We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place of charm, grace, and impeccable taste” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A place of charm, grace, and impeccable taste”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Blackheath Lodge is a place of charm, grace, and impeccable taste, ideally located in my favourite part of Cape Town: the vibrant, bustling neighourhood of Sea Point. It's just a short away from a long walk, the splendid Sea Point Promenade, which offers a grandstand view of the city's most spectacular daily attraction. Sunset. (Sunrise is pretty good too, if you're the alarm-clock type.) But Blackheath Lodge in itself was the highlight of my short business-stay. It is expertly run by Anthony and John, who are warm, witty, and welcoming hosts, and who leave no detail to chance. There was even a small cellphone in my room, for personal use, with pre-loaded numbers. And a laptop too. That is typical of the care with which the lodge is run. The room was spacious & comfortable, with a patio that offered its own wonderful views. Breakfast was tasty and served with flair and style. The bar is relaxed, convivial, and inviting. I highly recommend Blackheath Lodge for a business or holiday stay, or a business stay that feels like a holiday. A special thank-you, also, to Jean-Claude, for his unfailing patience and assistance. I hope tio return one day!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    93
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
165
729
125
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I only had one night in Cape Town and was traveling as a single girl. I wanted a safe location that could help me see as much of Cape Town as I possibly could in 24 hours. Blackheath Lodge was amazing in every aspect! The airport transfers were top notch and really nice guys. The lodge is beautiful and quaint, ensuring personalized service. The rooms are beautiful and first class. I was really impressed by the local cell phone they allow you to use, which already has all neccessary local numbers in it - I have never seen that before around the world - absolutely brilliant! The breakfast was delicious and freshly made to order. The private tour they arranged for me was excellent and for a great price - I conquered Cape Town in 9 hours! Even when I was running late getting back to the hotel for my ride to the airport, they looked up my Doha number and gave me a call to make sure I was alright. If you want to walk to the beach...it is like 3 minutes away. A taxi to the V&A Waterfront was $3 USD. I highly recommend this lodge to everyone and I will definitely return!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose Blackheath (2 couples traveling) because it had a high rating on Trip Advisor. As it turned out, it was better than any of us anticipated. Antony and his team are top notch. They are friendly and very helpful with great suggestions for everything from dining to the best tours to take. It felt like we were staying with very knowledgable friends who were truly interested in us having the best Cape Town experience possible. If you like small, interesting hotels with unique design and outstanding service, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gottingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The whole Blackheath Team was so nice to us and we really enjoyed the stay pretty much. The location was perfect, especially our room no 6. The team also organised some outstanding trips in and around Cape Town for us, including great recommendations for good places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the Blackheath for two weeks while photographing for a non-profit in Cape Town. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the staff was excellent. I felt like I was at home here. Antony, Jean-Claude, Peter, Sharlee and the rest couldn't have been nicer. A local cell phone was provided for the duration of my stay making local calls very affordable. It's a short walk to the V&A Waterfront, and all other sightseeing excursions were possible using local taxis. All in all a great place to stay while in Cape Town. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Blackheath Lodge is a fantastic place to stay and the service a second to none. Antony and his team are superb. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is very good, you can walk to the Waterfront in about 30 minutes if you're fit, the ocean is near and the Lodge is close to cafes, restaurants and shops. The decor is eclectic and luxurious, rooms are comfortable and beautifully appointed. Thoughtful touches like cellphones, an honesty bar and a lovely pool area to relax in make it a delight to stay there. It feels as though you are part of the family! Breakfasts are gorgeous and generous, served in a beautiful terraced dining area with a wood burner for the colder days. I was there for over two weeks and enjoyed every minute of my stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, Alsace, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at Blackheath Lodge a few times now. I always feel at home, the rooms are great, it's well located but quiet, love the decor etc, but most of all what I like is that everyone is so welcoming and they bend over backwards to help. Really, an exceptional place with exceptional people running it!

Room Tip: the loft rooms are always nice - you get to see a bit of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.