We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Urban hip in CT!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Diamond Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Cape Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Cape Diamond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   corner of Longmarket and Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #88 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Urban hip in CT!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2007

I was a little doubtful about staying in the City Bowl (downtown) as I ridiculously gave in to fear mongering and hearsay about dangers of the city leading up to my recent trip to S Africa. This place is a gem! I really felt like I was in the heart of a vibrant up-and-coming city. Small scale, friendly, and renovated only a year ago, one's first impression is of a slick, smart urban retreat. My room was very comfortable, clean, and simply but tastefully appointed. If air conditioning is a must then consider elsewhere; I was so happy to escape an English winter that the heat and effective ceiling fan were fine. There is a delightful small roof terrace and jacuzzi, offering an excellent view of Table Mountain and the city centre. The buffet breakfast served in the ground floor Patat restaurant, included in my room rate, was massive and was a cheery way to start the day; the terrace doors onto the street were open whcih provided great people watching. Patat does an excellent Afro-centric buffet lunch and dinner which represents excellent value. As a bonus, the entire property is NO SMOKING... hooray! Overall, staying here is a superb way to enjoy the richness of central Cape Town.

Stayed January 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    63
    35
    18
    7
See reviews for
8
61
23
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2006

Stayed here for four nights on the 6th floor The rooms were immaculate - cleanest hotel rooms ever. No A/C, but not really needed; we were ok with overhead fan. Pleasant and modern decor. Bathrooms were beautiful, but the shower/bathtub was difficult to get into (would not recommend for the elderly) Some street noise - couldn't sleep with windows open at night. Above average breakfasts - wide selection of both hot and cold foods. Restaurant was really good - but closes early, 9pm or so. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Parking garage convienently located next door where the hotel has reserved spots; the cost was very reasonable. Laundering service was overpriced

  • Liked — Cleanliness & modern ,but warm, decor; friendliness of staff; high quality restaurant
  • Disliked — Street noise
  • Tips/Secrets — Great for young couples or friends; Not recommended for elderly (see above)
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2006

After our dream wedding my wife and I were so looking forward to a wonderful honeymoon commencing in Capetown. We booked this hotel over the internet on the basis of its description as a boutique hotel and were incredibly disappointed with our stay there. The hotel is located in the downtown area of the city, miles away from the waterfront with taxi or bus service your only transport there, no free shuttle like other comparably priced hotels. Walking is not an option. The area is noisy and dirty, and quite unsafe at night, as evidenced by the huge doorman who lets you in at night. The rooms were tiny, with very little space to walk, the toilet area was narrow, and the bath and wash basin were in the bedroom out of necessity, not luxury.The rooms lacked air conditioning, leaving it impossible for us to get a decent nights sleep. The rooms also lacked personal safes. With the dangerous neighbourhood, we were hesitant to bring passports and all valuables with us, which would prove costly as our luggage was gone through and cash taken while we were out sightseeing during the day. The owners were notified of this and promised to fire the culprit and compensate us but never did. The breakfast buffet was continental at best, with very little selection. A terribly disappointing experience and poor start to our honeymoon, we were only too glad to check out early and go to the Capetonian, a hundred times better hotel.

  • Liked — The door out
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay Away
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2006

friendly and quaint little hotel, centrally located near city center in beautiful Cape Town. A 8/10 mn taxi ride to the shopping area and restaurants at the Waterfront, equally close to the cable cart station of Table --mountain... Comfortable albeit a bit small rooms, with all standard amenities... This is a non smoking hotel (even at the bar/restaurant downstairs) however the front staff offered to change our room assigned to the 8th floor, where we were able to light up if need be from a small terrace (wrap around balcony). The staff is friendly and efficient (a fuse blew at one point and the staff was very quick to fix the problem, even coming up to the room to ensure light had come back up). The front desk also offered to provide us with a power outlet converter (South Africa is on 230 V, yet the plugs are different and don't fit any power converter sold as they have 3 triangular thick prongs). No cable TV in the rooms, so we had the basic 5 South African channels (and 1channel from the english Sky channel). The area around the hotel is "ok" however it is not recommended to stray too far from the hotel at night, which means you have to cab everywhere you go at night. The current exchange rate (rand to USD / EUR / GBP ) is very favorable for North Americans and Europeans so food / taxis / shopping are farily inexpensive. The restaurant has good inexpensive food. The bar stays open until 10ish (they'll stay a little longer if need be). All in all, a very pleasant experience. The hotel arranged for bus shuttles to and from the airport (added to the hotel bill).
A roof top terrace has a nice view, with a jaccuzzi (although we didn't use it).

  • Liked — the central location and the staff friendliness and efficiency
  • Disliked — no cable tv
  • Tips/Secrets — research cape town areas and point of interests before coming, invest in a good guide book
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2006

We stayed here 3 nights in connection with a trip booked through
2Afrika.com. The location is great! Close to the markets, shops, museums and galleries. It was about a 30 min. walk to the V & A Waterfront. The breakfasts were delicious. We chose to eat at the Patat restaurant both nights by choice. The soups - Butternut Squash and Potato Leek were outstanding. The Potato bread and Potato cake were delicious. Yes they do offer things not made from potatoes, but everything we had was yummy!

The staff were very helpful. They called SAA several times to check on the status of our lost bags. They suggested an internet cafe right across the street. We got good advice about places o go. If there was a downside it is the wooden floors. Our room was by the elevator and it got a bit noisy with all the footsteps and luggage. A most pleasant stay!

  • Liked — Great staff, delicious food!
  • Disliked — a bit noisy at times
  • Tips/Secrets — Try the soups!
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2006

When we first arrived at this hotel we were a little worried, there was nowhere for our taxi to stop and the lobby is very small and was filled with cyclists in town for the cape point cycle race. However the staff were very helpful as we arrived early (11am) and let us into our room to leave our bags. The rooms are lovely, spacious, light and quiet with great showers. We were on the 1st floor, but would be more private further up.The restuarant was great, help yourself brekkies and evening meals with a small but consistently good african menu.Only 5mins from company gardens and 20mins walk from waterfront (35SAR taxi),so you don't need a hire car,which is great because theres nowhere to park anyway!Stayed for 4 nights and was well rested, recommended.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2006

Cape Diamond Hotel is a very warm and welcoming place. The service is excellent and the staff is helpful and friendly. The showers are large and confortable, with marvellous brown African-style tiles. The whole hotel is non-smoking (the restaurant included), which should be advertised somewhere. There are rooms with terraces though. It is very conveniently located in the centre of Cape Town, just a few blocks from the marvellous Slave Lodge museum and other downtown museums and within walking distance of the busy area of Long Street with its diverse restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diamond Hotel

Address: corner of Longmarket and Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 104 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Diamond Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Cape Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.