We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a five star hotel with the personal touch….Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Like a five star hotel with the personal touch….Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

What a beautiful place, what wonderful people. We stayed here for one night after traveling the garden route, this place was one of my highlights of the trip, Anthony and staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome, nothing was too much bother. They helped us plan our last days in Cape Town to perfection, giving us all the local advice.
The accommodation is just beautiful, the beds are so comfy, gorgeous modern bathroom, so spacious and clean.
Breakfast was divine, all homemade and everything we could possibly want.
Location was perfect, quiet yet central, easy to get to all the sights.
If you want a place to stay where you can make the most of your time in Cape town and stay in a luxurious B&B this is it! Like a five star hotel with the personal touch….Bliss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,207 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,108
    85
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
145
637
120
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Blackheath Lodge is a lovely place, it surpassed expectations. We had a very relaxed stay and Anthony so helpful in making extra arrangements for our trip. The decor is fab with lots of quirky touches and the location excellent, just a short walk from the sea. Breakfast was perfect and all the staff really helpful. Cute little pool and well tended gardens. Want to go back already!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good location, We arrived early morning and were welcomed with breakfast and access to shower room (no extra charges), Anthony and staff very helpful- great advice on where to go and what to do. Arranged tours for us.
Comfy quiet rooms very well appointed. No hesitation, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Very friendly B&B with a great staff, and nice pool area. My room had a good view. They were helpful in all ways. Sea Point is not far from all the places I wanted to visit in Cape Town. A little hard to find at night with my Avis car GPS, but no real problem.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

A great place to stay in Cape Town! Quite central, but also quite close to the beaches (but neither is what I'd call a short walk away either..)
A nicely decorated place, where you feel right at home..only more relaxed!
It's great to enjoy a glass of wine by the pool and the breakfast on the balcony was wonderful!
They've got great attention to detail- with a cellphone with a south african sim-card on the room, for when you don't want to bring your own out with you, a mini-cab outside you can rent by the day to explore the cape (but it's popular, so book in advance!).. But they've also got a direct phoneline to a reasonable and reliable taxi-service. We got a lot of nice restaurants recommended and the staff will do their best to make your stay memorable!
We also liked the fact that the lodge had started a fund for their employees childrens education! It made us feel like they really looked after both their guests and their employees.
We will return, I hope in not too long!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

It's a common saying that nothing in life is perfect. Well, Blackheath Lodge proves the exception to the rule. We have just enjoyed our fifth stay at Blackheath and, it was, simply perfect.
As usual, we were welcomed as old friends. Not just by the owners, but by all the staff. All of them with the same objective; to make our stay as enjoyable, relaxed and worry-free as possible.
Nothing is ever too much trouble. On the contrary, they positively yearn to do things for you and make any arrangements that need to be made - their logic being that we're on holiday, so shouldn't have to concern ourselves with anything other than achieving complete relaxation. The accommodation itself was as elegant as ever, yet every year we see another project completed, raising the comfort bar just that little bit higher.
Quite simply, staying anywhere else in Cape Town is utterly unthinkable.

Room Tip: Room 1,2,3 and 4 are the ones we go for. Classic Edwardian style for 1,2 and three. For a more moder...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Blackheath Lodge is a cracking little place to stay - imagine going to a lovely big family house and being welcomed in. That's what this place is. It's got a real family feel, you can go to your comfy little room or hang out in the kitchen area with the other guests and have a drink.

It is run by a lovely woman who is good fun and gives you lots of advice on places to go and the rest of the staff are brilliant.

Value for money is spot on and location is also excellent.

If and when we come back to Capetown we'll be staying here for sure.

Room Tip: Lots of different rooms here, we stayed in two different ones and they were both great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.