We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sugar Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We stayed one night as this great hotel after a wedding in the wine region. The rooms were excellent (2 rooms, 2 couples, all OAP's!) could have had a party in the bathroom, all furnished and decorated to a high standard with everything provided.
The breakfast was excellent plenty of choice including very healthy options.
We were greeted by Oncemore, yes that is his name, who along with the rest of the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful, they even washed the car for us before we took it back to the hire company.
An easy walk to the waterfront would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    41
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
30
127
30
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
JHB
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed at the wonderfully located Sugar Hotel during the Easter weekend and after completing the "most beautiful marathon in the world" were spoilt by a lovely massage in their spa! The friendly staff, gorgeous cappuccinos, healthy breakfasts and stunning rooms made our stay all the more special! Thank you for all your finer touches and friendly smiles! We'll be back!

Room Tip: Room 4 or 5 with beautiful view of the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We had a terrific stay here. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent with a stylish bathroom, decoration, small private pool at the balcony and a very good bed. They also serve the best breakfast I had in a hotel in S.A. Location also great, close to the Waterkant and Waterfront. If I had to mention something: the bed linen was a little worn and some loose tiles at the swimming pool. Would definitely come back here!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maputo, Maputo, Mozambique
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Me and my husband stayed at the Sugar Hotel for a mini honeymoon break right after our wedding and we loved it. We stayed in room 7, which was a lovely large room and had a massive bathroom with a great tub. The Hotel is really well located, just about a 15 minute walk from the Waterfront (it was great weather while we were there, so we walked everywhere). The breakfast was also delicious, and the staff were always super helpful and really friendly. Thanks again for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

My fiance' and I recently stayed at the Sugar Hotel March 17th - 21st. I had researched the hotel on Tripadvisor beforehand, and the hotel was everything that we had hoped for. Oncemore and Nkosi were so helpful. The hotel itself is clean, bright, and beautifully decorated. We had room #7 and it was large, as was the bathroom. Everything was up to date and the wireless was reliable and fast. The breakfast options were delicious and fresh. It was only a 5 minute taxi ride to the V&A Waterfront, and walking distance from a fantastic grocery store, Spar. It was truly a pleasure staying there, and we would fully recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

We had a nice stay in the sugar hotel last february.

Nice spacious room and luxurious bathroom

Breakfast is great and they have a nice little pool

Hotel is at a busy street and its about 20/25 minute walk to waterfront and 20 to city centre

Good service and very safe place

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Because we have done so much unmemorable business travel we love the more personal feeling associated with smaller hotels/guest houses. For us Sugar Hotel was perfect. Stylish and comfortably large rooms, well located, available and helpful staff, plus beautiful breakfasts in an elegant setting. Many thanks to Nikosi & Oncemore for taking such good care of us.

Room Tip: It is adjacent to a busy street so you may want to request a room at the back of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#22 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#27 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill – the "rump" of fabled Lion’s Head mountain. Whether you’re visiting for business or pleasure, you’ll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc’s Table, our in-house restaurant overlooking the pool, offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.