We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mountview Spa and Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mountview Spa and Guest House to your Saves list
Mountview Spa and Guest House
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 151 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at Mountview spa and as usual I was made to feel like i was staying at someone's house rather than a guesthouse. Hosts, Joe and Marius are amazing and always keen to help when you need advise about where to go and eat out or sights to see. Since my last visit, the rooms have been remodelled and the bathrooms are now separate from the bedrooms. Before, they were open plan and I much prefer this set up. It's been about a year since I last visited and it still rocks! Highly recommended and I will certainly be back again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

176 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    26
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
13
77
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

This was truely like home away from home. We relaxed so much at the pool that some days we spent most of our sunbathing at the guesthouse. Our room was perfect that ensured a great night's rest. I had a massage by their masseur in the spa room. Best deep tissue massage ever!! Can't wait to stay here again when visiting Cape Town from London

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2012

My partner & I spent our last night in South Africa here at Mountview. Its a beautiful little guest house amongst tranquil set gardens, with a pool & hot tub. The owners were extremely accommodating and very helpful. Our flight wasn't until late in the evening and we were able to have a shower before leaving for the airport which was fantastic after a day of 30 degree heat. We were recommended La Boheme a restaurant 2 minute walk from the guest house, which was superb and extremely well priced!!
After spending 8 nights in South Africa, all at 4 star guest houses, the only faults we can give Mountview and comparing it to the other guest houses, was there was no air conditioning. When its 25 degrees in the evening and your trying to get ready, it proves difficult with the heat and steam. Also the bathroom is part of the room, therefore when showering and getting ready, plus no air con can be a bit cramped for 2 people.
We would definately stay here again and recommend it to friends and family!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

I was in Cape Town for a few days on my own and really pleased to have chosen Mountview. It is a real little gem, beautifully decorated with a tranquil ambience and lovely staff. Breakfast was great. I really cant fault it. Fabulous!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We enjoyed a great stay at the Mountview Spa and Guest House in December 2011. Our room was perfect and the staff and owners were always there when we needed them! The location is ideal as it is central to all the wonderful attractions Cape Town has to offer. I would definitely recommend this Guest House to both local and international travellers.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I visited Cape Town for the first time with friends, and had a local friend, who showed us what an outstanding city this is! Our stay was most comfortable and enjoyable, and I cannot fault anything. We had guests visiting us at the guesthouse to pick us up and the staff were very accomodating. My laundry was done, I had free wifi to use,used the pool and jacuzzi at my leisure and the breakfast was great, it being healthy and filling - loved the fresh coffee!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

My wife spoilt me with a lovely weekend get away filled with relaxation, wining and dining. We were collected from the airport by shuttle and delivered to Mountview ( our 1 bag got lost and was dropped off at the guesthouse!), the massages were outstanding and well recommended for stress relief, and the jacuzzi was the perfect ending! Joe is very proud of the guesthouse and gave us a good intro, advise etc and helped us book a car for a few days. We got fantastic restaurant recommendations in central Cape Town and in the winelands! Our suite was very cosy and welcoming, and we the mini bar well stocked, thanks Joe + the champagne and rose petals made the welcome amaizing!! Thanks to all at the guesthouse!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mountview Spa and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mountview Spa and Guest House

Address: 208 High Level Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 151 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mountview Spa and Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated 4 star graded guest house centrally situated in Sea Point. Walking distance to beach, shops, restaurants and transport. Close to V&A Waterfront, Camps Bay and Table Mountain. Facilities include pool, jacuzzi, sauna and massage treatments. Rooms are en-suite with satellite TV, hair dryer, coffee and tea facilities, ceiling fans, heaters, refrigerator, beach towels and other small extras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Mountview Spa and Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mountview Spa And Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mountview Spa and Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.