We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“European surprise in Cape Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cape Standard

Save Saved
You added Cape Standard to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Standard
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   3 Romney Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central, South Africa   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 149 Cape Town Central B&B and Inns
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
“European surprise in Cape Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Having moved to SA 3 months ago, we made our first exploratory drive from Joburg to Cape Town. As usual we were late in booking, but very fortunate to find Cape Standard.
This is what we would call in Europe a boutique hotel, very stylishly decorated with eye for design detail. Above all very friendly service from David and team, excellent breakfast and good recommendations on where to eat, go etc. We will recommend to all our friends coming this way!
Roelof S

Room Tip: Excellent service, good location, comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    221
    51
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
31
153
23
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Offenbach, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

A really lovely guesthouse in the centre of cape town.
Especially the small and loving garden where they served breakfast ist absolutely great.
David, Margot & the team are pleasant & helpful with all of our questions. We would recommend it to anyone and would love to come back.

Room Tip: Room No. 5 ist excellent. And the room with the small balcony is really romantic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Crikey -- where do I start with this fab place?

I arrived at very short notice for work and couldn't believe my luck. David and Margo had organised transport from the airport to Cape Standard and I arrived to a beautiful room with a spacious en-suite bathroom. Everything was very clean and beautifully decorated.

For breakfast, Bernard and the team had made a very tasty veg and fruit drink (it was a different one every day) with a big spread for breakfast. You then get offered a cooked breakfast on top of that!

The team are on hand for everything - whether you need a recommendation for a place to eat, a taxi or a beautiful view. They also helped me when I needed urgent medical treatment.

They also supplied myself and my colleagues with endless tea and coffee when we were busy working.

I can't recommend this place highly enough - it has a wonderful atmosphere. I'll definitely be back, and next time I'll hopefully be on holiday!

Thank you David and team x

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We stayed at the Cape Standard for 3 nights at the end of our trip around South Africa. We had an excellent stay. The room are very clean and have all the comforts. The terrasse where we had breakfest was wonderful. Breakfast was rich and very good. There is also a small swimming pool if you want to refresh you before breakfast.

The staff is very kind and Margot gave us a lot of ideas about place to visit (don't miss the Hout Bay market: it's wonderful!!!).

The location is great (few minutes from Table Mountain station, few minutes from the fornt view and the stadium, parking facilities).

Thank you Margo and Moses for our beautiful stay!

Hope see you soon at the Cape Standard again!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Somerset
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

From the minute we arrived Margo was helping us arrange and rearrange our plans to suit the weather, her knowledge of Cape Town and the surrounding area is fantastic.. Margo and Moses were around at all times to book cabs, arrange dinner reservations, check tours were still going ahead and generally be super helpful.. The rooms are spacious with lovely bathrooms and super comfy beds, we slept extremely well during our four night stay.. The location is ok, just a 50/80R cab trip which takes just 5 minutes and you can walk into the V&A in around 15/20 mins but NO walking around at night.. there is a spar and large off-license just down the road, possibly 8 min walk.. There is parking and the area is safe to wonder around in the day.. The Italian deli (also 8 min down the road) does fantastic food.. we bought a load of food & wine and sat in the dinning area and had a picnic one night :) The outside seating is great, stylish, calming and great to enjoy a glass of wine in after a day being a tourist.. I cant rate this place enough.. if you are looking for somewhere central then maybe not for you but its nice to be close enough to cab or walk into town and have the quite at night and it was quite... (oh and if you like burgers/meat, you must try out 'The Butcher' on the same road as deli & spa.. its goooood) Thank you for having us and for all your great help..x

Room Tip: Have the poached eggs :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We stayed at Cape Standard Guest House recommended by a friend, and I highly recommend it if you are looking for a cozy, relaxed, intimate and welcomed experience. The guest house is absolutely cozy and real, and the staff is absolutely top notch helpful. Say hello to the owner David from me if you go. He's fabulous - a truly vibrant soul. 5 stars from us.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

This small guesthouse/hotel is located near greenpoint. The rooms are very pleasant and the breakfast very good. All the staff are friendly and will go out of their way to help you- whether that be to book the local gem of a restaurant, recommend things that shouldn't be missed or let you into your room to shower early after a long flight! We had a great time in Cape Town and this is in part due to our stay at Cape Standard.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cape Standard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Standard

Address: 3 Romney Road | Greenpoint, Cape Town Central, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Cape Town Central
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 149 B&Bs / Inns in Cape Town Central
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Standard 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Cape Standard reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cape Standard Cape Town, South Africa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cape Standard, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.