We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sugar Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Sugar Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sugar Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

You can tell that great thought went into every detail of this boutique hotel. The rooms are modern and high-end, yet extremely comfortable. The hot breakfasts to order were a delicious way to start the day. The owners and staff are by far the biggest plus of this hotel! They went out of their way to make sure that our stay at the hotel and in Cape Town was fantastic. Overall, beautiful hotel in a great location with fantastic service. I will definitely return next time I'm in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    43
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
140
30
33
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape town
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We were 4 friends staying at Sugar hotel for 2 nights 5/6 July 2013 What an experience from the time we arrived the staff treated us as if we were the only guest around they helped with our luggage and made us feel welcome. Nkosi was great and the breakfast was wonderful.

I would have loved to enjoy dinner at the hotel. The spa was great I will definitely be back.

Room Tip: I will recommend the Sugar hotel to all my friends, and I will be back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sugar Hotel for 2 nights. We got there really late on the Thursday night, it was pleasant to see that they were expecting us, and the "porter" went to the extent of carrying our luggage up the stairs at 11pm! The room was great, loved the balcony and the bathroom/shower. The towels didnt smell freshly laundered though (that's the only downside throughout our stay at the hotel).

Breakfast is definitely something to look forward to at the Sugar Hotel. Loved it.

Location is very convenient.

Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguacu, PR
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Stayed at the Sugar Hotel for 5 nights as a hub for business meetings around Cape Town / Western Cape.

The hotel is in an ideal location in Green Point, very easy to find as it is located on the corner of main road / boundary road if driving. Cab drivers not always aware of it by name but they do know the larger Castle Hotel next door (not as nice as the Sugar Hotel though).

The rooms are large / clean and well appointed. There was nothing I could think of that had not already been provided, the bathrooms are also large with twin sinks and good shower room.

Free Wifi supplied and was better than most i've experience.

The staff are friendly and very approachable and answered all questions / advice etc.

Breakfast between 7-11am was excellent and greatly appreciated, service was very good.

We used the secure car park (room for 4 cars, so ensure you book a space if driving). The location means it is easy to walk / drive / cab to Waterfront, Table Mountain, Camps Bay, Hout Bay etc.

There are plenty of restaurants / bars in walking distance and the area (main road) is pretty safe and well lit.

There were some negatives:-
- We arrived in the evening and were not offered any welcome drink and I carried my own bags up two flights of stairs to my room. I am sure I could of raised this at the time and it would of been resolved (if I'd known about it), but tired from a flight I just wanted to check into the room as fast as possible.
- The website suggests that lunch / dinner / drinks by the pool are available - You need to advise the staff that you want lunch / dinner in the morning! It is a shame that staff do not service during the day and this differs from similar Boutique hotels which do generally service food /drink during the day. The rooms do have a well stocked minibar though and nibbles are also supplied. For this reason I have only marked the hotel as "very good" and not excellent.

The above are not enough to prevent me from highly recommending the hotel or potentially rebooking on my regular visits to Cape Town.

Room Tip: The hotel does face "main road" and hence rooms facing the road are noisier than those fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights 24/25 June 2013 and everything about this hotel was excellent. Service, friendliness of staff, breakfast and our room was all superlative. Location of the hotel close to the Waterfront was also very convenient - a inexpensive taxi ride away. Cant wait to return when we are next in Cape Town.

Room Tip: Our corner suite was large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama, Bahrain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

There aren't enough superlatives to describe our experience at this hotel. The staff was super attentive, the breakfasts divine, the custom-offered tours and private car beyond belief, and the location simply perfect. This was my first time in Cape Town, and I was worried about booking a boutique experience, but the Sugar Hotel was the absolute right decision. Great value for the quality of service. Absolutely nothing negative in any aspect.

Room Tip: There are only seven rooms and I've read that one has a private jacuzzi...sounds like a good pic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed over on 15 June and everything about this 7-room boutique hotel impressed us so much that we can't wait to return! We were warmly greeted by Nkosi who checked us in and showed us around the hotel while Billie Holiday wafted in the background. The decor is fresh and modern, but still warm and inviting. We were lucky enough to be booked into Room 4 which is one of 2 rooms with private patios and plunge pools.The room was a fair size with an enormous bed large enough to sleep a small village! *Bliss* Adjoining the bedroom was a dressing room (with armoire) and a large bathroom with a deep soaker tub, shower big enough for 2 (or 3), underfloor heating, and Charlotte Rhys products. Clearly no expense was spared to make this a pleasurable and sensory experience for guests and we struggled to keep our eyes open in that comfy bed. We reluctantly dragged ourselves out of bed for Breakfast the next morning but the sun streaming into the dining room, and the lovely view over the patio and lap pool soon warmed our hearts. Breakfast started with fresh fruit, granola and yoghurt and was followed by a warm breakfast of our choice. I had a feta & bacon omelette, and hubby had the full English breakfast - both were excellent and it was the perfect way to end off our stay. We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 5 have private patios and plunge pools
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sugar Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sugar Hotel & Spa

Address: 1 Main Road, Corner Main & Boundary Roads | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#23 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#24 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#30 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sugar Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sophisticated mix of raw brick, woods, stainless steel, porcelain tiles and glass sets us apart in style. Minutes from the Cape Quarter, V&A Waterfront, World Cup Stadium, Convention Centre, and a refreshing range of restaurants and night life. Enjoy our perfect position in the heart of the mother city. Retreat to a cocoon of comfort with natural fabrics and earth tones in our luxury en suite rooms. Enjoy spacious bathrooms with large showers for your private indulgence. Twin basins. Heated towel rails. We believe in the detail. Choose a view: Pool, Waterfront or Mountain? The quiet hillside suites, each with their private plunge pool, look onto Signal Hill – the "rump" of fabled Lion’s Head mountain. Whether you’re visiting for business or pleasure, you’ll be well looked after. Pamper yourself with one of our Wellness treatments or relax, sipping sundowners, on the pool deck. Marc’s Table, our in-house restaurant overlooking the pool, offers hearty breakfasts, light à la carte lunches and romantic dinners. Sip cognacs, after dark, in our cosy library. Sugar, for food requirements, provides a unique and specialized menu that suits any palette. We will prepare food to your request on instruction. Our daily menu is never the same, and warm hearty meals are prepared just for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Sugar Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sugar Hotel Cape Town Central
Sugar Hotel And Spa
Sugar Hotel & Spa Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sugar Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.