We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“charming bed and breakfast in Sea Point” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“charming bed and breakfast in Sea Point”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a great little place within 3 blocks of the beautiful sandy beach of cape Town. We had great rooms as well as a nice common area for our family to gather in. A wonderful breakfast was served each morning. The rooms were outfitted with a heating system controlled by remote which was new to me and very nice. Of particular note is the lodge's manager, Charle', who went above and beyond to give us helpful tips for getting around Cape Town on foot. This was the first place we stayed upon reaching South Africa and was a nice friendly introduction to the country. The photo shows the private pool located in the center of the lodge and charming little bird houses situated at different levels of the wall

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,247
    93
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
166
731
125
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Myself and my wife stayed here recently and it was a lovely place. It is located in a nice area and the interiors are very cool and arty. The staff are really helpful and even assisted us with planning the rest of our honeymoon in South Africa! Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Blackheath lodge was a wonderful place to stay. The service was amazing and top notch. The food served at breakfast was very good, with eggs cooked to order. The atmosphere was extremely peaceful and relaxing. Charle, the manager, was spectacular as she was so friendly and helpful. She gave us priceless advice about good restaurants to eat at, places to see in Capetown, and where to park while we were out and about. The service was truly above and beyond at Blackheath. Thanks for a wonderful time!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

What a wonderful welcome to South Africa. Greeted at the door after a gruelling overnight flight from London by a beautiful huge hug from Portia, a complimentary offer of breakfast and immediate access to our room (even though check in wasn't officially till 2) We received a very personal and attentive service throughout our stay from Charle and all the other wonderful staff. The service wasn't simply efficient but genuinely warm.
The decor and interior design is luxurious yet homely. Great attention to detail. Relaxing and tranquil pool area which was pleasantly heated (I had a refreshing plunge after my flight) and cosy communal areas.
Would love to return some day.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wark, null, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This hotel was a real gem.My husband .& I stopped at the Blackheath Lodge for the first two nights
Of our holiday. They made us very welcome and couldn't do enough to help with anything.
The breakfasts were lovely,the staff were great.I liked the way you could just help yourself to coffee or tea anytime of the day.Thanks again for everything

Room Tip: Room 6 great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Needham, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

The Blackheath Lodge really can't be improved, it's that good. We stayed one night but probably would have stayed longer if we didn't already have other plans.

Our room was great, parking was easy and very safe and the Lodge was very helpful about finding a room large enough for us and our daughter, who joined us at the last minute. The in was spotless and breakfast was creative and really good.

But mostly I was blown away by how accommodating the staff were: when we arrived we were offered a glass of wine while our room was prepared, which pleased but didn't surprise me much; when we checked out we left our bags at the Lodge, which again pleased but didn't surprise me; but when we came back for the bags at the end of the day (on our way to the next inn) we were invited in for another glass of wine/pot of tea. Amazing! That really exceptional level of service and friendliness exemplified our experience at the Blackheath Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zürich, Zurich, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Blackheath Lodge is like a gem in Capetown, very close to the sea (5 min. walk), to the Waterfront (20 min. walk). Antony and his staff really take care for their guests whenever needed, help with brilliant tips and make you feel at home. Very clean and boutique-hotel-like guesthouse, with unique interior, nicely renovated bathrooms, very friendly staff, great service, delicious breakfast, an insiders' tip!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.