We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Location and Friendly Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Never at Home Cape Town

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Never at Home Cape Town to your Saves list
Never at Home Cape Town
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   107 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa (Formerly Hotel Graeme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous Location and Friendly Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2009

The Hotel Graeme is just a short walk to the Victoria and Albert Shopping Center. The staff was friendly and helpful.It was also next door to two excellent restaurants: the Hussar Grill and a Thai Restaurant. The rooms were impeccably clean and the heating functioned very well as I was there during the winter. The bathrooms are also excellent. It was also very convenient to have a Woolworth's next door. The breakfast was fine.They are happy to store luggage. There transfers to the airport and other places are excellent.Best of all,Hotel Graeme is very reasonably priced.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
10
17
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, UK
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2009

I agree with Deepsleep, not a hotel if you are going to spend a large amount of time in your room, but ideal for a place to lay your head, and get a decent breakfast as a starter for the day.

Currently there are a large amount of road works and building works taking place near to the hotel, as it is situated in Green Point and the view from the front entrance is of the brand new football stadium for the world cup in 2010. The new stadium looks fantastic, and the plans for the whole area are amazing (apparently there is going to be a golf course surrounding the stadium), so it should be great when it’s all completed.

With regard to the hotel, as we were there for 10 nights (during the Lions rugby tour), with a day out to fly to J’burg with overnight stay, we were moved to a larger room for the second part of the stay. In comparison, the first room was adequate, with double bed, T.V, vanity unit, wardrobe (with safe), and bathroom. We found the first room to initially be cold, but managed to find a radiator to switch on, that eventually warmed the room through. The rooms were cleaned daily, with fresh towels for the bathroom. Bathroom was shower, toilet and sink (no bath). Shower was adequate, not the best and definitely not the worst that I have had in hotel rooms. Second week we were moved to a larger room, that had a view straight to the stadium with a large sofa and area to relax. Basically the room layout was the same as before and bathroom exactly the same. I did see other rooms in the main part of the hotel that had better showers. There is an annexe block at the back as well with a number of rooms situated above the secured parking area. (Just as an aside, in the rooms in the actual hotel, there was a plug socket that was suitable to UK style plugs. Although was told that not all rooms had this).

Breakfast was good, with option of “Full English” or “Continental”. Cooked breakfasts were ordered, and the cereals, fruit, yoghurts, teas. coffees and toast as help yourself. Breakfast staff was very amenable, although sometimes on the slow side, but not that this added any detriment to the overall stay.

Must recommend the Hussar grill next door to the hotel. Excellent food, wine and beer, and convenient meeting place if you are in a large group such as ours as the hotel has no bar or lounge area as such.

Local taxi firm is directly outside the door to the left, with a number of other bars and restaurants along the road to the right, with pronounced security on the streets as a build up to next year.

Overall, a very pleasant stay, and would recommend as a stopover hotel, but as stated previously if you want luxury this isn’t perhaps the hotel for you

  • Stayed June 2009
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2008

This a great value value hotel. Good location, 10 minutes easy walking to the V & A waterfront. Good breakfast, clean rooms, very efficient and extremely helpful staff. Airport pickup arranged if required. I feel that many of the previous reviews have been a bit unfair and unrealistic. If you intend spending a lot of time at your hotel this is probably not the hotel for you - for that you will have to pay three times a much. But if you use this hotel as a base for sleeping and the good breakfast then you will not be disappointed.

  • Liked — Great value
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2008

Okay, but not so nice as the first few reviews make out. The rooms are a little bit dog-eared, though they are cleaned properly by the domestic staff. The doors are very thin, ensuring that you get little privacy while in your room. Overall it attracts respectable, middle-class people, although we had some unsavoury types one night in the room next to us. Location, too, is excellent, the hotel being just 15 minutes walk away from the waterfront. The buffet breakfast, too, is very nice. The staff, finally, were very helpful. Overall not a bad choice if you are looking for a budget hotel in Cape Town, but don't expect a chic boutique hotel like some of the other reviwers make out, because it is most certainly not. Try the Southern Sun just down the road if u want something a bit more classy

  • Stayed August 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Territory Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

We stayed at the Graeme for 5 nights over xmas in a 2 bedroom suite. This was the old section of the hotel and I see there were new addistions which might be much nicer!
Whilst it was very spacious (2 bedrooms, lounge area and separate Kitchen,) and we were happy with that aspect the suite itself was old, lounge was stained as was the carpets.
The ceilings were all cracked with gyrock falling off, the windows you could hardly see out of. etc etc. noisy also.
The position was great we walked to restaurants and shops and not far from Waterfront. If you want a cheap spacious apartment wich includes a nice breakfast and is in a good position then this would be ok. But I wouldn't return

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2007

My credit card was stolen and used South African bars, restaurants, strip clubs and liquor stores. The Hotel Graeme was the only place I used my credit card in South Africa so it is pretty obvious that the thief is from the Graeme.

When I complained by e-mail Mary assured me she was taking this "very seriously" and conducting an "exhaustive search" and would be in touch with the results...which never arrived. My e-mails are now going unanswered months later.

While we were there it was very amusing to use the computers by the front desk and listen to the receptionist answer the phone becuase her answer to every question was "No" or "I'm sorry we don't do that."

There were some nice parts about our stay like the good scrambled eggs and the gated parking, but the stolen credit card clouds my whole experience with the Grame and Cape Town and I'm sure it would for you too.

  • Liked — breakfast and parking
  • Disliked — unhelpful and dishonest
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2007

Spent 6 nights at the Hotel Graeme, and were very happy with the location, accomodation and particularly the staff. From the moment of arrival right through to departure the service and attention was excellent. The breakfast was very substantial and could easily see you through to an evening meal. There are shops and restaurants right outside the front door, very convenient if you don't fancy the 5 minutes walk to the V&A Waterfront. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the new football arena being built for 2010 World Cup.
We booked two trips with the tour company recommended by the hotel, these were excellent, Mac, the owner, takes pride in his work and goes the extra mile to ensure that your trip is something to remember as a highlight of your holiday. We would certainly return to the Greame again and confidently recommend it to others.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Nothing sticks in mind
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Never at Home Cape Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Never at Home Cape Town

Address: 107 Main Rd | Green Point, Cape Town Central 8051, South Africa (Formerly Hotel Graeme)
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Never at Home Cape Town 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the vibrant Green Point "strip", we are surrounded by trendy restaurants and bars, overlook the Cape Town Stadium and in walking distance of the famous V & A Waterfront and Cape Town CBD. Easy access to public transport provides guests with rapid access to Long Street (South Africa's most famous party destination), Table Mountain (a new 7 wonder of the world) and some of the best beaches Cape Town has to offer. We provide a range of accommodation including shared dormitories and double/twin rooms for those looking for something a little more intimate. Separate sanctuary accommodation is also available for females only. The majority of our rooms are en-suite with additional communal bathrooms provided for extra convenience. Basics, necessities like lockers, bedding, heating and air conditioning are supplied in all rooms. Our reception is open 24 hours and safety and security is a key priority. The Randy Warthog, bar and restaurant overlooks the hostel waterhole (swimming pool and sundeck to those in the know). Randy hosts parties and events most days of the week, including traditional braai's (barbeque in South African language). A continental breakfast is available at the hostel but not included in the rate. Additional hostel facilities include a communal kitchen, TV room, internet zone and bicycle hire for those with a little more energy. Fast wireless connectivity is available throughout property. Our tour desk guys just love Cape Town and can advise you on all the hot spots and best day trips! They can also advise you on what not to do. A hostel shuttle bus runs daily for in house guests, and safe car parking for those independent types. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com and Travelocity so you can book your Never at Home Cape Town reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Graeme Hotel Cape Town
Never At Home Cape Town South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Never at Home Cape Town, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.