We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, very basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Diamond Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cape Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cape Diamond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   corner of Longmarket and Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #81 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Central location, very basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Central location is the best feature along with the cheap price on booking.com. Our double room on the 7th floor was tidy spacious enough with basic furnishings and a bath, no shower. There is a jacuzzi on the roof but it was out of order. Car parking across the road was a nightmare, with the hotel charging R100 per day. They have few spaces reserved on the 6th or 7th floor and that's where you have to park, or double park sometimes. But you have to get a token disc from the reception beforehand. Overall the stay was just okay, don't think we will return.

Room Tip: Higher up is probably better
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    66
    32
    16
    5
See reviews for
8
55
22
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Location is good. It's well connected to the railway station, long street, Wale street, church street etc, in any case the area is not very safe during the evening.

The room was, somehow, renovated, the bathroom was new, the bed was comfortable, but the room was very small and not cozy. The hotel did not offer much, the bath-tub on the rooftop was totally dirty and was not cleaned yet for the summer season! The external/emergency stairs were totally filthy and insecure. Probably they have been cleaned last time, during the World Cup. Furthermore the building was not safe at all in my opinion! The emergency exits could be open from the outside, the rooms’ doors had a very easy “lock” to break. Fortunately nothing happened during my stay.

The staff was very friendly and kind, excluding one receptionist that was extremely arrogant and unprofessional! It was quite difficult to communicate with her, considering the strong accent and the complete indifference towards clients’ needs! We had a late flight to Europe therefore we wanted to refresh before getting 12 hours on a plane. Hence we simply asked to check out in the late afternoon. After paying for 15 nights (FIFTEEN) I was expecting a little bit of flexibility. Sadly the “unpleasant receptionist” told us that this was feasible only if we were fully charged for another night at the hotel! Personally I found it impolite as insane! Considering that we have been “clients” for more than two weeks! Indeed after few hours I spoke with the hotel manager, who being Russian, knows how to deal with Europeans and she charged us 50% of the regular fare for a late check out.

To conclude, taking into account that the hotel was employing an enormous quantity of personnel, I believe they should, at least, improve the overall hygienic conditions! Starting from cleaning the stairs and providing training to the hotel-housekeepers! There were stains of toothpaste in my sink for my entire visit. Finally I still can’t understand how it works the rating system in South Africa, because this hotel cannot be rated as 3-4 stars and especially as boutique hotel! Considering that other hotels, in the city, were charging just a little bit more than Cape Diamond, I believe I have been scammed, but unfortunately it may happen!

I will definitely not return in this hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Stayed only 1 night. The staff was very friendly.
Unfortunately aren't the rooms as modern as the entrance area is.
I had a very simple and small, but tidy room.
Sadly I couldn't enjoy much daylght in my dark room.
During the night it was noisy.
However, their breakfast buffet was very good.

I wouldn't stay there for more than 3 nights...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel with good value and well located. Nothing more.
The photos are far from representing reality. The hotel is quite deteriorated.
The receptionist Michaella was extremely helpful and careful with everything I needed during my stay at the hotel.
But some of the staff did not know give any information about the services of the hotel and the city. There were flies in the room, the window would not close and the room was cold at night. The elevator was not working right.
The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Hotel is in city centre so is good for getting around. Street is a bit dark at night so we didn't venture to far after dark. Room was a reasonable size. No safe in room. Bathroom door was a sliding one which could do with being replaced for a conventional door with lock. Breakfast was ok, standard affair. Staff friendly. Not bad for its price range.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a three star hotel situated close to a lot of tourist attractions, shops, bus and train station and V&A. The rooms are okay, but it is not very sound proof so you can hear the traffic and people in the hallway quite good. The breakfast is probably the standard of a three star hotel, not much to choose from and not that tasty.

The staff is friendly but not very service minded. After asking for an adapter for the fourth time we ended up buying one at the local supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

As we were traveling in a group, this hotel was chosen for us. It is not a bad hotel, just was not up to what I had expected.

The rooms are small, and cold. There is no heating, just a ceiling fan. The bed was comfortable, and duvet was warm. There is no soundproofing, so you can hear the lift (I was far from it), street noise, the people in your neighboring room, etc. There is no room safe (a must for South Africa).

I had no towels in the room, and had to call reception twice to get some. On Sunday their restaurant is closed, so the only option was an Indian food court across the road.

The staff were helpful. The breakfast was not bad. The location is great.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diamond Hotel

Address: corner of Longmarket and Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Diamond Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Cape Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.