We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Three Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Three Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
The Three Boutique Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3 Flower Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

This is a great little boutique hotel which is very centrally located. Justin was very hepful as are the rest of the staff. The rooms are lovely and clean with lovely amenities. Breakfast was amazing! I am normally not a fan of museli and yoghurt (too healthy for holidays) but it was delicious and I couldn't get enough of it!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. They also have one interleading room that has a kitchen which is great if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    26
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
34
95
14
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingsbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We made a last minute booking through groupon for a two night stay at this wonderful hotel. Nestled in the surroundings of table mountain, it didn't disappoint.
Beautiful rooms tastefully decorated with all mod cons, a swimming pool and roof top terrace we couldn't have asked for more.
The staff were friendly and the breakfasts divine.
We had sundowners on the roof terrace, what a glorious setting to end a wonderful day exploring Cape Town.
Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was by the pool which was lovely but upstairs have a balcony which I would have loved but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We made a last minute booking and were late arrivals on the night we checked in, to be greeted with real warmth and recommendations of good restaurants in the area. Breakfast was great with fresh fruit and tasty cooked eggs etc with Nespresso coffees to round of a comfortable stay in a well appointed hotel. Parking can be a little tight depending on whether it's a fullhouse but otherwise perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights in July, the hotel has been beautifully restored to a really high quality! The staff were incredibly friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was really good!
It is in such a great location for exploring Cape Town and we would definitely be returning here on our next trip to Cape Town

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Had a business trip lasting 2 days, and the owners and staff at "The Three" were brilliant.
Very quiet neighborhood, with a lovely view of the mountain.
Excellent service.
Will definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Cape Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

A stunning location with probably the best views in Cape Town from the roof terrace over looking Table Mountain. Delightful property with charm and character but attention to detail let it down in some areas.
We had arranged to arrive early from the airport but it was clear on arrival that we were not expected. Arrangements were made such that we could get into our rooms, however, a requested twin room was made up as a double. This was sorted out by the staff. Our two bedrooms were cold on arrival and we had problems trying to sort the air con heating system without instructions. Plumbing in the twin room presented issues with hot or very hot water coming from the shower and basin and nothing in between. This resulted in a room change for our daughters. Water in our double bedroom shower was tepid and the towel rail was disconnected from the electrics so towels remained damp and the bathroom cool. The plumbers were called in to sort the shower which resulted in banging overhead for three hours until 9.15pm one evening when we had decided to have a quiet" night in! The air con heating never really got much above "just warm". Many apologies were made for the inconvenience but really these things should have been picked up on routine maintenance before our arrival?
Rooms were very nicely furnished and very clean (don't leave things in bags on the floor though or they will be taken for rubbish - our picnic snack bag disappeared before we had chance to enjoy it!). Fresh ground coffee in the rooms would have been an added touch and one UHT pot of milk is not enough for evening and morning drinks! One day we were without any and were told they had run out.
Breakfast selection was very good, with good hot and cold choices. On our second morning there were no free tables for us and someone kindly moved, we fetched extra chairs in from the terrace.
The roof terrace is a fantastic place to enjoy the sunrise and sunset with stunning views, however three of the six sun loungers were broken and lounger cushions only appeared on the last day of our 5 day stay.
Despite all the above, we had a super stay here and were maybe "unlucky". We would stay here again as it ticks all the boxes for location, views, quietness, charm and comfort - when everything is working!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed there in June for 5 days. The service provided is excellent with many useful suggestions on sightseeing and travel related questions. The hotel is located in a upscale quiet residential neighbourhood but not too isolated from the city. There is a small shopping mail just two blocks from the hotel which is very handy for any minor day-to-day chores. Room is clean, well appointed and the building is nicely remodelled but not losing its historical charms. Also, WIFI is free which we discovered is not common in SA. Overall, great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Three Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Three Boutique Hotel

Address: 3 Flower Street | Oranjezicht, Cape Town Central 8001, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl , Oranjezicht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#12 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#33 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Three Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old and new meet in perfect harmony at The Three Boutique Hotel, with the conversion of this beautiful National Monument building into a stylish and affordable 15-bedroom boutique hotel in the heart of Cape Town.Owned and run by Justin & Natalia Pearson and their close friends Alun & Julie Jones, the service stands out as being exceptional, from the first email, to collection at the airport and looking after you during your Cape Town holiday or business trip at The Three Boutique Hotel. Steeped in hospitality from years of working on cruise ships, Justin and Natalia embody the perfect hosts.The Three Boutique Hotel fills the gap between a too-homely guest house and an impersonal hotel; it's exactly the right balance of chic surroundings, 4-star facilities and friendly service. The Three is modern and sophisticated Cape Town hotel accommodation with an historic heart in a trendy part of Cape Town.It offers free Wifi throughout, air conditioning, spacious bedrooms with flatscreen TVs and en-suite bathrooms. A columned terrace tiled in traditional black and white wraps around the house leading to the designer swimming pool and outdoor lounge. The rooftop deck adds another dimension for sunbathing and sunset drinks, with unparalleled views of Cape Town’s three iconic mountains; Table Mountain, Lions Head and Devil’s Peak, after which The Three is named.Cape Town International Airport is just 17km away and our airport shuttle can be booked to collect you or drop you off.The hotel shuttle is also available throughout the day for personalized tours as well as in the evenings to take you to and from restaurants. Many of Cape Town's top tourist sights are within walking distance and The Gardens shopping centre is just a 3 minute walk.4-Star TGSA Graded and Awarded ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and South African Hotels so you can book your The Three Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The 3 Boutique Hotel
The Three Boutique Hotel Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Three Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.