We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful hotel for relaxing days in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful hotel for relaxing days in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

It was great to stay in this lovely lodge. It is a very special place and one can feel in every corner how much passion and love is put in this house.This really makes you want to stay longer than just a few nights. It is a great place where you can very easily relax after a day of exploring Cape Town or doing business.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,190
    91
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
157
692
123
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We arrived in Cape Town a couple of days ago to be part in the wedding of some of our best friends.
In advance we booked the Blackheath Lodge for them, based on the outstanding ratings on tripadvisor and the pictures we saw on the webpage.
Once we arrived and saw the place we decided to stay there as well, as it is really beautiful.

Even if there is definitely no need to place another recommendation for them in the web I would like to do so anyway.

It really is a beautiful, peaceful and layed back place. Yes, it is definitely not in a backpackers budget, but if you are searching for a wonderful place to stay, this is absolutely a place to head for.

Rooms are wonderful, everything is set up with love for detail. Breakfest is lovely and we really enjoyed the "bar of trust" policy.

But much more important, the staff is incredibly nice, warm and open. The whole team makes you feel welcome from the first second on.


So, if you plan to visit Cape town, have a try, it´s more than worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We found the Blackheath lodge a little paradise in Capetown! A superwarm welcome awaited us, the rooms were great and the hospitality even greater. Not only was our 4 night in the Blackheath lodge superb, Anthony/John and the team made sure that the rest of our trip through South Africa was well organized and planned. They gave us tons of great recommendations which all turned out to be spot on. Thank you Blackheath team, for making our first trip to South Africa unforgettable. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Lovely Lodge with a gorgeous decoration, staff and location. I highly recommend new guests to enjoy the experience of a lovely stay.
Attention to details is a plus in every corner of the space, where you can find local tribal decoration such as gorgeous chandeliers, colorful pillows and table clothes, beads dolls, leather armchairs and a welcoming fireplace where you can rest after a promenade day.
The breakfast is divine, homemade pastries and bread and a yummy yogurt muesli.
I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: The first room towards the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

What an amazing place! Even though I had read numerous reviews that said what a fabulous place this was, I never expected Blackheath to exceed my expectations! EVERYONE there is so personable and friendly. always ready to help you with plans or ideas on what to do. We rented the mini cooper one day and had a fabulous time driving down to the Cape of Good Hope. Took the recomomended wine country tour for a day; a bargain for the entire day. Location is great; able to walk most places. Dinner recommendations were spot on. Ate at the Duchess of Wyngate, Paternero, etc. One night ordered in a pizza which was great! One night we had a cheese tray in which was just perfect! There is a honor bar which was very convenient if you wanted a glass of wine. If I ever get back to Cape Town, I would defnitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I, together with 4 other friends stayed at Blackheath from 29 April - 05 May 2013. We were already impressed after just reading the rave reviews on Tripadvisor, but our actual experience exceeded all expectations!

The breakfasts were delicious, and the entire guest house was utterly charming. But what made our stay extra special was their great customer service! For example, every morning John would ask what our plans were for the day and offered to make reservations/bookings for us if needed. The rest of the staff were also always friendly, helpful and attentive to our needs. Overall I definitely recommend the place and would book myself here again the next time I'm in Cape Town! :)

Thanks again to John, Antony, Jean-Claude and the rest of the staff at Blackheath! Keep up the good work! :) And please send our love to Soda and Pop! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

From the very start Antony and his team provided the highest level of customer service- five stars aren't enough! He was extremely helpful in tailoring activities and dining to meet my needs. The property itself is gorgeously decorated and Antony's impeccable attention to detail made the stay really relaxing. It was so easy to explore the city knowing you being provided truly expert information and a week seemed too short. Each day started with and amazing breakfast made to order and after a day of sightseeing and dining I enjoyed relaxing with some local wine in the cozy poolside and dining areas. Having nightly chats with Jean-Claude, one of the wonderful staff members, was always a special treat. I plan to go back at the first opportunity and will continue to spread words of praise for this amazing guesthouse.

Room Tip: Just tell Antony what you need- he'll take care of the rest!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.