We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel all around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sugar Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 105 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel all around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Some travel friends stayed at SugarHotel 3 nights before meeting up with our tour group. First we indulged in the jet lag spa special, which was absolutely worth the money! The rooms are spacious & well appointed (the soaker tub & heated floors were fabulous). We looked forward to breakfast each morning in the lovely dining room.The staff so warm, welcoming & helpful, which makes you feel at home in a new city. They also recommended a private tour guide who was absolutely wonderful. Thank you Sugar Hotel for a lovely stay...

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    43
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
141
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We spent 5 nights in the Sugar Hotel in Cape Town, and it was a real jewel. We were here for a conference and it's a good walk to the Conf Ctr. Breakfast was perfect, the staff could not have been more helpful. It was less expensive that the other hotels I looked at but the others could not have been more perfect.
We were in room Two (out of 7) overlooking the pool. Others have remarked on the road noise but we did not find it at all troublesome.
Without reservation, I can say that if you want an intimate hotel with all the amenities, you can not go wrong at the Sugar.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

My husband and I spent 2 nights at the Sugar Hotel with our 2 year old son. We really enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay here again. Nkosi was amazing, he made us feel extremely welcome and was very accommodating - Which is always appreciated when travelling with a child! The room and bathroom were both lovely and spacious. The bed was very comfortable! The breakfast was amazing! We would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here for 8 days basically happy, however a few issues and we want to give an honest review that may help them to address these in the future:
If you are used to staying in hotels then you will find this as a high-end B&B. I am comparing this to the price bracket of this establisment as well.
Pros:
- Excellent breakfast as mentioned by many guests, it is true! Best breakfast we have had compared to many places.
- Excellent Service from Nkosi and Oncemore (other members not so good, average)
Good Location, however not the safest area and certainly would not recommend this area for girls or families. (I know as I am from Cape Town originally and spoke to some of my local friends as well, whose eyebrows went up when I said I was staying in Green Point). So do be careful here.
- Nice Spacious Bathroom (Room 5)

Cons:
- We were promised a room with a pool when we originally booked, therefore booked a more expensive room(with a pool), however when we arrived it was an empty pool and were given no prior notice or acceptable apology, except that's the way it is...Like what can you do now, you are already here...
- Airconditioning was not working when we arrived, no prior notice, and only when we requested it, was it then fixed.
- Safe enclosed parking, however limited to only 4 parking bays and when we arrived one evening after 11.45pm, we had to park outside in the street, due to no more parking spaces being available.
- Room Service average and inconsistent, as we twice had to go downstairs in the evening to request toilet rolls.

In conclusion, overall good, however would not really stay here again compared to other options available in this price catergory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This Boutique hotel in cape town ticks all the boxes. Extremely friendly and hospitable staff ensured our stay was perfect.
The rooms were clean, quiet and extremely spacious, the bathroom was enormous and filled with luxurious amenities. The bed was large & comfy which made for an easy nights sleep after a long flight from Sydney.
Location was spot on, short drive from the airport, short walk to the V&A waterfront and only a short drive to table mountain.
With a lovely breakfast & safe/secure parking it really is impossible to fault this hotel.
My one regret is that we only booked 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a birthday celebration here and enjoyed the atmosphere, personal service, great facilities and fantastic food beautifully presented. Highly recommended, but it is a small intimate venue, so reservations are advised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stunning little gem of a hotel, check in painless, room very spacious, beautifully decorated with a lovely large bathroom. Enormous, comfortable bed, although pillow was not great! Recommend to reserve parking if you have a car as off street parking is limited and a bit of a squeeze. Breakfast fantastic - beautifully presented and included in the price of your room. Would have loved a nespresso or equivalent little coffee machine in the room. Overall had a great stay and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town for business of pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#26 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill – the "rump" of fabled Lion’s Head mountain. Whether you’re visiting for business or pleasure, you’ll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc’s Table, our in-house restaurant overlooking the pool, offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Splendia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.