We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our last night in South Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our last night in South Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We had spent a few days in Cape Town at the start of our holiday and decided on the Blackheath Lodge to end our fantastic South Africa holiday. We were not disappointed. Accommodation and service were absolutely brilliant. Nothing could be bettered. If you go, you should not be disappointed! Apologies to the hosts for taking so long to post this review!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,297 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,191
    91
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
158
692
123
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester,England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

We couldn`t fault Blackheath Lodge. The staff were very helpful and friendly. The room was very well arranged, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was delicious. We stayed five nights and still didn`t manage to try everything. The pool area was very relaxing. The situation was good-a few minutes from restaurants and the sea and a pleasant walk into the Waterfront. Five nights wasn`t enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Point, North Carolina
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Had a nice 4 day stay here. Rooms were spacious enough, staff very friendly and attentive. In a good safe area, but not a lot of attractions in immediate walking distance, you are able to get down to the water and even a short distance more grab the redline city bus tour. Nice restaurants are not within walking distance, no worries though the waterfront is a $5usd ride, less than 10 mins away for many options.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I have chosen to write this review even though we have only been here for 3days out of a 7day stay at blackheath, I new it would be good after reading the reviews but didn't expect it to be this good, the hotel manager charle could not be more helpful and neither could Godfrey, our room is fantastic and the attention to detail is 2nd to none, we are staying in room 6 and it is just perfect with sea views at one end and mountain views at the other, the bed is huge, Sarah and I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the world and trust me none of them has the beautiful detail Blackheath lodge has, the owner of the hotel Antony who unfortunately we having got to meet as he is in NY has hand picked our next week in on the garden route for us. This place is fab wow....

Room Tip: Book a superior room try for room 6 it's great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Great ! most important in a city : the location : perfect !! The rooms, the garden, the hole place was furnished with a very good taste , really beautiful ! there was a parking !! the breakfast : top!
A cosy bar ; The 2 hosts were very helpfull, friendly . They recommended good restaurants.
It can't be better , it's more personal than a hotel .
We sure come back !

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The Blackheath Lodge is a great place to stay especially on your first trip to Cape Town. They staff was very friendly and extra helpful. This was our first trip to Cape Town and we had little or no idea what we wanted to do or see and only three days to see everything. Anthony was an invaluable resource and guided and helped us in every way possible. Without his help we would of missed out on much of what Cape Town has to offer. He encouraged us to use the Lodge's Mini Convertible to take a drive down the cost through Kalk Bay and Boulders, all the way to Cape Point. Without his encouragement we would have missed out the most spectacular views of our trip and a day that we will never forget. The facilities and staff at Blackheath made our trip to Cape Town better than we could have ever done on our own. I highly recommend a stay here especially for those that are new or not familiar to Cape Town, but it would also be a lovely place to stay either way due to the warm and friendly staff, fantastic breakfast, good location, and excellent facilities.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights in October, excellent hotel, best breakfast in our whole SA trip.
Great rooms and attention to detail, even a local mobile and sim is provided with numbers for cabs / restaurants etc.
Perfect stay would recommend a stay.

Regs

Jon

Dubai

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.