We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather a very Upmarket B&B with an excellent breakfast!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sugar Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Tallinn, Estonia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Rather a very Upmarket B&B with an excellent breakfast!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Stayed here for 8 days basically happy, however a few issues and we want to give an honest review that may help them to address these in the future:
If you are used to staying in hotels then you will find this as a high-end B&B. I am comparing this to the price bracket of this establisment as well.
Pros:
- Excellent breakfast as mentioned by many guests, it is true! Best breakfast we have had compared to many places.
- Excellent Service from Nkosi and Oncemore (other members not so good, average)
Good Location, however not the safest area and certainly would not recommend this area for girls or families. (I know as I am from Cape Town originally and spoke to some of my local friends as well, whose eyebrows went up when I said I was staying in Green Point). So do be careful here.
- Nice Spacious Bathroom (Room 5)

Cons:
- We were promised a room with a pool when we originally booked, therefore booked a more expensive room(with a pool), however when we arrived it was an empty pool and were given no prior notice or acceptable apology, except that's the way it is...Like what can you do now, you are already here...
- Airconditioning was not working when we arrived, no prior notice, and only when we requested it, was it then fixed.
- Safe enclosed parking, however limited to only 4 parking bays and when we arrived one evening after 11.45pm, we had to park outside in the street, due to no more parking spaces being available.
- Room Service average and inconsistent, as we twice had to go downstairs in the evening to request toilet rolls.

In conclusion, overall good, however would not really stay here again compared to other options available in this price catergory.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    41
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
29
126
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

This Boutique hotel in cape town ticks all the boxes. Extremely friendly and hospitable staff ensured our stay was perfect.
The rooms were clean, quiet and extremely spacious, the bathroom was enormous and filled with luxurious amenities. The bed was large & comfy which made for an easy nights sleep after a long flight from Sydney.
Location was spot on, short drive from the airport, short walk to the V&A waterfront and only a short drive to table mountain.
With a lovely breakfast & safe/secure parking it really is impossible to fault this hotel.
My one regret is that we only booked 2 nights.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We had a birthday celebration here and enjoyed the atmosphere, personal service, great facilities and fantastic food beautifully presented. Highly recommended, but it is a small intimate venue, so reservations are advised.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset West, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stunning little gem of a hotel, check in painless, room very spacious, beautifully decorated with a lovely large bathroom. Enormous, comfortable bed, although pillow was not great! Recommend to reserve parking if you have a car as off street parking is limited and a bit of a squeeze. Breakfast fantastic - beautifully presented and included in the price of your room. Would have loved a nespresso or equivalent little coffee machine in the room. Overall had a great stay and would highly recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town for business of pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoedspruit, South Africa
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

WOW is all we could say! From the moment we stepped inside this amazing little hotel we felt at home! It smelled so welcoming and fresh. The room was fantastic as well the service! The food was always very good and well presented. We were welcomed by Nkosi, the check in was wow. Would Definitely recommend this hotel to anybody that would like to be at home away from home in a luxury environment!! Nkosi and oncemore... Weldone!! to the whole team WELL DONE! you will definitely see us again!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Almost everything was perfect during our 5 nights stay at this great hotel in Cape Town.

We had a luxury room, both bedroom and bathroom were really spacious and attention to detail was every where. Deco is sobre and classy.

Although the hotel is small, whenever you arrive, someone is immediately there.

Breakfast was good, with a plus for the "Egg benedict with salmon"!

We were really happy of our stay there, and might stay again there on our next trip to Cape Town.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed one night as this great hotel after a wedding in the wine region. The rooms were excellent (2 rooms, 2 couples, all OAP's!) could have had a party in the bathroom, all furnished and decorated to a high standard with everything provided.
The breakfast was excellent plenty of choice including very healthy options.
We were greeted by Oncemore, yes that is his name, who along with the rest of the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful, they even washed the car for us before we took it back to the hire company.
An easy walk to the waterfront would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill – the "rump" of fabled Lion’s Head mountain. Whether you’re visiting for business or pleasure, you’ll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc’s Table, our in-house restaurant overlooking the pool, offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.