We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hippo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Hippo Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-9 Park Road, Gardens, | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
5 breakfast options!
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Itinerant
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This is a great hotel for so many reasons.

The staff here are great, they are always keen to help you make the best of your time in CT. Whatever their recruitment policy is they've got it right.

I arrived on an overnight flight at 08:30 in the morning and was really delighted to find that my rooom was already available, I didn't expect that.

The location is just metres from Kloof Street and a few minutes walk from the top of Long Street so really handly for eating and drinking places.

The room is huge, the mini kitchen is great for keeping drinks cold etc. The bed was massive and incredibly comfortable. Broadband was great and a good speed. Air con worked well.
Safe in room was big enough to hold my laptop, camera and other valuables.

Parking at the back of the hotel was convenient and free.

I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    43
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
6
68
10
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Large and interesting room. Sits above 3 great restaurants. Incredibly helpful staff. Great place to base yourself during your stay to cape town. Wouldn't consider staying elsewhere next time we're in town. Secure car park very useful too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is in a hip neighbourhood just on the edge of downtown. The area is central but less gritty than the downtown core. There are trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques surrounding the hotel. Plus there's a Woolworth's next door to get your essentials for your holiday. The neighbourhood is really what sells me on the Hippo.

The rooms are clean, modern and surprisingly quiet (given the close proximity to the entertainment district). You get your own wifi hub in your room, which means great reception. The furniture is all new, and cool looking. You kinda feel like you're in a trendy loft apartment.

The staff were all very helpful when we were looking for tips of how to see the city. They offered free parking, which was nice, though I wasn't brave enough to drive on the opposite side of the road.

The place felt very secure, and cared-for. Overall a good stay, and I feel it was a good value.

Room Tip: Be sure to try Knead, next door - great coffee and bread There's a Woolworth's next door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Having stayed had an extended stay here of well over a week I think that I have a balanced experience. First and foremost, the staff is unbelievable. We arranged several day trips, transfers, early morning and late night departures, etc. and nothing was ever a problem.

When our departing flight was cancelled the day it was due to depart the staff was great with helping us sort out our continued stay and a few other details.

The rooms are stylish, clean and have everything you could possibly need. With an extended stay in particular this is most helpful and with two grocery shops nearby as well as plenty of restaurants there is a wealth of choices for dining.

I cannot thank Fiona and the staff nearly enough because it was their service that really made this place a star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love staying at the Hippo. It's very central and they have secure off street parking so you can just leave your car and go out on foot. The area is very vibey with a big choice of great local restaurants. Warda and Fiona go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. Lovely, well appointed, modern rooms. It can get quite noisy outside on a Friday/ Saturday night but it's not all that noisy inside. And the aircon was a godsend. I have stayed here before and I'm looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect position to stay in Cape Town. There are at least 9 restaurants within walking distance from this hotel. The staff are amazing! Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are huge and modern with everything you need. Although this is a busy vibey area, the rooms are nice and quiet. There is free internet of good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hippotique, Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you ever so much for taking the time and providing us with this lovely review.
We cannot tell you enough how much we appreciate it.

Trust we will see you again soon!

Regards
Warda, Fiona & Caoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at the Hippo for 14 days in July and would thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is very safe and the staff cannot do enough to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Downstairs there are numerous restaurants to choose from and within a minute you also have access to a bakery, supermarket and chemist. Our hotel room was very clean and spacious with 24/hr internet access, fridge and kitchenette. There is also free parking in a secured area.

While we were in Cape Town we checked out other areas like Sea Point, Camps Bay etc but seriously would not stay anywhere else but the Hippo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road, Gardens, | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#40 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town’s trendy café culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you’ll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from a simple fresh menu at Mano a Mano to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.