We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fairy Godmother.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gilmourhill B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cape Town Central
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Gilmourhill B&B
Save
You added Gilmourhill B&B to your Saves list
7 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fairy Godmother.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After an eleven hour flight we had a somewhat difficult start to our holiday when we were left without accommodation. As fate would have it, we were led to the welcoming arms of the one & only Maureen at Gilmourhill. On arrival we were given the pick of the available rooms & we chose a fabulous room at the rear of the house with a wet room. All of the rooms are stylishly decorated & well appointed. Breakfasts are marvellous & served on the front terrace. (You really must try the fruit salad with figs from the garden.) In the few days we were there we were thoroughly looked after by Maureen, nothing was too much trouble & we had a really calming stay. I cannot recommend this B&B highly enough, look no further. Thank you Maureen.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We initially planned to stay somewhere else, but the fact that they were fully booked drove us into the hands of Maureen. We were lucky that it went this way. Maureen offered us a comfy home for four nights. Gilmour Hill is in a quiet and safe neighbourhood and in walking distance of many restaurants and sights in the city. The house itself is beautiful. Breakfast is delicious and taken outside on the patio or inside if the weather is less favourable. We really felt at home and enjoyed the stories from Maureen (don't ask her about the picture of her posing with Mandela if you're in a hurry). The room, we were in the red one, was big and clean. Maureen also arranges to pick you up from the airport, quite a treat if you've just been on a cramped airplane seat for 11 hours.

We could not have wished for a better start for our trip to South Africa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

The house is beautiful, Maureen used to be in interiors and it shows! The house is eclectic, welcoming and very charming. My room was large, clean and very comfortable. Crisp white sheets and big plump pillow are just the thing after a day trecking around the wineries. The food is out of this world and very plentiful - I challenge you to go hungry with Maureen cooking. Located in a great and safe part of town you are close to lovely restruants and groovy cafes, you will be walking distance to teh V&A Waterfront. Maureen is happy to organise your tours, taxis and gives the BEST shopping advice.
Exceptional value for money - don't miss out on this Cape Town diamond!!

Room Tip: They are all good but if its free go for the top of the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2011

We accidentally "stumbled" upon Maureen's Gilmourhill Bed & Breakfast because there appeared nothing else available for our 3 day's stay in Cape Town. And to be honest, we accepted this B&B only with great apprehension, since I couldn't find any review on the Net - consider that our whole South Africa round trip was solely based on tripadvisor reviews!

Gilmourhill B&B is located in one of the safest parts of Cape Town (Tamboerskloof), just a couple of minutes on foot away from Kloofstreet with tens of restaurants, among which "The Opal Room" one of the best reviewed restaurants in the city.

Contrary to the other 9 B&B's we did visit during our SA visit - and don't get me wrong, none of them was a disappointment! - this was the one place where we really shared somebody's home and felt cared for in a special way. We fell in love with Maureen, her house, her cats (who demanded their share of love and attention).

Incidentally, we stayed in Maureen's luxury room - the blue room. This "room" actually covers her houses whole top floor, with a large bedroom, and a huge bath tub with the most excellent view on Table Mountain. Every single evening we took a bath and enjoyed the view of the mountain.

If you are looking for a home away from home go stay with Maureen, we will remember her place for the rest of our lives!

Room Tip: I haven't seen the other rooms, but her "Blue Room" is truly fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gilmourhill B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilmourhill B&B

Address: 7 Gilmour Hill Road | Tamboerskloof, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Tamboerskloof
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 102 Specialty Lodging in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gilmour Hill is a superb retreat at the edge of the city. Relax and Rejuvenate in style in this perfectly located guesthouse. Nestled between Cape Town’s city bowl and Lion’s head is the quiet suburb of Tamboerskloof.The house stands on the slopes of Table Mountain, where it has stood since the late 19th century. Gilmour hill is a beautifully appointed Victorian home which has 4 en suite bedrooms, a central dining area, living area, an outside patio with a potted garden, which like the house brims with character and life. There is satellite TV in some of the rooms and wifi in the whole house.Maureen the owner is as eclectic as the house itself. She has travelled extensively and loves nothing more than engaging in the stories she shares with travellers from all over the world. She brings with her an atmosphere of warmth and congeniality to this B&B that is also her home. Her love of cooking promises breakfasts of home baking, homemade jams and very different delights such as pancakes with crispy bacon, crème fraiche and maple syrup decorated with summer fruits and always a pot of freshly brewed coffee.Gilmour Hill is situated in the very heart of the ‘10-minute suburb’ of Tamboerskloof, everything around the city is a mere 10 minute taxi ride; the city centre, the Convention Centre, Camps Bay & Clifton beaches, the V&A Waterfront, Table Mountain and Lion’s head. The bustling Kloof Street with its countless restaurants and shops is within walking distance of the house. Close to public transport too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gilmourhill B&B Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gilmourhill B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.