We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect end to our holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Perfect end to our holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Many thanks to Antony and all the staff who were so friendly and helpful over our 5 night stay. Slightly apprehensive when we first walked in having stayed in various large hotels throughout our trip. What sets Blackheath Lodge apart is that it is such a comfortable and relaxing place to stay. The staff are all so lovely and go out of their way to help you. We were fortunate to have the loft suite and 'lived' on the balcony. Loved it. Do go to the Duchess of Wisbech which Antony recommended - fab food and atmosphere. Also we had a takeaway on two nights (sat on our balcony) which they ordered in for us - lovely. Perfectly postioned in that you can walk to the V & A Waterfront, the Seafront and red and blue bus stops etc but after the madness of the crowds return to the peace and quiet of Blackheath. Even the other guests were all just so friendly. This was the perfect place to stay to end our holiday.

Room Tip: Go for the loft apartment. Sleeps 4 but fab for two. Own kitchen area. Has large decking area wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,214
    92
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
162
706
124
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

What a refreshing place. From the moment we got out of the taxi to the time we left we were made to feel welcomed and that nothing was too much trouble. On arrival Godfrey gave us a detailed briefing, over a welcome drink, about the hotel and answered all our questions about Cape Town and places to visit.

Although there is a computer available for residents to use, Godfrey very helpfully booked and printed off tickets for Robben Island and Table Mountain cable way.

We stayed in room 7 which has a dual aspect looking over the ocean and (if you turn your head) Signal Hill. This is a comfortable room with a large contemporary shower. The Wi-Fi connections are very good – and free! The large bed was very comfortable.

There was so much choice at breakfasts; we cannot do them justice here but we enjoyed the delicious fruit salad, mini quiches and the cooked to order traditional eggs & bacon or omelettes.

Blackheath Lodge is very convenient for the Sea Point Promenade. A stroll along Beach Road to the V&A Waterfront will take you about 40 minutes. If you take the Main Road route it is a little quicker (about 30 minutes) but it doesn’t have the same views. We stayed for six nights and it felt so comfortable whenever returning from a day out or an evening at the Waterfront.

We booked Blackheath Lodge on the strength of the reviews on Trip Advisor and were not let down. Michelle, Godfrey, Peter and all the staff were friendly, helpful and made us feel at ease. Any return to Cape Town will certainly be to the Blackheath.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

My wife Julia and I got married on March 09, and the next day we boarded a plane to South Africa to start our honeymoon. Flying to SA from the States a lot of time, so we got into Cape Town pretty late, however, from the start of our planning of our trip (back in Oct 12) Michelle had arranged for our pick up and transfer to Blackheath. Upon our arrival, Jean-Claude quickly took our bags to our room and made sure we had everything we needed. The next morning we had an amazing breakfast as we were getting ready to leave on our private wine tour of the Cape Winelands (again the staff had arranged this awesome trip for us). I made a mistake in miscalculating our return to Cape Town, however, that would not be a problem for Antony, he was able to accommodate us on our return trip back to Cape Town. Our last night was spent in the Loft Suite which has an amazing view of the bay and the surrounding area. What makes Blackheath Lodge so special is the people of Blackheath. Blackheath Lodge is home away from home. Blackheath Lodge will be my wife's and my place to stay on our return trip back to Cape Town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Blackheath Lodge is a great midpoint in Cape Town to get away and still be in the center of it all. Antony welcomes you every morning and helps you plan your day. The tour companies and restaurants that he suggests are wonderful. Our room was decorated lovely and the beds were extremely comfortable. My favorites part of the day was waking up to a delicious breakfast. We were very pleased with the ambiance and greatly appreciated their great hospitality. In the evening it was wonderful to come back to a great conversation Jean Claude. The hotel is located in the middle of Camps Bay and City Centre. You wind up taking cabs everywhere anyway, so you might as well stay in a quiet area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a warm welcome from Jean Claude who immediately made us feel at home. All the staff were friendly and helpful.
Blackheath Lodge is on a quiet residential street, quiet and safe.

We were 6 adults staying one night at the end of our South African holiday. We all agreed that the breakfasts were the best of our trip, something for everyone and so tasty too.
The beds were exceptionally comfortable.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We only stayed one night at the end of our holiday but this lived up to previous reviews and recommendations and we were made to feel very welcome. We had a fantastic queen sized bed with a small balcony surrounded by a well appointed garden, full of beautiful shrubs and flowers. Although we did not have the full breakfast on offer there was a good selection available to set you up for the day.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Blackheath Lodge was our first guest house experience in South Africa and we were not disappointed. The house is beautiful, decorated in a lovely style. The rooms are very nice and the pool area, although small is lovely. The staff are friendly and helpful and on arrival ensured we had dinner reservations. I would definitely recommend this guest house to other travellers. It's well priced and good value.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.