We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect home base in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hippo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Hippo Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-9 Park Road, Gardens, | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“The perfect home base in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

This hotel is in a hip neighbourhood just on the edge of downtown. The area is central but less gritty than the downtown core. There are trendy cafes, bars, restaurants and boutiques surrounding the hotel. Plus there's a Woolworth's next door to get your essentials for your holiday. The neighbourhood is really what sells me on the Hippo.

The rooms are clean, modern and surprisingly quiet (given the close proximity to the entertainment district). You get your own wifi hub in your room, which means great reception. The furniture is all new, and cool looking. You kinda feel like you're in a trendy loft apartment.

The staff were all very helpful when we were looking for tips of how to see the city. They offered free parking, which was nice, though I wasn't brave enough to drive on the opposite side of the road.

The place felt very secure, and cared-for. Overall a good stay, and I feel it was a good value.

Room Tip: Be sure to try Knead, next door - great coffee and bread There's a Woolworth's next door to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    61
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
97
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, UK
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Having stayed had an extended stay here of well over a week I think that I have a balanced experience. First and foremost, the staff is unbelievable. We arranged several day trips, transfers, early morning and late night departures, etc. and nothing was ever a problem.

When our departing flight was cancelled the day it was due to depart the staff was great with helping us sort out our continued stay and a few other details.

The rooms are stylish, clean and have everything you could possibly need. With an extended stay in particular this is most helpful and with two grocery shops nearby as well as plenty of restaurants there is a wealth of choices for dining.

I cannot thank Fiona and the staff nearly enough because it was their service that really made this place a star.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I love staying at the Hippo. It's very central and they have secure off street parking so you can just leave your car and go out on foot. The area is very vibey with a big choice of great local restaurants. Warda and Fiona go out of their way to make sure you enjoy your stay. Lovely, well appointed, modern rooms. It can get quite noisy outside on a Friday/ Saturday night but it's not all that noisy inside. And the aircon was a godsend. I have stayed here before and I'm looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in the perfect position to stay in Cape Town. There are at least 9 restaurants within walking distance from this hotel. The staff are amazing! Nothing is too much trouble for them. The rooms are huge and modern with everything you need. Although this is a busy vibey area, the rooms are nice and quiet. There is free internet of good quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hippotique, Manager at Hippo Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you ever so much for taking the time and providing us with this lovely review.
We cannot tell you enough how much we appreciate it.

Trust we will see you again soon!

Regards
Warda, Fiona & Caoife
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

My husband and myself stayed at the Hippo for 14 days in July and would thoroughly recommend it. The hotel is very safe and the staff cannot do enough to make sure your stay is enjoyable. Downstairs there are numerous restaurants to choose from and within a minute you also have access to a bakery, supermarket and chemist. Our hotel room was very clean and spacious with 24/hr internet access, fridge and kitchenette. There is also free parking in a secured area.

While we were in Cape Town we checked out other areas like Sea Point, Camps Bay etc but seriously would not stay anywhere else but the Hippo.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place with three restaurants with really good food on the premises. Good location close to table mountain. Staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. Really buzzing outside with the bars and restaurants but our room was at the back and lovely and quiet. Safe parking for your car too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed one night. Its centrally located. Good service from the management and staff. Excellent restaurants downstairs. Car parking right on the premises is very convenient, its also just a 5 minute drive to the waterfront.
The rooms are good and clean. Sparsely decorated in a very Hip fashion.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back as the rooms near the road can get noisy as with any city centre hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Antrim Villa
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
City Bowl
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Plac...
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 601 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cascades on the Promenade
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 814 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#17 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road, Gardens, | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#45 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.