We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another backpacker with a quirky name” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   134 Long St, Cape Town Central 8010, South Africa   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Just another backpacker with a quirky name”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I stayed at Daddy Long Leg in April 2012 for 4 nights. It's located on a a busy st (Long St) full of shops, night life which is great. I booked it online after reading interesting mostly positive reviews. This might be a different review...
Location - easy access to Bokaap (10-15min walk), Greenmarket 2-3min, access to Waterfront 25-30min walk (I took taxis which is about 4-5$). I am always unhappy when I reach a hotel after a long journey and find there is no elevator...I got assistance, but the point is inconvenience. It's an old art deco kinda building. Secured entry which is good. But it becomes a party venue, noisy bar etc on most evenings. My first night I couldn't sleep as the bar noise went till 3-4am. The rooms are uniquely named (not numbered) and styled. I am all for independent style, quirks, funks, hippie-ness, cool stuff - but this place annoyed me. The decor was over the top. I guess it didn't give peaceful time but distracting sight into all the little quirks. Bath rooms wer ultra small (I had the ensuite). I dreaded showering in it but had to... Air con often didn't work. Street noise is not a major issue but the issue is the noise from the bar! Bed was ok, there was a TV - only if I could get it to work!
The guests are all backpackers (well at least the time when I was there). Travellers and tourists in their 20s. I might have been an odd one (late 30s) and seeking a bit more comfort. No breakfast, no restaurant/cafe, no ATM machine inside. Free coffee available though. Staff were very friendly and nice. Young staff I must add without uniform which is nice...I won't stay here again, but if you are backpacking and want little excitement during your stay, do choose it!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello There

Thanks so much for your feedback, we cherish all feedback from guests as this is one of the best ways we get to hear whether or not what we doing is loved and where we can tweak things to make guests stays with us all the better.

Just to address the slightly more negative comments, as our building is a heritage site, a lift is unfortunately never an option as it conflicts with building regulations, however, as you stated, you were assisted by our porter.

We have events every Friday night, live music on our balcony and make sure they never stretch later than 11pm, this is open for all guests, this is the rule for all events that happen here for that matter, so the fact that you were kept up until 3am or 4am is concerning and i do apologize on behalf of Daddy Long Legs for that.

All guests that stay with us have the choice of which room they would like to stay in, subject to availability, so we always suggest to all guests to check out the rooms first and choose which you would like to stay in, as if you are not wanting something over the top we have more down to earth rooms in our hotel.

All the best.

Kind Regards.
Jason Rodwell
GM
Daddy Long Legs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    21
    14
    0
See reviews for
4
64
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knysna, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

I have stayed at Daddy Long Legs three times now on business trips to Cape Town. I don't think the hotel is really aimed at the South African business traveler (I'm probably twice the age of most of the guests), but I enjoy staying there. It makes the overnight stay in Cape Town interesting and fun, and it is certainly different from staying in one of the big hotel brands, in which you could be anywhere in the world.

The decor is quirky and fun; the rooms are basic, but comfortable and clean. Free and fast wifi would be an improvement. The staff are friendly and fairly knowledgeable. I have not been disturbed by noise from inside or outside the hotel (quite surprisingly even when staying on the Long Street side at a busy time). I have always found parking in the street outside (admittedly I arrive late) and my hired car has always been fine in the morning. The breakfast place downstairs is not brilliant or cheap, but quite adequate and open from 6:30. (I have not been offered a R50 voucher, but I have claimed 10% discount as a Daddy Long Legs guest).

I love being able to walk to restaurants in Long Street, and for business meetings in the city the location is extremely convenient (the parking marshals can be persuaded to allow the car to stay in its street side parking place all day).

I will continue to make this my base for short trips to Cape Town and if I were asked to recommend a place for travelers to stay, especially young ones who want to get a taste of Cape Town's night life, I would strongly recommend Daddy Long Legs.

Room Tip: Take pot luck - each one is individually decorated - you might be surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello Michael

Thanks so much for your feedback and kind words about our Hotel, we cherish any feedback from guests, as this is one of the most important ways for us to make things better or to simply know that what we doing is loved by guests, glad you keep having amazing stays while you are with us. We are looking into faster and limited free wifi, so hopefully your next stay with us that will be updated.

Looking forward to welcoming you back next time.

All the best.

Kind Regards.
Jason Rodwell
GM
Daddy Long Legs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights in the sunset room and thought overall the place was pretty great! After the bars part of a month camping the showers were awesome. The staff were pretty helpful and it is in a great location on Long St so very easy to get to cafes, restaurants and shops without needing taxis.

We loved the concept of the place - each room with a different design/theme and wondered why it wasn't done more commonly in other hotels around the world (maybe it is??). I got a peek of the photo booth room and the karaoke room. Wow.

A couple of things though: the top floor is a long way up so if you have heavy bags be prepared for a hike; free use of computers in the reception area was good but wifi costs; no minibar or tv in the rooms (didn't bother us but it might for some).

Looking forward to our next stay.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Hello There

Thanks so much for your feedback, we cherish all feedback from guests, glad you had an amazing stay with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Be sure to check out the other rooms next time you stay with us.

All the best.

Kind Regards.
Jason Rodwell
GM
Daddy Long Legs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed at Daddy Long Legs in January 2012 in one of their self catering apartments and loved it. The apartment was bright, had plenty of room and everything we needed to make our stay comfortable. We were there for nearly a week and our room was cleaned and replenished everyday. The apartments are separate from the actual hotel on Long Street so you do need to walk a couple of blocks if you need to speak to someone at the front desk, however staff were friendly and helpful, so worth the walk.
I won't lie, it was a bit noisy with a bar/ restaurant directly underneath us and just the general commotion on Long Street. With that said, they do supply ear plugs and after the first night we didn't use them as we were used to it. I guess there has be some trade off on the great location.
We had a very pleasant stay at Daddy Long Legs who as far as I could tell offered some of the best value rooms in Cape Town.

http://postcardsfromzambia.blogspot.com/2012/01/south-africa-cape-town.html

Room Tip: If staying in one of the self-catering apartments, try to get one at the back of the building away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Hello Lauren

Thanks so much for your feedback and kind words, we cherish any feedback from guests, glad you had an amazing stay in our Apartments and hope to see you again soon. A special thanks also for sharing your blog post with us, i will be sure to post it on our Facebook page.

All the best.

Kind Regards.
Jason Rodwell
GM
Daddy Long Legs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

Very nice boutique hotel. All rooms are different. We stayed at the Karoke room. Great one

Room Tip: Karoke room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
Hello there!

Thanks so much for your feedback and kind words, we cherish any feedback from guests as this is the only way we can improve and grow, glad you had an amazing stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards.
Jason Rodwell
GM
Daddy Long Legs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

Great atmosphere - fantastic design - friendly staff - very clean - located in the heart of Cape Town

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Hi there!

Thanks so much for your feedback and kind words, we are so glad you had an amazing stay and hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards and again thank you for your feedback.
Jason Rodwell
GM
Daddy Long Legs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

After several weeks roughing it backpacking along the garden route, this amazing hotel was the perfect end to our trip. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly and the rooms were just plain awesome. Every room in this place was designed by a different local artist. We stayed in the do-not-disturb room which was essentially a karaoke themed place with several microphones including one in the bathroom. After a night out drinking on the main strip, we came back and sang for a while undoubtably annoying other people in the hotel. They also had a band play the friday we were there, I think they do that most weeks. It's definitely one of the cooler hotels I've been too and will absolutely recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jason R, General Manager at Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2012
Hello There

Thank you for your feedback, we do always value any sort of feedback, it really encourages us to better things here at Daddy Long Legs and shows us where we can make improvements.

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and will look forward to welcoming you back again sometime. With regards to the Do Not Disturb room, the room was actually made soundproof so that you can bring out the singer inside of you and not effect any other guests, positively or negatively :) Our Friday evening live music is every Friday, its what has been dubbed "Long Legs Friday" so if you do stay with us on a Friday night you can expect some early evening live music on our balcony.

Kind Regards and again thank you for your feedback.
Jason
GM
Daddy Long Legs
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel

Address: 134 Long St, Cape Town Central 8010, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staying in the Daddy Long Legs Independent Travellers Hotel is like being part of an interactive art exhibition. Each room is uniquely decorated by an artist, poet, photographer, designer or musician, creating different themes! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Daddy Long Legs Boutique
Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daddy Long Legs Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.