We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfekt stay in Capetown” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilmourhill B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Gilmourhill B&B to your Saves list
Gilmourhill B&B
7 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Frankfurt, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfekt stay in Capetown”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

The Host, she is such a nice person. She is try to help you in everything, at every Moment. Not at least, she cooks you a perfekt and fresh breakfast on your choice. The interior is very nice and autentic for this beautiful house. Thanks again Maureen for our 2 weeks stay with you.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Gilmourhill on 29 and 30 December 2013. What a pleasant experience! We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this delightful Cape-style house. The location of Gilmourhill is wonderful. It's close to a few very good restaurants and albeit in Cape Town, still just outside of the hustle and bustle. The area is safe as well - we had a pleasant walk one evening to Da Vinci's (where we had dinnner) and back to the B&B. The furniture and decoration are beautiful and we stayed in the top room which was very spacious with the bathtub overlooking Table Mountain. Our room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Breakfast was very good, especially on our last morning when we were served pancakes with bacon and syrup. Maureen was also very friendly and helpful. We will definitely return!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We got a tip from some of our friends about this BnB and that it was a lovely place to stay with a really nice owner that took good care of the guests. It was so much better! Maureen, the owner, is a fantastic woman and treated us like family. When we came there (our first stay) we had no plan but a few things we wanted to see, so Maureen took care of it and arranged the start of the holliday for us. What a service! So if you want a lovely place to stay, for a affordable cost, great service and with the best owner...this is the place!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Having just arrived in Cape Town after a 2 week journey from Perth on the Queen Mary 2, my 78 yr old mother and I were a little apprehensive. What would our accommodation be like? Would it be central? After the Queen Maary 2 would we still have that being looked after experience?

Well..... Our concerns were instantly dashed the minute the owners lovely daughter met us at the port with the warmest of welcomes. We were taken directly to a beautiful Victorian cottage on the slopes of Tabe Mountain aand we had to keep pinching ourselves at the luck of finding Gilmourhill B and B. Our room was beautifully appointed with lovely furnishings. The beds were so incredibly comfortable, it was difficult to get up in the mornings. Our breakfasts were delicious and the house was delightful. What made our stay incredibly special was the warmth and care of our hosts going out of their way to look after us. So much so it was like we were staying with family and friends and not someone we had recently met. The location of the B and B is ideal with great local restaurants and close to the city and local tourist sites. Could not recommend it highly enough. Great value for money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After an eleven hour flight we had a somewhat difficult start to our holiday when we were left without accommodation. As fate would have it, we were led to the welcoming arms of the one & only Maureen at Gilmourhill. On arrival we were given the pick of the available rooms & we chose a fabulous room at the rear of the house with a wet room. All of the rooms are stylishly decorated & well appointed. Breakfasts are marvellous & served on the front terrace. (You really must try the fruit salad with figs from the garden.) In the few days we were there we were thoroughly looked after by Maureen, nothing was too much trouble & we had a really calming stay. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough, look no further. Thank you Maureen.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We initially planned to stay somewhere else, but the fact that they were fully booked drove us into the hands of Maureen. We were lucky that it went this way. Maureen offered us a comfy home for four nights. Gilmour Hill is in a quiet and safe neighbourhood and in walking distance of many restaurants and sights in the city. The house itself is beautiful. Breakfast is delicious and taken outside on the patio or inside if the weather is less favourable. We really felt at home and enjoyed the stories from Maureen (don't ask her about the picture of her posing with Mandela if you're in a hurry). The room, we were in the red one, was big and clean. Maureen also arranges to pick you up from the airport, quite a treat if you've just been on a cramped airplane seat for 11 hours.

We could not have wished for a better start for our trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The house is beautiful, Maureen used to be in interiors and it shows! The house is eclectic, welcoming and very charming. My room was large, clean and very comfortable. Crisp white sheets and big plump pillow are just the thing after a day trecking around the wineries. The food is out of this world and very plentiful - I challenge you to go hungry with Maureen cooking. Located in a great and safe part of town you are close to lovely restruants and groovy cafes, you will be walking distance to teh V&A Waterfront. Maureen is happy to organise your tours, taxis and gives the BEST shopping advice.
Exceptional value for money - don't miss out on this Cape Town diamond!!

Room Tip: They are all good but if its free go for the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilmourhill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmourhill B&B

Address: 7 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilmour Hill is a superb retreat at the edge of the city. Relax and Rejuvenate in style in this perfectly located guesthouse. Nestled between Cape Town’s city bowl and Lion’s head is the quiet suburb of Tamboerskloof.The house stands on the slopes of Table Mountain, where it has stood since the late 19th century. Gilmour hill is a beautifully appointed Victorian home which has 4 en suite bedrooms, a central dining area, living area, an outside patio with a potted garden, which like the house brims with character and life. There is satellite TV in some of the rooms and wifi in the whole house.Maureen the owner is as eclectic as the house itself. She has travelled extensively and loves nothing more than engaging in the stories she shares with travellers from all over the world. She brings with her an atmosphere of warmth and congeniality to this B&B that is also her home. Her love of cooking promises breakfasts of home baking, homemade jams and very different delights such as pancakes with crispy bacon, crème fraiche and maple syrup decorated with summer fruits and always a pot of freshly brewed coffee.Gilmour Hill is situated in the very heart of the ‘10-minute suburb’ of Tamboerskloof, everything around the city is a mere 10 minute taxi ride; the city centre, the Convention Centre, Camps Bay & Clifton beaches, the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain and Lion’s head. The bustling Kloof Street with its countless restaurants and shops is within walking distance of the house. Close to public transport too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Gilmourhill B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gilmourhill B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilmourhill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.