We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant old home with super service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Cape Cadogan

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Cape Cadogan to your Saves list
The Cape Cadogan
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa (City Bowl)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 103 Hotels in Cape Town Central
Lapta, Cyprus
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Elegant old home with super service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed for nights at this lovely boutique hotel. This type of hotel beats 5 star tasteless hotels hands down. If you are looking for comfort, personal treatment and staff who are only too pleased to help and advise in a more personal way then this is for you. The rooms are very comfortable and the en-suite facilities great and the freshly cooked breakfast is not for those who diet.
The hotel is conveniently situated for walking all the way in to town, via Company Gardens if you wish, or you can get the hop on, hop off "Red Bus" and spend the day getting around, including Table Mountain.
There are some good local restaurants just around the corner and the staff are happy to make recommendations.
We will for sure go back there...

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    75
    13
    7
    1
See reviews for
34
314
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We stayed four nights at the Cape Cadogan and loved every minute. We had a large room with a balcony looking out over the main street on the front, and the little pool and fountain on the side. The marble bathroom had twin showers and lots of hot water which was wonderful since it was quite cold and rainy while we were there. Service was outstanding, from the kitchen staff who were willing to provide any hot breakfast you could wish for to the reception staff that suggested fun places to visit and good restaurants to try. Each night the bed was turned down, and a small treat placed on the pillow. There were two cosy main floor lounges for guests to sip sherry or have a glass of wine while chatting, reading, or warming up by the fireplace. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and felt pampered. It was well worth the price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Normally we don't review anything, but at their prodding we joined trip advisor. This little hotel was nice, personal, and just the right size. It begs the question, why would you stay in a large faceless place when you can come to a place like this and feel like royalty. Wait, hasn't royalty stayed here!?!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

We stayed for five nights at the Cape Cadogan. We enjoyed the location - not touristy, but close enough to everything on our to-do list. There are lovely local restaurants in walking distance and it is not difficult to walk downtown or to catch the red tourist bus (which we recommend). Our room was well furnished and equipped and bathroom astonishingly beautiful. Noise on weekend evenings from neighboring bars was occassionally problematic, but we enjoyed being in a happening area and, as city dwellers, are accustomed to this.

Really, though, the main incentive to stay at this hotel is the staff. They snagged us a table at the incredible Test Kitchen for our anniversary (usually takes months to get a reservation), had excellent recommendations and generally provided thoughtful and personalized service. When I casually mentioned I had forgotten a straightening iron, the manager immediately ran home and brought me hers to borrow. You simply cannot improve on that level of commitment to guest satisfaction.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed at the Cape Cadogan for 4 nights and really enjoyed this charming house/hotel. It's just the kind of place I like, because it was a beautiful home that had been converted into a kind of urban oasis, with lots of white space and tasteful decorations. Sometimes there are quirky spaces, such as the elevated bathroom in our room, but I rather liked it. I opted to stay in the older section of Cape Town rather than the more commercial harbor area that was being suggested. I am glad I did, as we could walk to dozens of economical eateries around us, but it is a distance to the Victoria & Alfred waterfront. Great breakfast every morning with lots of choices and a lovely inner garden setting. Very friendly staff of young people who were helpful and knowledgeable. A positive experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is beautiful and the staff is wonderful. Simone and Pelo could not have been more accommodating. Their enthusiasm for the city is quite catchy. We had room number 2 and it was lovely. Our stay was very comfortable and the breakfast was delicious. It's within walking distance to some great restaurants and a grocery store which was very convenient. I loved this hotel and the people.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batemans Bay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Our first trip to Cape Town and could not have found a better property. We've stayed at hundreds of hotels around the world and the Cadogan was a standout. An excellent location, all services nearby including restaurants, supermarket and 2 liquor stores. Large rooms, very comfortable bed with fine linen, classy bathroom. Balcony with views. Lounge with free port and evening honesty bar a great way to meet other guests, also complimentary port in the room. Courtyard with tables, lounges and plunge pool, breakfast room with the cook taking your egg order, then serving to you with a smile. Mini bar with very reasonable prices, room service menu to 9pm was good. The best feature of this hotel was the staff, friendly, courteous, there 24 hours, they could not do enough for you. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cape Cadogan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cape Cadogan

Address: 5 Upper Union Street | Gardens, Cape Town Central 8000, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central > City Bowl
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Cape Town Central
#20 Romantic Hotel in Cape Town Central
#21 Family Hotel in Cape Town Central
#35 Business Hotel in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Cape Cadogan 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering a rare combination of historic exteriors with classic modern bohemian interiors, it was ‘Victorianised’ in 1912 and declared a National Monument in 1984. Its charm and character is matched with its desirable location amongst the popular restaurants, street cafes and stylish boutique shops of Kloof Street, the heart of Cape Town. More Cape Cadogan is owned and managed by the More Hotels Private Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Cape Cadogan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cape Cadogan Hotel Cape Town Central
The Cape Town Cadogan
The Hotel Cape Town
The Cape Cadogan Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cape Cadogan, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.