We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hippo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Hippo Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-9 Park Road, Gardens, | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter in Cape Town
Ranked #43 of 106 Hotels in Cape Town Central
galway
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

Lovely place with three restaurants with really good food on the premises. Good location close to table mountain. Staff couldn't be more helpful or friendly. Really buzzing outside with the bars and restaurants but our room was at the back and lovely and quiet. Safe parking for your car too.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    59
    17
    4
    1
See reviews for
10
97
14
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Stayed one night. Its centrally located. Good service from the management and staff. Excellent restaurants downstairs. Car parking right on the premises is very convenient, its also just a 5 minute drive to the waterfront.
The rooms are good and clean. Sparsely decorated in a very Hip fashion.

Room Tip: Book a room at the back as the rooms near the road can get noisy as with any city centre hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tignes
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

Don't bother trawling the web - just book into Hippo, trust me. Fiona and Warda could not have been more friendly, welcoming and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. It's centrally located, really close to Long Street with its myriad bars, restaurants and shops. If, like us, you've gone out and done loads in the day and don't want to move too far, there are 3 very good restaurants right next door to the hotel.

The rooms are uber-cool - leather seats, connected computers, flatscreens, enormous double bed, pristine bathroom and kitchenette, and chic decor that wouldn't look out of place at a design convention. Couple that with excellent value, and you're on to a sure-fire winner. Exceptional hotel - keep it up guys, and thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Lovely room - ours had a view of Table Mountain. Funky furniture and useful to have a kitchenette. No hob, but it had a microwave, kettle, fridge etc. there is a food store just around the corner if needed and Long and Loop St are great to walk down. Loads of good shops and restaurants. And the hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. Definitely 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had just a one day/night stopover in Cape Town and I was happy we chose to stay at the Hippo Boutique Hotel. It is centrally located in a great part of town, very close to all of the shops and restaurants on Long Street but far enough away to feel that you are in a relaxed little neighborhood in Cape Town. There are also plenty of boutiques, restaurants, and grocery stores within minutes of the hotel. The hotel itself has a modern and trendy feel to it. We had one of the standard rooms which was large and comfortable. The wifi worked well, which is always a plus.

The staff is great, very friendly and welcoming. One morning the shower in our room ran out of hot water and the woman at the front desk immediately arranged for him to have access to one of the suites so that he could take a shower. The best part of our stay here, however, was the price. We paid $100 US dollars for the night, which is a great value for the location and quality of the hotel/room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoy visiting this hotel and would highly recommend that you visit to experience it for yourself. The rooms are trendy and well maintained, the staff is friendly and it is conveniently situated close to the City Center, V&A waterfront and Table Mountain. This hotel is the ultimate place for long stays as their rooms are equipped with a kitchenette and even a computer which you won't find in many hotels. Awesome place and cant wait to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a pretty long stay in Cape Town (almost 2 weeks) at this hotel, long enough to observe any possible shortfall. There were none. Excellent location in Gardens, walking distance to downtown, Long St., and a number of attractions. The hotel room itself was comfortable and immaculate, with kitchenette, WIFI and a computer in our room. Despite the lively restaurant/bar scene surrounding the hotel, we were never bothered.

But the real plus for this hotel (and why I give it a 5 rating) is its staff. What a remarkable group of people staffing this hotel. The desk is open and ready to support guests 24 hours. They help arrange tours, transport, and have a lot of good advice about the area and Cape Town in general. They never, ever failed to work with us on anything we needed and were really attentive on communicating between us and our host during our stay. They arranged our transport to and from the airport and even provided us with extra space and comfort as we waited for our evening flight.

I am sure there are other places to stay in Cape Town, but I don't need to know about them because I will always return to the Hippo Boutique Hotel and would advise anyone to do so for comfort, security, price, help, and all that makes a visit to Cape Town memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cape Town Central hotels
Antrim Villa
#26 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 269 reviews
City Bowl
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Place Hotel & Spa
Three Cities Mandela Rhodes Plac...
#39 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 600 reviews
City Bowl
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
Derwent House Boutique Hotel
#4 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cascades on the Promenade
#16 of 106 in Cape Town Central
4.5 of 5 stars 247 reviews
An African Villa
#7 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 813 reviews
Cape Heritage Hotel
#18 of 106 in Cape Town Central
5.0 of 5 stars 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Address: 5-9 Park Road, Gardens, | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#42 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#44 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town's trendy cafe culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you'll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from the best burgers at Jerry's to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Venere, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.