We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful place to relax” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 17 on Loader Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added 17 on Loader Guest House to your Saves list
17 on Loader Guest House
4.5 of 5 Guest house   |   17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #92 of 154 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Hamburg, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful place to relax”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

After having stayed in quite some hotels in Johannesburg and Cape Town I found a perfect place to retreat and enjoy the beauty of Cape Town. The position is beautiful, rooms are lovely and the breakfast is wonderful. Will come back again soon

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
26
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

I think the guesthouse as a whole is beautiful. The position is perfect, loved that secure parking is provided, the bedrooms are beautifully decorated, the bed is better than mine at home and the kitchen facilities are perfect. I did not use the roof terrace this time, but will certainly do so in warmer weather.

I have two suggestions: the first is that you offer another international TV news channel be it BBC,CNN or Skye and make sure that the M-Net movie channel works, and secondly, that staff are contactable should the need arrive. I fully understand that it is a guesthouse and that staff are not there on a 24hr basis, but just feel that guests should be able to speak with a staff member if so required. Adrian and Benjamin are just divine, but were not easy to find. I suggest that whoever is on duty should be available around breakfast time and then offer a number for later in the day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

I really enjoyed my stay in this Guest house, the view from the roof is totally stunning and it's a pleasure to have the breakfast on the roof. All the staff are really friendly and they are really happy to speak with the guest, to give somes advices or just to speak about Cape Town, I truly enjoyed it and i will definitely be back !

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed five nights in the guest house. The breakfast was very good and delivered to the door every morning. The rooftop terrace had great views when the weather was nice. When the weather was cold, the rooms were a bit chilly because there is no heat. The guest house is safe and in a good location; it's a 15-minute walk or a 5-minute taxi ride to the V&A Waterfront or the Castle of Good Hope. The staff are friendly but the rooms didn't get a thorough cleaning every day - just a touch-up. There are safes in the rooms, along with TVs and electric kettles. We would go back to 17 on Loader if we return to Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

This very reasonable (at least in winter) guesthouse is in a charming and safe neighbourhood. The rooms are quirky and appealing, but have everything you need (e.g. great bathroom.) The folks are very kind and helpful. The breakfast is fine, but sitting having your coffee on the roof and watching the sun come up over CT and slowly light up Table Mountain -- that's priceless. Only complaint is that the wi-fi didn't really work, which I hope they will fix. If you need a very reasonably priced driver to take you round Cape Point and Wine District, ask Dirk about Jimmy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

I stayed at 17 on loader twice this year and l now call it home when I am in Cape Town. The house is conveniently located, close to all the nice cafes and restaurants on a quite street at the top of a small hill but still surprisingly very quite. The icing on the cake is the roof terrace with magnificient a view of Table Mountain and the city.
You can walk into town fairly easily and Waterkant is a very safe neighbourhood even at night
They staff is extremely welcoming too! Coffee lovers would be pleased to hear that unlike other guest houses or hotels you can come across in Africa they serve decent coffee in the morning. A definate fantastic value for money. Book it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

I have been staying in Cape Town a few times over the last years but 17 On Loader sure will be the one address to go back to!
In many guest houses, lodges and B & Bs, it appears to be tricky to get the balance right between letting a (solo) traveler enjoy being alone and yet being there when she/he does welcome a chat and needs some advise or help. In 17 On Loader no problem, they instictively seemed to when to stand back and when to approach me. Their original idea to deposit your breakfast in a basket in front of your door, and leaving you subsequently to choose your own spot to munch away the contents (after having received some suggestions on arrival), is grand. The lovely arrangement on the roof sure beats a lot of other places - what a view of the mountain, what a sense of solitude, what a place to read a book, scribble a postcard or just dream away whilst staring at the changing clouds hovering around the peaks and cliffs! I also much loved the eco-friendly amenities.

Room Tip: Ask for room in the main house
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to 17 on Loader Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 on Loader Guest House

Address: 17 Loader Street | De Waterkant, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — 17 on Loader Guest House 4.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is conveniently situated within a 10 minute walk to the city centre, the Cape Town International Convention Centre, the V&A Waterfront, several health spas and some of Cape Town's most popular restaurants and nightclubs. De Waterkant is considered to be a safe area, and is patrolled by security guards 24 hours a day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your 17 on Loader Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 On Loader Guest House Hotel Cape Town Central
17 On Loader Guest House Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 17 on Loader Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.