We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in Seapoint” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Sollentuna, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect in Seapoint”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

Went to Cape Town for our first visit to RSA.
Cape Town was a positive surprice to us.

Blackheath Lodge is a very nice and cosy lodge I would recommend for anyone if you look for a small and friendly establishment. Very nice rooms, a pool and a nice home made breakfast with Individual service at the table.

Antony is very friendly and helpful owner of the logde
The staff was also very nice and helpful.

Recommened tours

Taffel Mountain, walk up and take the lift down. The day we walked It was to windy for the lift so we had to walk down, all in all it took about 7 hours.
We hired a guide, Robin, something I really can recommend, you get much more out of the walk that way.

Clifton Beach number 1 to 4, world class beaches, no restaurants though, you have to walk to Camps Bay for lunch.

Lions head, 45 minutes to 1 hour to walk up to the top, easy walk with some ladders, met all ages on my way up and down. Very nice view from the top. Start before 09.00, after that is to warm.

Cape Point, go there for the view, no Baboons in sight though, that was a disappointment. On the way back, pay a visit to Harbour House in Kalk Bay, very nice food.

Room Tip: Number 4 was a very nice triple room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,189
    90
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
157
691
123
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

Our family (2 adults & 2 children 7 & 12) stayed here for 3 nights and really enjoyed the hospitality they offered. It is a very professionally run lodge that has all the nice little touches including things like city guides, tourist information and recommendations all tied up with a pretty ribbon in your room, weather forecasts for the coming days and a honesty bar.
The room was well appointed with comfortable beds, nice linen, a mobile phone for use if required and their own personalized toiletries.
Anthony and Jean Claude were great at recommending nearby restaurants to try and organized the bookings and taxis to get you there.
The airport transfers were also very good and I would recommend using them and wished we had booked some day trips with the same guide.
The lodge had a lovely feel about it and all the staff were very welcoming.
I would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone visiting Cape Town and it was a great alternative to the very touristy Waterfront area to stay.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

We chose to stay at this Lodge after reading the excellent recommendations on Trip Advisor and we can only agree with them. Antony, Jean Claude and the rest of the staff were lovely and helpful at all times - suggesting and making reservations for restos, organising transfers, taxis etc The bfast is really good. The location is good, in Seapoint, a short taxi ride away from V&A Waterfront. Antony helped us plan and then booked (before our arrival in SA, through an exchange of emails) our 3 day trip to Franschhoek and Arniston bay for us - including car, great hotels, itinerary, driving tips - which was just fantastic! Another positive point: since we were leaving late in the evening, we could freshen up in the spare showers by the pool after a day out and before a long flight. Definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We stayed in 2 of their rooms, one at the beginning and at the end of our stay - and admittedly, alt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

We cannot recommend this establishment highly enough. Anthony and all his staff excel at making you comfortable. They are very aware of things to do, places to go and excellent travel tips - down to what taxi to take that will give you the SA price! There is nothing that is too much trouble. We will highly recommend this to all our friends and hope one day to return.

Room Tip: There are two amazing rooms upstairs - they are an upgrade but lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I can't say enough great things about Blackheath Lodge. Anthony and all his team made us feel so welcomed. They paid attention to every detail and nothing was too much trouble. They gave brilliant recommendations for places to eat and matched recommendations with our personalities. There is such a lovely homely feel to the place. If you love a little bit of home when away with friendly people then you will love it. Everyone is so friendly and they cook a cracking breakfast. I can't say a single negative thing about the accommodation, staff or location - the best service ever and made our trip to Cape Town absolutely brilliant. Will definitely return in the future. Top marks well deserved.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

I have just enjoyed another fabulous stay at Blackheath Lodge. The large number of repeat visitors they have says it all. You will get just as warm a welcome from the hosts (Antony and John) regardless of if its your 1st time at the lodge or your 100th. Its great to see the renovated rooms and pool area - the focus really is on keeping this guesthouse at the top of its game. I disagree with the previous reviewer - its a great location. Its 10 minute walk from the popular Seapoint promenade - great for a leisurely stroll or a morning jog with the ocean at your side. An amazing place to stay.

Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

My wife and I stayed at Blackheath Lodge (BHL) from Nov 5 to Nov 13, 2011. We had chosen BHL after reading all the rave reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed at all. The lodge was great and clean with excellent rooms and a great deck for breakfast (overlooking the pool).

The location of the lodge was perfect (in Seapoint). It was a 5 minute walk from the beach and a 5 minute ride to the V&A Waterfront (easily walkable as well).

Our host, Antony was superb by all standards. Not only was he very friendly and welcoming and ensured the utmost comfort while staying at the lodge, he was also great at suggesting places to eat, places to visit, bookings etc. He was always ready to help whenever needed and would also ask if we required any kind of help for places that we need to visit. A case in point was out visit to Table Mountain - when he found out that we want to visit, he suggested that he can book the tickets (for the cable car) online as this would save us standing in-line when we got there. Needless to say, when we got to the Mountain, there was quite a long line for the tickets and we were glad that we (or rather Antony) had bought online tickets for us.
He also booked paragliding and shark-cage diving for us and we enjoyed them both tremendously. Moreover, he is also a perfect "weather forecaster" and would help us in planning our activities as per the weather forecast. All his staff was superb and friendly and really helpful as well.
All in all, we were glad that we stayed here and if we go back to Cape Town, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.