We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Acorn House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Acorn House to your Saves list
Acorn House
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Nederland
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We are just back from a trip to South Afrika. The last three nights we stayed at Acorn House and it was really fantastic! Next time we definitely stay here again.
The location is perfect. You have a view at Table Mountain at it not in a very busy area. That is great so you park your car in front the house.
Tha staff was amazing. When we arrived we met Stewart. He is really fantastic. Knows so much and wanted to do anything for you. He also had fantastic tips for the restaurants in the evening.
What can we say more. Breakfast was very good and the place itself is beautiful.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    275
    13
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
174
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our stay at Acorn House was among our best experiences along our South Africa trip. The location is ideal, between Table Mountain and the city. Making it very easy to reach all points of interest, even by foot. The house is perfectly run by a multicultural team that strives to serve every need and ensures attention to detail. Be it giving recommendations, booking tickets, serving a magnificent breakfast or writing lovely notes to be found on the pillow at night!
There is saying on the gate to the house, it says something like "We love this house" and that strikes the spirit of Acorn House.
We had a wonderful stay there and would love to return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham,Wilts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Used this lovely house as accommodation whilst in and around Cape Town for 2 weeks in August into September. Arrived from airport by organised transfer for overnight and then shot off
for a week, lovely warm welcome and able to leave excess baggage with them securely. On our return we had baggage waiting in our room. Excellent rooms, overflowing fresh breakfast and great recommended restaurants. Staff were very helpful too. All in all a thoroughly positive visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are well appointed, those at front of house can view distant Cape Town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in early August. we were met with a lovely welcome and were waved off at the end of our stay. That level of personal service was present throughout our stay. The advice and help with airport transfers, day trips and car hire was invaluable. Our balcony overlooked the harbour and the room was lovely. The breakfasts were to die for and little touches like tea in the room made it feel special. We asked many questions of Stewart before our stay, but he was always prepared to offer answers and always very promptly. If we return to Capetown in the future, we wouldn't dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We liked the balcony overlooking Capetown.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N.Ireland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Cape town was the first stop on our honeymoon to south Africa. Acorn house was in a quiet area of cape town but within walking distance of restaurants and the bus stop so a perfect location. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, they really made us feel at home, Nabila in particular. They arranged day trips for us and recommended places to eat. The breakfast was so tasty and great choices, they really couldn't do enough for us and we will certainly stay there again if we ever get the chance to return to cape town. We were given a warm welcome when we arrived and were sad to leave, thanks to everyone in the acorn house for making our stay so special

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was our first trip to Cape Town and we couldn't have stayed in a better place. The room was perfect as was the location, but what made it special was the staff and the service they provided. The restaurant recommendations were spot on, we enjoyed a variety of great food and wine during our stay. Breakfast was amazing, the choice of hot dishes was endless. Everything was provided to make us feel relaxed and comfortable, and If we return to Cape Town there is nowhere else I would rather stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford-on-Avon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is a superb guesthouse in a quiet suburb of Cape Town. The welcome (by Nabila, in our case) was a lovely personal touch and the house itself is homely and very clean. Our room overlooked the garden and the bed was very comfortable, which was great after many nights camping! The breakfasts are lovely - very fresh and varied - and Acorn House is a good base to get into the city. It took us an hour at a fairly brisk pace to walk to the V and A Waterfront - a little more than we thought - but the fabulous views of Table Mountain on the guesthouse's doorstep more than make up for any walk! A good place for lunch is literally on the corner - some of the best, most reasonable sandwiches we have ever eaten. Taxis to the Waterfront cost about R80.00.

Acorn House is definitely somewhere to stay - a haven where nothing is too much trouble.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the rear garden is probably a bit quieter than one overlooking Montrose Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Acorn House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Acorn House

Address: 1 Montrose Avenue | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Acorn House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cape Town at its best! Set on the slopes of Table Mountain, Acorn House offers spectacular mountain, city and harbour views and provides convenient access to Cape Town's numerous places of interest. Stroll through the fragrant garden. Indulge in an opulent breakfast around the pool. Browse the well stocked wine cellar. Simply enjoy the charming house, 100 years old and still fresh. Close to popular restaurants. All tours and transfers arranged with pleasure. Free WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Acorn House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Acorn House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.