We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A serene oasis at the top of De Waterkant Village in Capetown South Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 17 on Loader Guest House

Save Saved
You added 17 on Loader Guest House to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
17 on Loader Guest House
17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Los Ageles
1 review
“A serene oasis at the top of De Waterkant Village in Capetown South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2011

Everything about this establisment was done well. The staff are very accomodating and helpful. The room was quiet, comfortable and clean. The common areas were elegantly and tastfully furnished. The morning meal service was plenitiful, fresh and delicious. The location is perfect for all, in the heart of Waterkant, close to downtown, waterfront, shopping, recreation, nightlife, hikes and all that capetown has to offer are within a very short drive or walk... I found this place to be a serene oasis in the heart of it all.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
26
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

The staff working there were very friendly. Special thanks to Anthony & Barbara.
The room was excellent. It was so comfortable that we felt like we were at home. We booked a standard room but upgraded to a superior one. Thanks Dirk.
Location is the safest, chich and the most sophisticated area of the city. Free tea and coffee offer 7/24 is very nice.
Overall, our stay was an excellent experience. Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2011

We have recently returned from a 6 night stay at 17 On Loader before going on to tour the rest of the Western Cape. We can thoroughly recommend this guest house as a great place to stay in Cape Town. Dirk and his staff (in particular Antony and Barbara) were extremely helpful. We are really missing our breakfasts in the morning sunshine on the private terrace in front of our room (17D). We appreciated the added bonus of having a secure place to leave our hire car as it was only a short walk to use the Hop On-Hop Off Bus and Railway services to see the surrounding areas without having to drive in the manic city traffic. There is also an abundance of excellent local restaurants and the V&A is only a 20 minute walk away or a short taxi ride.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sundsvall, Sweden
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2011

With a perfect location this guesthouse is the best place to stay when you're in Capetown. Waterkaant feels safe and you can walk to shops and restaurants, even in the evening! I highly recommend 17 on loader guest house!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2011

Right from the beginning we felt at home at 17 on Loader. The staff was really at our beck and call and was very patient with us. We made the most of the gay nightlife and slept well into the afternoon most days, but that was no problem for the cleaning staff. The rooms were fresh and clean, especially 19b, where we stayed the first three days. Although lacking an en suite bathroom, a large bathroom across the hall was reserved for us. Breakfast was delivered to our door each morning in a wicker basket, and a well-priced selection of beers, ciders and wines was available in the honour bar.

Expect to pay a bit more for this guest house as the service and location are second to none. And some rooms are definitely better than others (our second room - 19c - had a window just next to the terrace where our neighbours took their breakfast). But the extra cost is well-worth it! And even the "worst" rooms are a cut above the rest in this price bracket.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

Makes me wonder why I've wasted so much money on hotels when 17 on Loader was such amazing value for money. The staff are superb and always helpful, even offering to walk with me to the nearest cash point when I first arrived and didn't know my way around.
My room was clean and stylish, as was the whole guest house. There's a roof terrace which is perfect if you want to sit outdoors and have your breakfast, or evening drinks with friends. Speaking of breakfast, it doesn't get any better than waking up to a breakfast basket outside your door......
The location is just perfect also. It's within walking distance of town, or a 10min cab ride to the waterfront, and the streets surrounding the guesthouse are full of quaint eating spots and boutique shops.
I highly recommend 17 on Loader and it's perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

A very stylishand tastefully decorated boutique guest house, well run by very friendly, helpful and welcoming people. Good location, excellent value, plenty of good restaurants within walking distance, secure off- street parking. Definitely to be recommended

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to 17 on Loader Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 on Loader Guest House

Address: 17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is conveniently situated within a 10 minute walk to the city centre, the Cape Town International Convention Centre, the V&A Waterfront, several health spas and some of Cape Town's most popular restaurants and nightclubs. De Waterkant is considered to be a safe area, and is patrolled by security guards 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Otel so you can book your 17 on Loader Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 On Loader Guest House Hotel Cape Town Central
17 On Loader Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 17 on Loader Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.