We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good position, great concierge, poor rooms, poor food” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Fountains Hotel to your Saves list
Fountains Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St Georges Mall | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #89 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
corfu
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good position, great concierge, poor rooms, poor food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

For £133 per day paid through agents Iglu we were allocated a standard atrium room. This is a lying misdescription (an atrium is a large open space in a building).The room backed on to a narrow void with barely any light, my wife who is a little claustrophobic, burst in to tears.
That said, the hotel is centrally placed and the concierge Thys is a character, the buffet is bearable and the rooms clean and a fair size, and they did give us a room facing the main road albeit with no double glazing a noisy air conditioner and annoyingly a fuzzy TV.
But it is scruffy with chipped paint and lifting carpet tiles...students would love it.

Room Tip: Apparently some of the upper rooms face table mountain. Do not take an atrium room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    98
    89
    49
    26
See reviews for
34
117
17
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Location is great and enjoyed my stay. Situated closer to most tourist attractions and great view of yhe city. Great environment. Enjoyed my stay and would love to go back and stay. Great waitress in Grace who was always there when we were having breakfast. The food is great and enjoyed the bar.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krugersdorp, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

there is no one specific in particular that I want to mention> the hotel personal were all professional, friendly and helpful. The food was outstanding and there is always something that u crave to eat.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

The Fountains Hotel is situated in the city center, well situated for doing business within town. The hotel is clean with friendly staff. The breakfast and dinner is a bit dull, but sufficient. There is a nice sushi bar right on the doorstep with a number of cafe's very close by.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I woulD not want to have an experience in this hotel again, everything in this hotel looks tired. Breakfast made me feel sick, not sure if it was the quality of the products or just the average feel to the place, passages was very noisy to the rooms and staff are very noisy while cleaning the rooms. This hotel will not see me again

Room Tip: Try to upgrade to an apartment on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

The suites are extremely spacious with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. The last suite that we stayed in has a view of both the harbour and table mountain. The rooms have flat screen TVs and DSTV. The indoor pool is heated.

The location of the hotel is excellent. About 50 meters away is a manned bus station for the MyCity bus network. The convention centre is a 5 minute walk, and the waterfront about a 15 minute walk.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore,
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

It is an economy hotel located near Longstreet. I chose this hotel as it is within walking distance to Green Market Square and near to the airport, as I was heading to the airport the next day. Fortunately, it was just a one night stay. What happened to me was the horrible incident of a stranger holding the key to the same room number (430) as mine and opened my room. Immediately, we went straight to the Front Reception to get clarification and they said it was a mistake for the stranger to have my room key. This was so ridiculous. Despite such a huge mistake, the Front Reception was not apologetic about it. His response to us was like "this is no big deal". I would blacklist this hotel for Cape Town for the poor security and customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Address: 1 St Georges Mall | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountains Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.