We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“location, location and...location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fountains Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fountains Hotel to your Saves list
Fountains Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 St Georges Mall | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Copenhagen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“location, location and...location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Me and my girlfriend stayed at this hotel for one week in the beginning of April. We were positively surprised by the good location, the heavy loaded breakfast and the gentle staff. The Staffmembers were always there for you, booking a cab, giving you an extra towel or just give you some nice compliments. We liked that! Especially the smiling man at breakfast!

The gym looked nice, but we never had the time to try it out. The pool is more like a big bathtube, so don't expect to much of that!

The negative aspects about the hotel was that we had some trouble with the internet. (Really slow and at many times not working at all) The cleaningstaff were very eager to clean the room, so many mornings you woke up by a small whisper "hello..." outside the door. Ok for us, but we can imagine some people can get annoyed...

We also got robbed 200 meters from the hotell outside Mac Donalds at 6 pm, daylight, and lots of people around, which was a bit unpleasant. Be aware of walking in the city even during the day!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear "Fersen82"

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review of your stay at the Fountains Hotel. I am pleased that the location of the Hotel suited your need while in Cape Town. I have relayed your review to all the staff and they are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay.

It saddens me to hear of misfortune close to Mc Donald’s and I have been in contact with CCID (Cape Town Central Improvement District) to inform them of the incident.

We greatly anticipate your return to Cape Town in order to welcome you back with our warm hospitality.

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    107
    96
    54
    32
See reviews for
37
126
19
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Central Oregon, Oregon
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

My husband and I and another couple stayed here for five nights, on two occasions, between March and April. The hotel is bland, but the people who work there are awesome. Room was clean, water was drinkable, included breakfast was plentiful, but, the internet they sell is worthless, (don't bother) and the bathroom has absolutely no amenities. Liquid soap in a jar is all you get. Location is good and in a safe area to walk in the evening for dinner out. One morning we walked to the Victoria and Albert Waterfront and it was a nice, easy walk. The double decker Red Bus stops fairly close making for an easy tour. I would stay again for the reasons listed, but will still be aggravated for the reasons I listed above. The staff.... they are all great and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for a large room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear "kakima3"

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at the Fountains Hotel. I am very pleased to hear that you enjouyed your stay with us. I have taken to heart your concerns and we will be looking into listed items.

We look forward to welcome you back to the Fountains Hotel.

Kind regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

Old room, doors and furniture. The bathroom was very bad (shower over the bath tube, curtains). During the shower, the bench/sink became completely wet. There was only liquid soap for hand washing (no shampoo, no conditioner, no soap for bath). The door is locked with normal keys. The bathroom's door was broken and did not have any lock. The frigobar did not work (we have asked for manteinance, but the problem was not solved and we didn't get any feedback). Internet is paid and don't work properly. For several times Internet was out of service and when it worked the wi-fi signal was very weak and connection was very slow. The parking is paid and most of time was full. The corridor smelt very bad (probably due to the guests food waste left in the corridor for a long time). Not enough healthy food in the breakfast.
The hotel is not compatible to a four star one at all. It's very expensive for what it offers.
We didn't feel safe to walk around the hotel at night.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2012
Dear "Blackiegolfer"

I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us at the Fountains Hotel. We pride ourselves on our location especially since we are in one of the best locations when it comes to the Argus race. We hope you faired well in the race and look forward in welcomming you back to the Fountains Hotel for next years race.


Kind regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

The room was small, but the bed was nice. All in all not much of a deal. You have to pay for internet use and the walls seem very thin. Not a place i would chose to stay at, given the other, better choices avalable in Cape Town.

Room Tip: away from elevator, maybe a front room would have any sort of view?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2012 via mobile

We were a group of cyclists staying here for The Argus.

Despite the many signs up asking not to keep bikes in the rooms, we didn't think much to the alternative option so ignored this request...

Hotel was tidy and functional. Walking distance to the city centre and, more importantly, the start line for the race. Waterfront is a 15 minute walk - no problem.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Used the gym and micro pool on last day to freshen up as we had a late flight home and had to check out by 10am which was too early in my view.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

This four star hotel is really a gamestone in Cape Town! The staff is very serviceminded ,,the hotelfacilities are very nice indeed and the resturants are at the highest possible level. We are very impressed with the staff, as well in the front desk as the service staff including waiters and room service. The location of the hotel is most suiteable for all kinds of activites, in the very center of Cape Town with easy access to the Waterfront area as well as shopping and public transportation. We hade the definite pleasure to stay 5 nights in this establishment, and would not hesitate the least bit to do so again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FountainsGM, General Manager at Fountains Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Dear "Kattensvenne"

Thank you so much for your feedback of your stay with the Fountains Hotel. It was a pleasure to read your response and i am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

I have relayed your response to all my head of Departments and I am sure that will communicate it with their staff.

I'm glad that you found the location of the Hotel ideal and we look forward to welcoming you back to Cape Town on your next Visit

Kind Regards

Theo De Zeeuw
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Greeted by warm welcome, helpful chatty informative staff, a glass of orange juice and complimentary room upgrade.
Stayed on 9th floor-One bedroomed apartment. perfectly equipped, clean and airy.
Lush views from the balcony. Showers fantastic.
Rooms cleaned daily-free safe-Living room comfortable.
Breakfast was fine-Sat outside near the fountains. Staff attentative and helpful.
Lots choice hot/cold drinks. Hot and cold buffet selection food.
Really enjoyed hotel and would recommend.
Perfectly located for the city/V&A etc. Bus station/trains opposite. Lots restaurants and shopping within 5 mins walk.
The gym/pool looked small but adequate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fountains Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountains Hotel

Address: 1 St Georges Mall | cnr. Heerengracht & Hans Strydom, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Fountains Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in downtown Cape Town, within walking distance of the city’s many attractions, the Fountains Hotel offers all the services and facilities you would expect from an inner-city hotel. A gym, pool, bar, buffet restaurant with a terrace and the friendliest staff in town, all contribute to make the Fountains Hotel a luxury home away from home. Do make use of our FREE internet of 100MB daily.The City of Cape Town boasts a wide range of attractions. These include three World Heritage Sites, a diverse mix of cultural, historical and heritage sites, outdoor and leisure activities, entertainment, nature and environment, and of course, luxury wining and dining.But when all the exploration, sight-seeing and shopping have worn you out, the Fountains Hotel will accept you with open arms. The reception at the hotel is a welcoming space, furnished with couches to create a relaxation area. Those who would like to keep an eye on the work side of things, can turn to the hotel’sbusiness centre.Friendly and knowledgeable staff offer a full concierge service and can refer guests to the tourism centre, which is also located in the lobby. This centre is equipped with flyers and information about all the popular tours and destinations in and around Cape Town. The multi-lingual staff can also help with any bookings that need to be made.The Fountains Hotel is a secure establishment. We have qualified staff and a security station at each entry point of the hotel to ensure that our guests remain safe. Three levels of underground parking provide secure parking for our guests.24-hour room service is also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fountains Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountains Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Fountains Cape Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fountains Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.