We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 stays in 1 trip! Nice and confortable experience!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner of Hill & Romney Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Romney Park Luxury Suites & Wellness Centre)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“2 stays in 1 trip! Nice and confortable experience!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We have stayed in the Romney Park for 4 nights, on the 4th floor. The service was great. The room was an apartment, very big and confortable, a great balcony. Really nice bathrooms.
Everything was perfect, except for the fact that our room did not have a heating. We have asked for extra blankets and it was OK. But a 5 star hotel cannot be ok.
The breakfast was poor, very few fruits and variety of breads also.
At the end of our trip, we have stayed for more 2 nights, but on the 1st floor. It was very noisy, cause it was close to the restaurant kitchen and staff room probably.
I recommend this hotel but please choose higher floors.

Room Tip: Higher floors are the best!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomneyPK, General Manager at Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for your review of Romney Park...I appreciate your comments, but would like to respond that we do have heating in all the suites including the heating function on the aircon units as well as underfloor heating in all the bedrooms as well as the blankets and additional heaters available on request...in your case it seems as if this is not a lack of heating but rather a lack of staff responding to your request and for this I apologise....you should have been taken care of immediately. I will take this up appropriately...in terms of breakfast we are proud of our substantial spread but in hearing your comments will be making some changes including a specialty bread and pastry station that we in the process of adding to our array. Thank you again for your time and I will also certainly look all the matters your review raised and can hopefully show you our improvements on your next visit to Cape Town.
Kind regards
Susan Versfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    36
    4
    3
    3
See reviews for
41
32
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Room 507. Clean, big and spacious, nice decor and the BEST VIEW. Kitchen is well equipped. All personal was friendly and very professional. The jacuzzi was a bonus! Close to The Waterfront and central Cape Town and Stadium. Spa are very close and professional. I felt very safe during my weekend (2 nights) stay. :) :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomneyPK, General Manager at Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Good morning, thank you for your kind review and I am very pleased we exceeded your expectations! I look forward to welcoming you back to Romney Park soon!
Kind regards
Susan Versfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Rooms are excellent and the bed is gorgeous. People from the hotel are very kind. The breakfast is poor. The location is good but you need a car because the Waterfront is at least 5 minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomneyPK, General Manager at Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Traveller
Thank you for your review of Romney Park, I appreciate your feedback and would love to find out why you considered our breakfast poor during your stay in order to take corrective action, please feel free to email directly to discuss this further. I look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town and Romney Park in the future...safe travels!
Susan Versfeld
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nijmegen, Gelderland, Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Nice spacious apartment with two bedrooms and two bath rooms. Good breakfast but it was not clear for us and the staff what was included in out room price. E.g. one staff member said that English breakfast was included whereas another saifd that it was definitely not included which was confusing. The street of the hotel is not very lively. There are no restaurants and shops very close to the hotel. The restaurant of the hotel is for South African standards expensive and when we stayed there it was empty, no other guests. No one in the bar. The heating in our suite did not function which was not very convenient in August.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomneyPK, General Manager at Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your time taken to review Romney Park, I would firstly like to apologise that the Front Desk staff seemed confused and unable to answer your breakfast query...I will take this up with them as this is not our norm...regarding your experience that you found our restaurant expensive..we pride ourselves on offering good value and currently offer a range of menu items to suit each budget and our 3 course menu is priced @ R145pp for a starter, main and dessert which is considered very reasonable by Cape Town standards. Our All Suite Hotel is located in an established residential area and is not on the busy main road but well within reach of a number of good restaurants and shops in Green Point and very close to the V&A Waterfront, this combined with our on-site restaurant offers our guests a variety of catering options...our guests in winter make less use of the restaurant and bar and seem to prefer room service in the cosiness of their suites which would perhaps account for lack of traffic in these areas you mentioned. Lastly all suites are heated via the heating function on the aircon, underfloor heating in the bedrooms as well as extra blankets and additional heaters on request....I am sorry that you did not bring this to our attention so that we could have make your stay more comfortable.. Thank you again for your time and I hope to welcome you back to Romney Park in the future for you to experience us again and for the better this time around.
Warm regards
Susan Versfeld
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We booked this via Booking.com and what a find it it was. Superb apartment hotel near Green Point in Capetown; overlooks the stadium built for 2010 world cup with Robben Island in the distance.
For two adults + 2 kids we had 2 double bedrooms - both ensuite, lounge, balcony and well equipped kitchen. Staff were brilliant and food was good.
More than a 10 min walk to Waterfront - more like 20 - but only £3 in a cab. Family luxury at a really good price.

Room Tip: Sea views are stunning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Today I am back again, for the third time again in 2 months. I party live now in Cape Town (2/3 weeks a month) and this hotel makes me feel at home.
Very friendly staff, spacious and well equiped and clean rooms, good restaurant in a decent area of Cape Town.

A true recommendation for everyone who want to be located centrally, close to the Waterfront, National highways and city centre.

Good value for money and compared to the big chains like Radisson, a very friendly, personal hotel, which makes you feel at home!

There is only one downside to the hotel. It doesn't have a gym, but within 5 minutes you find one of the best gyms in town.

Room Tip: Rooms at higher floors do have a nice view, overlooking the stadium and the coastal area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I stayed in one of the suites on the second floor for 5 nights. The suites are beautiful, with well equiped kitchen, two bathrooms, and a jet bath in the main bathroom. The staff keeps it nice and clean, and is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was a nice spread of fruit, yoghurts, breads and hot options. Wifi is complimentary.

The suites are within walking distance from the Greenpoint Virgin Active gym (Note that the suites do not have a fitness center). The Cape Quarter and V&A Waterfront is close, as well as the stadium. I am rating a 4 because of the lack of fitness center.

Be sure to book in advance for the Spa to avoid disappointment. The prices are good, but no timeslots were available at short notice.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RomneyPK, General Manager at Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you for your kind review of Romney Park. We do pride ourselves on our spa which is very busy year round and I apologise that we were not able to accommodate you on short notice. Regarding the fitness centre, the Green Point Virgin Active is located 700metres from the hotel and is available on a guest pass for the day...hopefully upon your return visit to Romney Park one day we can arrange this for you?
Warm regards
Susan Versfeld
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa

Address: Corner of Hill & Romney Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa (Formerly Romney Park Luxury Suites & Wellness Centre)
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#29 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romney Park offers 30 sea facing suites, each with 1 or 2 bedrooms, private balcony, lounge/dining area and kitchenette. Hotel facilities include a restaurant, bar & spa. Free wi-fi access throughout the hotel. Awarded Best All Suite Hotel 2010 in RSA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Romney Park All Suite Hotel And Spa
Romney Park All Hotel Cape Town Central
Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romney Park All Suite Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.