We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky hotel in a great part of town. Definitely somewhere we'd go back to” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hippo Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Hippo Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hippo Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5-9 Park Road, Gardens, | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 120 hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Funky hotel in a great part of town. Definitely somewhere we'd go back to”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

Lovely room - ours had a view of Table Mountain. Funky furniture and useful to have a kitchenette. No hob, but it had a microwave, kettle, fridge etc. there is a food store just around the corner if needed and Long and Loop St are great to walk down. Loads of good shops and restaurants. And the hotel staff couldn't be more helpful. Definitely 5 stars!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    49
    28
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
5
48
9
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had just a one day/night stopover in Cape Town and I was happy we chose to stay at the Hippo Boutique Hotel. It is centrally located in a great part of town, very close to all of the shops and restaurants on Long Street but far enough away to feel that you are in a relaxed little neighborhood in Cape Town. There are also plenty of boutiques, restaurants, and grocery stores within minutes of the hotel. The hotel itself has a modern and trendy feel to it. We had one of the standard rooms which was large and comfortable. The wifi worked well, which is always a plus.

The staff is great, very friendly and welcoming. One morning the shower in our room ran out of hot water and the woman at the front desk immediately arranged for him to have access to one of the suites so that he could take a shower. The best part of our stay here, however, was the price. We paid $100 US dollars for the night, which is a great value for the location and quality of the hotel/room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

We thoroughly enjoy visiting this hotel and would highly recommend that you visit to experience it for yourself. The rooms are trendy and well maintained, the staff is friendly and it is conveniently situated close to the City Center, V&A waterfront and Table Mountain. This hotel is the ultimate place for long stays as their rooms are equipped with a kitchenette and even a computer which you won't find in many hotels. Awesome place and cant wait to stay again!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We had a pretty long stay in Cape Town (almost 2 weeks) at this hotel, long enough to observe any possible shortfall. There were none. Excellent location in Gardens, walking distance to downtown, Long St., and a number of attractions. The hotel room itself was comfortable and immaculate, with kitchenette, WIFI and a computer in our room. Despite the lively restaurant/bar scene surrounding the hotel, we were never bothered.

But the real plus for this hotel (and why I give it a 5 rating) is its staff. What a remarkable group of people staffing this hotel. The desk is open and ready to support guests 24 hours. They help arrange tours, transport, and have a lot of good advice about the area and Cape Town in general. They never, ever failed to work with us on anything we needed and were really attentive on communicating between us and our host during our stay. They arranged our transport to and from the airport and even provided us with extra space and comfort as we waited for our evening flight.

I am sure there are other places to stay in Cape Town, but I don't need to know about them because I will always return to the Hippo Boutique Hotel and would advise anyone to do so for comfort, security, price, help, and all that makes a visit to Cape Town memorable.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Petersburg, Florida, United States
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We thought this place offered great value. The staff was very helpful. My wife and I were in one of their suite rooms and my parents were in another. Both were very nice. The suite locations were quiet though I could see that some of the rooms might be noisier if facing towards the restaurants on the block. The location is great. I would describe the hotel as modern and hip so maybe not the best place for a quiet get away, but its great if you want to be centrally located around the different activities in Cape Town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hippo on our Honeymoon and we couldn't recommend it enough.
It's central location gives you ease of access to all of the sites including Table Mountain and the V&A as well as all the local bars and restaurants on Long Street.
The staff are what truly makes the hotel special Wanda, Fiona etc couldn't be more helpful from booking taxi's, shark dives or giving restaurant recommendations.
The room was spacious and clean and while there was no view - who cares, this is Cape Town, get out an explore!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

we stayed at the Hippo for a few days a couple of weeks ago and had a great time.

The room was large and clean. Nice bathroom.

It was quiet and the staff was helpful.

the only bad thing would be the pool area.. it could do with some improvement.

we tried one of the restaurants downstairs, GREEN and it was great, some amazing pizzas.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hippo Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hippo Boutique Hotel

Also Known As:
Hippo Boutique Cape Town
Hippo Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa
Address: 5-9 Park Road, Gardens, | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8018, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hippo Boutique Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the hub of Cape Town’s trendy café culture when staying at Hippo Boutique Hotel. This popular hotel boasts 20 standard rooms and 5 exclusive lofts - all spacious air-conditioned rooms are equipped with King sized beds, designer furniture, stainless steel kitchenettes, complimentary parking on the premises as well as 24hour wireless internet access keeping you connected 24 hours a day!On the ground floor you’ll find a choice of 3 excellent restaurants catering to every palette, from a simple fresh menu at Mano a Mano to authentic Thai cuisine at Simply Asia finishing with a Mexican fiesta at Fat Cactus. Hippo is conveniently situated close to the centre of town - an ideal base from where you can explore all Cape Town has to offer you! Our team is well known for their exceptional customer service and are always ready with a smile. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Splendia, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hippo Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hippo Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.