either owner managed, occupied or managed by other companies.

We apologise that you had a terrible experience with noise from another occupant during your stay with us. However please note that the tenant was in direct contravention of the body corporate rules which states:
“All guests shall ensure that their use of the apartment and of the common
property and its facilities is at all times conducted in such a manner as not to:cause a nuisance, disturbance or inconvenience or annoyance to any other guest, particularly in the form of loud music, radio or TV. Detrimentally affect the rights and interests of other owners or occupiers. Guests shall be responsible for the behaviour of their children and guests and shall be liable for any damage caused by them.”

As members of the body corporate this matter will be raised at our meeting and the owner of the apartment will receive an official warning letter from the body corporate about this conduct and the bridge of these rules.

We hope to see you again soon, happy travels, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    60
    17
    7
    10
See reviews for
40
26
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed in a 1 bedroom. The room was very comfortable and the kitchen well equipped. They serviced the apartment every day. Can't think of any real issues. It's a 5-10 minute drive to V and A and 2 minutes (actually walking distance) from Cape Quarter. Would definitely recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. We hope you will stay with us again in the future, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telfs
Top Contributor
285 reviews 285 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

The location is very loud,MIT is impossible to open the window because of the traffic. The apartment was not clean when we arrived, in the cupboard there was a lot of dust. Further, the so called 2 bedroom apartment is a joke, the second room is tiny and very small, just impossible to stay thee with 4 people. Also, the second bathroom is very small. Therefore, there is in fact only one usable room. Hangers are missing and the furniture in the bedrooms is old and very cheap. There is no space to store the suitcase in the whole apartment and a safe is missing as we'll. In the end it is overpriced substandard with bedrooms not much better than in a youth hostel. Try to avoid, there are much better places to stay in Cape Town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mautsane, Public Relations Manager at Harbouredge Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your review. As the company that operates Harbouredge self-catering apartments we appreciate the feedback we receive from guests.

Harbouredge apartments is centrally located at the end of the N1 highway connecting Johannesburg to Cape Town and is the favourite location for guests attending events such as the Jazz Festival and those who prefer to be close to the city centre.

Understandably with the location being central, there is bound to be some level of noise. Hence the sliding doors leading to the balcony in each apartment all have double glazing to insulate the apartments from the street noise. However incidents of noise in close proximity to the property are few and where guests have complained we have investigated each incident.

We apologise if the apartment was not clean, this is not common practice, as we ensure that all apartments are cleaned by the housekeepers and our on-site operations manager checks the cleanliness of each apartment before any guests check in.

Our 2 bedroom apartments are 90m² and if guests need more space they can choose to stay in a superior 2 bedroom which is 120m². In terms of the items you mentioned were missing in the apartments those should have been replaced and we wish you had informed our concierge at reception about this.

Our rates are by far the most competitive and these are maintained throughout the year to ensure guests receive good value for their money. We hope to see you again in the future, wishing you many happy stays, Home from Home.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

These are apartments, but that means you can cook your own food and do your own thing. The room was serviced each day but the standard of cleaning was only average and there were a few things that needed a bit of maintenance, (I did fix the shower head, it was only a dribble to start with, but I took the shower head off and cleaned it all out and it worked great after that, but the shower base leaked all over the toilet floor). Our apartment included a cloths washing machine that was also a combined dryer, and while the bed while OK it was only a double and it was hard to get the room dark at night due to poor quality curtains. There was a full sized fridge and full stove and most of the things you would need to cook with and eat with. A friend was staying in another apartment and hers had a queen sized bed but the cloths washer was not a dryer and there were some general maintenance issues in that apartment also. There is a really good small supermarket only 2 small blocks away and the area is OK to walk around in the day, but at night we were advised by the receptionist it was not that safe and to catch a cab. The receptionist and security desk are friendly and the reception guy will willingly call a cab for you. The place is close to the convention centre (about 10 minutes walk, although a lot of that time is waiting for traffic lights, as there are large busy roads to cross, so walking time is not very much). This place is good value for the money and while you can do your own thing regarding food, we just did our own breakfast, as there are so many cheap and really good places to eat in Cape Town. There is no restaurant in the building, but quite a few in the Cape District, 2 to 3 blocks away but most of the time we got a cab (they are very cheap) and headed to the waterfront area. Yes I would stay here again, but might try and specify a room with a queen or king bed. Most of the rooms are bigger with a second bedroom but ours was more studio style with the bed area separated from the lounge area but not a distinct separate room. It would appear the furnishings from room to room are a bit random, so luck may play a part in what you actually have in your room.

Room Tip: They are all good but above about the 3rd floor will give you a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were very content with our stay there, the appartment was new and clean, everything provided towels, hair dryer, kitchen appliances, toaster, kettle etc. Overall I'd stay there again. The noise from the road is not bad also, and the view off the balcony is super nice!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We booked a superior apartment as there was little difference in the price and it was truly worth every penny. Our apartment, 611 was on the 6th floor at the end with dual aspect. The large balcony looked straight at table mountain which felt like touching distance it was so close. The living area is huge. Big L shape leather sofa and large LCD tv on the wall. Large solid wood dining table with benches that could seat 8. There was also a double sofa bed in the lounge on the back wall which would mean the apartment could comfortably sleep 6. The kitchen was very well equipped with separate laundry with washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher. Both bedrooms were very comfortable, and the master bedroom has a good size on suite with bath and separate shower.
The apartments are located in a very good location, 5 mins in a cab to the V & A waterfront where all the restaurants and shops are. Reception can call you a cab which will cost R40 which is roughly £3. If you are a light sleeper then I would definitely recommend using ear plugs! The traffic is very noisy as there is no double glazing.
My main grumble about this apartment is the Internet. You have to keep getting vouchers with a code on it to access the wifi in the apartment. 100mb vouchers go in a few minutes if there are a few of you on the net. They did tell me they were changing the set up so perhaps they are listening to feedback. They do have a business lounge which has wifi and PCs to use in reception. They also have print and fax facilities which was very handy.
These apartments are exceptional value for money (well paying with ££ was). I highly recommend staying here.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I'm from Cape Town but rented out this apartment for the week before my wedding (needed my own space!) This is a beautiful apartment. So spacious and comfortable. Its in a quieter area of central cape town which was brilliant for me. But if you dont have a car, I wouldn't recommend walking to the apartment at night (it is south africa after all). The area is relatively safe and the staff are always there and very helpful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Harbouredge Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harbouredge Apartments

Address: 10 Hospital Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harbouredge Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Harbouredge provides modern accommodation in the city's vibrant De Waterkant area. The self-catering accommodation offered includes studios, one, two and three bedroom apartments as well as penthouse suites with views of the city skyline. The apartments are thoughtfully furnished and include a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable dining and lounge areas. The property has access to free Wi-Fi and guests can relax by the open-air swimming pool on the premises or visit the many restaurants and shops within close proximity to the property.Our services include pre-arrival grocery shopping, airport transfers, car rental, day tours and sightseeing excursions (charges apply). Apartments are serviced Monday to Saturday and personal laundry and dry cleaning services are available upon request (surcharges apply). Harbouredge remains the smart choice for many travellers visiting Cape Town who prefer the independence of self-catering accommodation that is accessible and hassle-free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Harbouredge Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbouredge Cape Town
Harbouredge Hotel Cape Town
Harbouredge Apartments Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harbouredge Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.