We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we could only have stayed longer...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 101 hotels in Cape Town Central
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If we could only have stayed longer...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2008

I cannot praise this hotel enough. We arrived a day late (our fault )and still we were welcomed with open arms. Our room was huge, comfortable and the bed was amazing !

Antony and all the staff go beyond the call of duty and are on hand to help you with exercusions, restaurant reservations and generally make your stay an individual one. The guesthouse is beautifully decorated and having breakfast on the terrace is a great start to the day. I only wish we had longer in cape town but we will return ....

The Roundhouse restaurant was recommended and we had an amazing meal there with wine pairing it is not too far from the hotel in Camps Bay.

  • Liked — The general feel of the hotel and the staff
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,108
    85
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
144
633
120
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2008

A very nice place to stay, not only because of the nice rooms [house] but as wel as the nice staff!!!!!!
Centrally located. They made our stay worth wile and also unforgettable.
See Cape Town ....see the Blackheath Lodge!!!

Stayed July 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haslett ,Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2008

The staff at Blackheath Lodge are the secret of why this B and B is my favorite of all times. We felt completely pampered, as though we were long lost friends or family. The evening of our arrival, after a nap in our lovely room, we came down to a glass of wine on the lovely patio overlooking the garden and pool. Anthony told us he had made us reservations at a restaurant he recommended, and also called us a cab. Throughout our five day visit, all the staff were wonderful. The breakfasts were lovely, the room with a pocket view of the ocean was wonderful, lovely bed and linens. Also an excellent central location.

At one point I left my coat in a taxi. No problem! We called the Lodge and the staff not only called the taxi company but called us at the restaurant to let us know they had the coat! Did I mention I had my brand new $250 dollar camera in the pocket, and it was returned, too?

A wonderful place to stay, free wine in the evening and your own personal concierge team. What more could you want?

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bethesda, maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

My family and I visited Cape Town in mid-July. I had made the reservations directly with Antony and having no expectations at all. We were all very pleased and happy with what we encountered. Antony's lodge is beautiful, very welcoming, and carefully decorated with a great sense of style. We used a total of 5 different rooms and they were all well equipped, elegant and comfortable. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We were glad to have our pick-up and drop-off from the airport arranged, and during our stay, they also call in the cabs to take us around the city. Daily breakfast was always a feast and the personable attention made each bite a formidable meal and experience; great mini quiches, whole grain bread, sweet and savory croissants, fresh fruit and plenty of good strong coffee of rooisbos tea. Antony and the rest of the staff are good food connaisseurs, providing good recommendations for restaurants and things to do. Having a glass of wine in the evening before going out to dine out always made us feel at home. The combination of staying at the BlackHeath Lodge and touring such a fantastic city, made it an unforgettable trip. We will recommend Antony's BHL to all our friends. We would not want to stay anywhere else besides 6 BlackHeath Road.

  • Liked — personal attention, location, decor and comfort
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

What an outstanding hotel! Having read the previous reviews on the Blackheath we went there expecting something special and we were not to be disappointed.
Much has already been said about Antony's personal service, but the amount of care and attention to detail was quite astonishing. Advice on restaurants (even going so far as to make the bookings and taxi reservations) and help with travel arrangements are all part of the hospitality. Yet, at no point is this hospitality overbearing. Highly sensitive to his guests differing needs, Antony is a host par excellence. Though it may sound a bit of a cliché, guests are made to feel that they are visiting a friend's home. What a refreshing change from all those large hotels we stayed in when in South Africa.
Internet access is free, drinks are available (you hardly have to ask!), DVD and cable TV in each room and the most comfortable beds you could ever hope to sleep on.
Alas, I cannot fault this splendid guest house. I would strongly recommend it to anyone.

  • Liked — Level of comfort and hospitality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

This place was great.

Anthony the owner was fantastic. Made me feel so welcome. He was happy to organise everything, and as I was on my own for a few days was always happy to chat. He even insisted on ironing my shirt when I just asked to borrow an iron. (Did a very good job too)

The rooms were lovely. Nice clean white linens on huge beds. Spotlessly clean. The breakfasts were great. Very tasty.
Great location, close to the beaches at Clifton, but also close enough to get into town for nightlife/restaurants etc.

All very good value too.

I wouldnt think about going anywhere else in Cape Town

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol - UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2008

Keeping it fairly brief.......an amazing place to visit. The hosts with the mosts are just fantastic, the staff are always happy to help and those breakfast quiche thingy's are just to die for. Rooms are of top spec, pool is just enough and if your there as a group then get Sophia in to cook for you. Location is just perfick for everything you need and the hosts with the mosts will book restaurants, trips etc... for you. I soo hope I get to go back next year !!

  • Liked — Location, staff, rooms, abiance, atmosphere, friendliness
  • Disliked — I wast there long enough !
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.