We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than as advertised” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“More than as advertised”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We chose Blackheath (2 couples traveling) because it had a high rating on Trip Advisor. As it turned out, it was better than any of us anticipated. Antony and his team are top notch. They are friendly and very helpful with great suggestions for everything from dining to the best tours to take. It felt like we were staying with very knowledgable friends who were truly interested in us having the best Cape Town experience possible. If you like small, interesting hotels with unique design and outstanding service, this is the place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,053
    81
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
132
599
117
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gottingen, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

The whole Blackheath Team was so nice to us and we really enjoyed the stay pretty much. The location was perfect, especially our room no 6. The team also organised some outstanding trips in and around Cape Town for us, including great recommendations for good places to eat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I stayed at the Blackheath for two weeks while photographing for a non-profit in Cape Town. The rooms were very comfortable and clean, and the staff was excellent. I felt like I was at home here. Antony, Jean-Claude, Peter, Sharlee and the rest couldn't have been nicer. A local cell phone was provided for the duration of my stay making local calls very affordable. It's a short walk to the V&A Waterfront, and all other sightseeing excursions were possible using local taxis. All in all a great place to stay while in Cape Town. I'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Blackheath Lodge is a fantastic place to stay and the service a second to none. Antony and his team are superb. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The location is very good, you can walk to the Waterfront in about 30 minutes if you're fit, the ocean is near and the Lodge is close to cafes, restaurants and shops. The decor is eclectic and luxurious, rooms are comfortable and beautifully appointed. Thoughtful touches like cellphones, an honesty bar and a lovely pool area to relax in make it a delight to stay there. It feels as though you are part of the family! Breakfasts are gorgeous and generous, served in a beautiful terraced dining area with a wood burner for the colder days. I was there for over two weeks and enjoyed every minute of my stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mulhouse, Alsace, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I have stayed at Blackheath Lodge a few times now. I always feel at home, the rooms are great, it's well located but quiet, love the decor etc, but most of all what I like is that everyone is so welcoming and they bend over backwards to help. Really, an exceptional place with exceptional people running it!

Room Tip: the loft rooms are always nice - you get to see a bit of the sea!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Simply put: it's absolutely fantastic and I will stay here every time I am in Cape Town regardless of the purpose of my visit. However, this fantastic home-away-from-home deserves more than simple murmurings of "well done!" Therefore, I'll list the reasons why you should stay there too!

My credentials: In 2011 and 2013, I stayed here for over 2 weeks during a business workshop with 5 of our clients. As the group leader, I am more than a bit picky to make sure the clients feel 100% catered to and cared for. We have high expectations for the places we visit and we have chosen to stay at the Blackheath twice now during this training workshop. Therefore, I feel like a very good resource for this review.

1. The staff
From the moment you email or call the Blackheath, they treat you like family. Antony and his staff will send you helpful tips to plan your vacation or business trip. They will insure your payments are accurate and follow up with you before you arrive to insure you are ready for your visit with them. They will find you the best restaurants, coffee shops, even hair salons and massage parlors! Should you merely mention you are fond of something, they will insure it is available whenever you ask. They had coffee ready for me the moment I walked downstairs in the morning and would offer my favorite wine when we arrive back after a long day. Charlay, Jean-Claude, Godfrey & Peter could not have been more helpful, more caring about our needs and more reliable.

2. The location
You are away from the street noise of Main Road and feel like a local resident! The location is a short walk from the main attractions but safely tucked away from hustle and bustle of the beach goers and revelers. While some rooms have a view of the ocean, each room is exquisitely decorated with hand-picked touches that makes you want to curl up in the comfortable beds and couches and just stare at the artwork and coffee table books. The linens are crisp, clean and sparkling white. The bath towels are huge and fluffy. Each bathroom is spacious and worthy of a white glove test. Each room has a flat screen tv, dvd player (with a huge collection of new releases you can use for free in the lobby), cable television, a hair dryer, house phone and a cell phone to use while you are in residence. The common areas are filled with comfortable chairs, lots of books and tour guides to help your stay be more enjoyable. The pool area has plush sleeping chairs and lush vegetation surrounding the beautifully tiled lounging area.

3. The Meals
Oh, I dream about this when I am away! Every morning, they have fresh fruit of pineapple, apples, pears, kiwi, bananas and oranges PLUS yoghurt, granola, cereals, baked healthy tarts, coffee, organic teas and smoothies AND you can order omelets or scrambled eggs with fresh mushrooms, bacon, tomatoes or green onions. Each breakfast comes with hearty, tasty multigrain bread with preserves and butter as well. You will not need lunch because the food is so delicious and filling.

All meals are served in a bright and cheerful common area with a potbelly stove for those cold winter mornings and big paddle fans for cooling off during the summer months. You can also ask for your breakfast to be sent to your room. Likewise, they are so accommodating to even save a late plate if you want to do a sunrise tour and will miss the regular hours for breakfast.

You can also order sandwiches and cheese plates all hours of the day. Also, they have a full bar with spirits, sodas, beer and, best of all, a huge collection of local wines!

4. Business Services
This is not just a luxury hotel for safari or beach travelers. If you need business services, the entire hotel is linked to free wifi. They have a common use computer in the common area. Likewise, they will print off boarding passes, itineraries, tour tickets, etc. for free. They have laundry and dry cleaning service and service is same day. They make reservations, confirmations and book whole tours for you. Need a taxi? They will arrange it for you and negotiate a price for longer trips. Need a car? They can find you the best rates for rental cars in the city. They are a whole service location without the extras and they do it with class and a smile.
______

In conclusion, I simply cannot recommend this location enough. You will find that Blackheath is a location that will make you want to come to Cape Town, just so you can stay with your friends there again. Please feel free to ask me any questions about this review as I will happily oblige! Thank you to the entire staff for such a great stay & making our entire workshop family feel so well cared for during our stay!

Room Tip: I love room #6 & 7!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

It would be hard to find a better place to stay in Cape Town than the Blackheath Lodge in Sea Point. Only if you wanted to be closer to the center of town, but why? Blackheath is only a ten-minute taxi ride from downtown, and Sea Point has it's own attractions and restaurants.

Three things distinguish Blackheath: (1) an owner and staff always trying to please and facilitate their clients' visit; (2) a sumptuous breakfast offering just about anything any reasonable person could want, cooked to order (no extra charge) if you don't find it on the well-supplied buffet table; (3) clean and comfortable rooms. Owner Antony is also adept at negotiating favorable taxi fares, lower than the meter, for his guests. I spent two weeks there the first half of June. I will recommend it to all my friends.

Room Tip: My "new" room (recently remodeled), downstairs on the other side of the pool from the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Hotel
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa
Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.