We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 1st time in SA...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blackheath Lodge

Save Saved
You added Blackheath Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blackheath Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 102 hotels in Cape Town Central
West London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Our 1st time in SA...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

... and Blackheath Lodge was a great intro to the warm reception we received throughout our travels along the Southern Cape. We had pre-booked for 6 nights and were a little concerned that this may be too long, but the delights of Cape Town mixed with the 5* hospitality received at Blackheath gave our holiday a fantastic kick start. We arrived early from our overnight flight and were welcomed with a pot of tea and invited to freshen-up before booking our pass to whisk us up Table Mountain by lunchtime - we had declined the offer for breakfast! This level of service was available throughout our stay, but don't take my word for it... sample it for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,122
    86
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
150
644
120
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011 via mobile

There are so many stellar reviews of this wonderful place that it is hard to know what to add. But how would you like the proprietor of your hotel to sit down with you as you are finishing a remarkable breakfast to give you tips and hints for the things he already knows you are doing that day? Anthony does that, treats guests as family, has an extremely competent staff, and contributes to the education of their children. I felt honored to be a guest there.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halle
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

Thats how I could review this lodge in a few words. Stayed here 2 years ago and ever since wanted to return. They made some very nice refurbishments and the level of sservice has been even improved further with Michelle and Jean-Claude's sister as a cook :)
Perfect, cosey, friendly, homely....perfect. Keep it up guys, you rock.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Black heath Lodge is a wonderful small boutique hotel. The breakfast is wonderful and there is plenty of food it is all homemade. I loved the made to order omletes. There was appetizers and drinks in the afternoon. The rooms are large and the bathrooms. The hotel is situated in Sea Point which is a nice upscale neighborhood. The owners are wonderful and very helpful in arranging any adventure you would like. I chose the Shark Cage experience and it was great.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

We stayed at Blackheath Lodge as part of a girls weekend away and we weren't disappointed. The management and staff are helpful and friendly and can't do enough to ensure that you enjoy your stay. We arrived early in the morning to drop our luggage off and we were welcomed with a cup of coffee and invited to freshen up before heading off to the shops. Michelle kindly arranged a taxi to take us to dinner and we were warmly welcomed by Jean Claud when we returned later in the evening. Before breakfast the next day we set out for a long walk along the promenade which is only a few blocks away. The food is sublime and served on a gorgeous covered patio overlooking the pool. The hotel is absolutely spotless and the rooms and bathrooms are spacious and comfortable. We stayed on the top floor with views of Lion's Head from the bathroom and bedroom and even a glimpse of the sea from the sitting area window.

Blackheath Lodge is in a fantastic location for getting around Seapoint and down to the Waterfront, yet is situated in a quiet residential street set a couple of blocks away from the hustle and bustle of the main shopping and restaurant areas. I would highly recommend this hotel for ladies travelling together as we felt safe at all times. Before we set off for our next destination Anthony took the time to give us a map and even suggested a short cut which no one knew about. I will definitely be going back and I might even take my husband next time.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We stayed here for 3 nights before our overland tour. It's a wonderful haven with beautiful, tasteful homely furnishings and a very comfortable bed. The rooms are sizeable with a wonderful modern ensuite bathroom. The breakfasts are quite special, there is plenty of quality food and it is cooked fresh for you - quite substantial for a B & B - with a great pot of tea which means alot to me as I don't expect that when travelling (good coffee too I'm told). The staff are fantastic and care about your holiday. I'm glad we took the airport transfer recomended by Anthony as it makes a difference coming from a long flight, no hassles or security worries. It is in a good location, only a few minutes walk to some shops, laundrette, the waterfront and some restaurants. You can relax at night as if you are at home, with a self service bar and can even order in takeaways and eat it in the lounge in a civilised way and not hide in your room! Free internet too which is a real bonus when travelling.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was one of the nicest and best equipped hotels I have ever stayed in. Antony, Jean Claude and their colleagues had thought of everything, from the welcome pack (with maps and info about Cape Town), to the amazing DVD collection, to the pay as you go mobile phones available for you to use while you're there. We got excellent advice about where to eat and where to shop. Each room has real character: we stayed twice over the course of our Cape Town visit, at the beginning and end of our trip, and both the rooms we were given were super-comfortable. Blackheath Lodge suits couples or holidays with groups of friends: our first visit, we were accompanied by friends who also stayed in the hotel, and the second time my husband and I stayed on our own. On both occasions we felt very relaxed - the rooms are large and fun to be in but the public spaces are also very welcoming. The staff went out of their way to help us with things like wake-up calls and drying swimming costumes. I can't recommend this place enough, it's like having a little bit of home while you're away!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blackheath Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blackheath Lodge

Address: 6 Blackheath Road | Sea Point, Cape Town Central 8005, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#1 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#3 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blackheath Lodge 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blackheath Lodge is a Victorian guest house situated below Signal Hill, a stone's throw from the city, Waterfront and well-known beaches. Stylish bedrooms, excellent personalized service and warm hospitality. Enjoy breakfast on the terrace overlooking the pool and garden. Come home to a sundowner after a busy day of sightseeing or power business dealings, safe in the knowledge that a quiet, comfortable night's sleep awaits you. Airport transfers. Credit Cards. Children 12+. TGCSA 4-Star Guest House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Blackheath Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blackheath Hotel Cape Town Central
Blackheath Cape Town
Blackheath Lodge Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blackheath Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.