We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well situated and just Ok.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Diamond Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cape Diamond Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cape Diamond Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   corner of Longmarket and Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Well situated and just Ok.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Hotel with good value and well located. Nothing more.
The photos are far from representing reality. The hotel is quite deteriorated.
The receptionist Michaella was extremely helpful and careful with everything I needed during my stay at the hotel.
But some of the staff did not know give any information about the services of the hotel and the city. There were flies in the room, the window would not close and the room was cold at night. The elevator was not working right.
The breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    61
    29
    15
    6
See reviews for
8
57
23
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights. Hotel is in city centre so is good for getting around. Street is a bit dark at night so we didn't venture to far after dark. Room was a reasonable size. No safe in room. Bathroom door was a sliding one which could do with being replaced for a conventional door with lock. Breakfast was ok, standard affair. Staff friendly. Not bad for its price range.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a three star hotel situated close to a lot of tourist attractions, shops, bus and train station and V&A. The rooms are okay, but it is not very sound proof so you can hear the traffic and people in the hallway quite good. The breakfast is probably the standard of a three star hotel, not much to choose from and not that tasty.

The staff is friendly but not very service minded. After asking for an adapter for the fourth time we ended up buying one at the local supermarket.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

As we were traveling in a group, this hotel was chosen for us. It is not a bad hotel, just was not up to what I had expected.

The rooms are small, and cold. There is no heating, just a ceiling fan. The bed was comfortable, and duvet was warm. There is no soundproofing, so you can hear the lift (I was far from it), street noise, the people in your neighboring room, etc. There is no room safe (a must for South Africa).

I had no towels in the room, and had to call reception twice to get some. On Sunday their restaurant is closed, so the only option was an Indian food court across the road.

The staff were helpful. The breakfast was not bad. The location is great.

I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Room was dirty, no sheet on bed, no parking for rental car, no wifi (have to buy coupon), lifts not working properly. Disaster. Would not recommend to anyone? Very misleading info on website and Travelstart should definitely take this hotel off their listing

Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

This hotel is in easy walking distance of Cape Town's many attractions. The V&A is even walkable. Overall, the service was really great.

We had a late night check in and there was an issue. The booking issue was the fault of Expedia and not the hotel. The issue was that there wasn't a big enough room available for both my daughter and I. The front desk manager did find one that had not been 100% serviced. He had to get some towels and shampoo for us. We are flexible and tried to be understanding since the booking issue was not the fault of the hotel. What I did not appreciate was this desk manager telling us that after that night we would have to pay for the room "upgrade" (since it deviated from the Expedia booking-- but it was still a little shabby) and would have to pay for breakfast for the duration of the trip. He did give me the name of the desk person I should talk to about it in the morning. After traveling for 20+ hours, this was not what I would call a very hospitable greeting.

The good news is that things did improve from here. In the morning, the room issue was sorted out promptly, with a smile, and with no extra charges. Breakfast was good. The staff at breakfast was very friendly and helpful with tips on things to do.

On check out, the hotel held my luggage all day so that I was able to tour. No issues there.

Overall, I would say that this is a good budget accommodation for those touring the city (and are not spending much time in the room) or have a one or two night stop-over.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

I booked this hotel on line and feel mislead. The staff were pleasant except for one rude gentleman who worked behind the reception counter who continued to shout at me while I was trying to get a parking disk in front of customers. The parking situation is a joke - it is across the road in a public parking area whereby you have to pay R70 per a day which was never advised prior to our arrival. It takes about 20 minutes to park the car and get to the hotel. Where our room was situated had a sewage smell to it which was unpleasant when entering and exiting the room. Once in the room it was fine as the room wasn't that bad. All in all we were disappointed with this hotel and won't stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cape Diamond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Diamond Hotel

Address: corner of Longmarket and Parliament Street | in the East City near Parliament, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cape Diamond Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Otel and Venere so you can book your Cape Diamond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Town Diamond Hotel
Cape Diamond Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Diamond Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.