We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sunflower Stop

Save Saved
You added Sunflower Stop to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunflower Stop
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa   |  
Hotel amenities
Port Elizabeth
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I recommend this backpackers above most in Cape Town. Friendly staff and always going that extra mile.

Perfect setting- close to the stadium in Cape Town, Waterfront and beaches. Lovely private and dorm beds available. Perfect sunny days laze around the pool. They can arrange all your day tours eg. Abseiling, Shark cage diving and off course the wine routes.

A must stay when in Cape Town.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    28
    3
    4
    2
See reviews for
3
19
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I would highly recommend the Sunflower Stop. I stayed there for three days and really loved it. It's in a great location so I could easily walk to the beaches, Long Street, shops and cafes. Also the staff is wonderful. One of the front desk staff, Daniel, was so nice! He called at least 10 different places to get me a reservation to go shark diving and I really appreciated his help. The people here are cool, free wifi, and super cheap drinks at the bar. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

As a 26 year old married man, travelling with my Mum to Cape Town for 4 days after a family wedding in another part of South Africa, I was a little worried about staying here. I knew I’d enjoy it as I’ve spent the last 10 years staying at places like this, but I didn’t know what my 46 year old Mum would think. As it turned out, she absolutely loved it. To quote her, “…I’ve stayed in hotels worse than this!”. She couldn’t believe the quality of the place for the low price we paid. The staff were very helpful upon arrival, and our room was literally a few steps from the main reception. The room had its own bathroom, very comfy beds and I very much appreciated the excellent air conditioning system. The room felt very safe too with its own safety box, as well as another safety box behind reception too. The hostel bar and pool always seemed to be well used and the people that were staying there seemed to have been there for some time. Understandable considering the cost and quality. Just a short walk from Cape Town Stadium, the waterfront shopping complex and a taxi that cost less than £2 to get to Long Street, it really is in a great location. Another short walk away was a number or bars and restaurants that my Mother and I made certain to make the most of during our stay. If you’re planning on backpacking in Cape Town, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: We got quite lucky with our room being on the ground floor, but we purposely booked a twin ensuite r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I only have good things to say about A Sunflower Stop. The room was great, serviced every day, quiet and well insulated enough to sleep in at night, despite being above the bar and with a busy road outside. Andrew in particular was a fine and friendly host, thanks for all the local information and the late night bar conversations.

The pool was perfect for a hot afternoon dip after a day out exploring the city. Parking was easy outside the hostel and the waterfront for robben island trips and shopping was an easy stroll away. An interesting mix of fellow travellers staying there topped it off even better.

The hostel has a range of rooms for different budgets, good kitchen facilities, lounges and a comfortable outdoor space to relax in day or night. A great spot to relax, kick back and plan your trips around South Africa's most beautiful city.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Sunflower Stop in the beginning of 2013. The hostel was quite busy so there was a nice vibe. The rooms are nice and luxurious, once you lay on the bed you almost do not want to get out. The rooms are serviced daily what is very nice and very personal! The hostel is situated in a safe area. Not in the middle of the city but very safe. V&A waterfront is only a 15 minutes walk and the city centre is really good reachable by taxi! Really had a good stay at Sunflower Stop!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Sunflower Stop is fantastic. From the people I met while staying there to all of the assistance in arranging my time in Cape Town, I was never disappointed. I stayed in a mixed dorm room with a friend and we were very happy about the cleanliness and respectfulness everyone showed while staying. The accommodation at the hostel ranged from nice self contained rooms to 8 person dorm style making it suitable for multiple populations. I would recommend this place to anyone and hope to get back to Cape Town soon!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed in a mixed dorm room, with some friends, and had a nice time there. As a frequent visitor of hostels I was happily surprised at this place.
First of all, it was clean. The rooms and the shared bathroom facilities. They also made your bed every day. Talk about luxury at a hostel!
Second of all, it was not a party hostel, it was just a quiet oasis of calm with some really nice people. I was surprised, but not in a negative way, that there was such a varied demographic of people there. Young and old from all over, and some even staying for months.
Third, they had a lot of day tours and such at the hostel. You barely have to lift a finger to do anything if you don't feel like it while staying in Cape Town.
The only negative thing I experienced, and this is rather minor, is that there wasn't a proper ladder on the bunk bed for the top bed. It was just a pain getting up and down, especially for someone not terribly flexible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunflower Stop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunflower Stop

Address: 179 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 Specialty lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunflower Stop 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Sunflower Stop backpackers offers relaxing and comfortable accommodation for budget travellers in Cape Town. Nestled between the mountains and sea, the backpackers hostel is in the perfect location to enjoy your time in Cape Town. With a self-catering kitchen, bar and T.V. lounge, our luxury backpackers offers affordable accommodation for every budget. So come and make yourself at home with our friendly staff, cool off in our refreshing sun filled swimming pool, relax at the cosy bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sunflower Stop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunflower Stop Hotel Cape Town Central
Sunflower Stop Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunflower Stop, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.