We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel in a fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Three Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Three Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Flower Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A gem of a hotel in a fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I travel with business frequently and am usually put up in very nice hotels but they are often quite impersonal. As I was staying nearly a week, I thought i'd find my own accomodation. I wanted somewhere which was of a high standard, comfortable, stylish and importantly, in an area where I would feel comfortable walking around. The Three Boutique Hotel seemed to fit my requirements.

You can never be sure if a place will really live up to expectations when you see pictures. The Three Boutique Hotel was even more lovely than any of the pictures could convey. It is an historic building which has been beautifully restored with care and style. It has a colonial feel to it but best of all, it was intimate and friendly without being too intimate and friendly that you don;t feel you have any privacy.

I absolutely loved i. From the roof terrace you have incredible views of Table Mountain and within a few minutes walk, you can be in bars and restaurants. A ten minute walk takes you into old Cape Town which is trendy and quircky and a 60 Rand taxi takes you to the waterfront which is a really fantastic place to spend the day.

South Africa has the reputation of being a place where you have to be very mindful of your personal security and although this is true, the Three Boutique Hotel is in an area which is safe and secure and I feel you can really get the most out of Cape Town.

I would go back in a trice. I was there on business but it is ideal for a holiday too. I perhaps wouldn;t recommend it for families with young children as the pool is small and there wouldn't be enough for them to do but for couples or single people, absolutley ideal! Exquisite and superb value!

Room Tip: All rooms are very similar. there isn't a lift so if you are disabled, ground floor would be bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
95
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kematen in Tirol, Austria
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Very hospitality, more Service than you can wish!
It was a great Start in South Afrika. Everything rooms interior Service , Tours , breakfast lokation , staff very nice and very personaly, Allen, Julie Justin, the whole staff are so caring! Thank you All!
Excellent!!
Brigitta Peter and Family

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights after a 13 day safari experience and enjoyed every minute if it . The breakfasts were great nice variety and eggs to order were superb. Room 12 had a great view of the Lion's Head and Table Mountain. Julie the Manage sat down with us the first morning we were there and helped us to work out a perfect plan to take in all the sights over the next 4 days and that was worth it's weight in gold . Her husband Alan was on call to drive guests if necessary or guide them on hikes and day trips which is a wonderful service . The rooms were well appointed with a fabulous rain shower and included a welcome drink upon arrival .The suggestions for " walk to" dining spots were just perfect after a busy day of touring. The stay really topped off our African adventure . Wonderful helpful staff .

Room Tip: /room 12 had a nice view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I am staying here for a week and I absolutely love it. The rooms are lovely, interior looks nice. Bathroom and shower are good as well. They have a laundry service here which is a plus. The staff is young, but eager to learn. They try to please you as much as possible. You can go to them for any questions about tours and they are willing to help you out. Because I'm travelling on my own its really nice that they have a driver who will bring you to restaurants in the evening.

Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

The Three Boutique Hotel is a beautiful, historic building that has been carefully restored to provide a very high standard of accommodation. It is centrally located in a quiet area of Cape Town near Table Mountain, with extensive views of the mountain from the roof-top garden. Every aspect of our stay was superb and to the highest standard, and all the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful. Even the wardrobes deserve special mention: they are large and strong enough to take a full-size, fully-loaded hanging garment case so that it can be opened to give access to all the contents - a facility that I have rarely found elsewhere!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

My wife and I were on our first visit to Africa and chose a four part tour of South Africa, finishing in Cape Town. We used the services of a South African specialist ' Perfect Africa' who not only booked everything to our personally created tour, but gave us a package that worked like clockwork with absolutely no problems. They actually placed us in the 3 Boutiques which really was the cherry on the cake. A beautfully restored colonial type building with the latest fittings and technology. The rooms and service was excellent and the proprietors, Julia and Alan made friends with us and were so helpful in planning our short stay. We loved the place and the people but the world is a big place and other countries beckon. We will be reccommending our Trip to our friends and to anyone else planning a visit to SA we would give a positive thumbs up to the 3 Boutiques. Something else for you to consider... I sent our required itinery to two agents and the one mentioned above was over 2000 pounds cheaper than the British agent. Everything was perfect.

Room Tip: Only two floors but no elevator. Choose ground floor if you don't do stairs. I am 68 with sl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

My hubby and myself just needed a good break from the pressures of life. We picked the perfect spot. The location of The Three boutique hotel was amazing, close to town but still calm and peaceful. All the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. We arrived to warm welcome from our hosts, bags shuttled off to our room, a complimentary drink placed in our hands, and a brief tour of the hotel, which led to a relaxing time lounging on the roof top sofa's while we sipped our drinks surrounded by the majestic mountains. The room was tasteful, clean and comfy. We requested a room with a bath and shower which was fantastic. Breakfast was decadent, (I highly recommend the eggs Benedict.) I had lived in Cape Town so I did not need tourist info, but I did however overhear the host giving very helpful and informative touring info, offering to make bus and restaurant bookings etc. It was definitely the second honeymoon we hoped for and would return in a heartbeat. Thanks to all who made our experience so memorable.

Room Tip: We wanted a room with a relaxing bath so that dictated where we went. But the sunny balcony rooms lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Three Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Flower Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old and new meet in perfect harmony at The Three Boutique Hotel, with the conversion of this beautiful National Monument building into a stylish and affordable 15-bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Cape Town.Owned and run by Justin & Natalia Pearson and their close friends Alun & Julie Jones, the service stands out as being exceptional, from the first email, to collection at the airport and looking after you during your Cape Town holiday or business trip at The Three Boutique Hotel. Steeped in hospitality from years of working on cruise ships, Justin and Natalia embody the perfect hosts.The Three Boutique Hotel fills the gap between a too-homely guest house and an impersonal hotel; it's exactly the right balance of chic surroundings, 4-star facilities and friendly service. The Three is modern and sophisticated Cape Town hotel accommodation with an historic heart in a trendy part of Cape Town.It offers free Wifi throughout, air conditioning, spacious bedrooms with flatscreen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. A columned terrace tiled in traditional black and white wraps around the house leading to the designer swimming pool and outdoor lounge. The rooftop deck adds another dimension for sunbathing and sunset drinks, with unparalleled views of Cape Town’s three iconic mountains; Table Mountain, Lions Head and Devil’s Peak, after which The Three is named.Cape Town International Airport is just 17km away and our airport shuttle can be booked to collect you or drop you off.The hotel shuttle is also available throughout the day for personalized tours as well as in the evenings to take you to and from restaurants. Many of Cape Town's top tourist sights are within walking distance and The Gardens shopping centre is just a 3 minute walk.4-Star TGSA Graded and Awarded ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Three Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.